We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay in OOB every year.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Colonial Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Colonial Motel
Save
You added Old Colonial Motel to your Saves list
61 West Grand Ave., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2644   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Nashua
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We stay in OOB every year.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We've said in OOB every year since we got married. Many times it was at the old Colonial. When we arrived this last time the room was completely unclean, coffee stains on the tables, the 'shelf' in the kitchen was falling down, there were crumbs on the couch and beds, the AC didn't work, TV was broken. Basically no one paid any attention to the room. It was the first weekend they were opened and no one bothered to see if the rooms were clean. But the biggest disappointment was the pool was closed. We had been told the pool would be opened for the weekend we were there. When we arrived it was no opened. We asked if was going to be opened and were told no, there weren't enough guests so they weren't going to bother. We asked for a switch of rooms for one that was CLEAN and they couldn't do it. We decided to leave, I was extremely disappointed since we've said here on our honeymoon years and years ago, we wanted to carry on the tradition. We checked out, with a complete refund, and went next door where their pool was open, they were extremely nice, rooms were the same price and GORGEOUS!

This hotel defintely needs some work. Some updating, and management without attitude. I hope to one day be back to carry on our tradition but until they do some updating we'll be staying next door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
32
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moriah, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Finally, made it back to Maine and the ocean, what a treat! I agree the rooms are dated and parking is horrible but, we were ON THE BEACH !!! And, yes, the hot tub is actually in the corner parking space, but I still went in and enjoyed it. If you want a quality room, don't stay here. But, if you want a quality location, this is it.

Room Tip: Know where your room is located. Second floor definitely has better views, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

Clean pet friendly hotel. The hotel has a kitchen and nice pool. Plus on the beach. Only thing is the parking is a little tight. Rooms are also a little small but clean. Doesn't really matter it's not like your living in there just to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was our first family trip and we were excited to find a 'pet friendly' hotel. However, they don't tell you (until you arrive) that you cannot leave the dog unattended at all! Unless it is in a crate- which we didn't bring. So we had to bring him everywhere with us- which restricted the places we could eat at. Also, you can lose your deposit if your dog barks too much. Dogs can't be in the pool area either. It really isn' t pet friendly. The hotel is located right on the beach, kudos for that. The cleaning staff was great. The owner didn't ask me if we enjoyed our stay or for any feedback when we checked out. It was all business. I think next time we would be better off taking the dog somewhere that really is pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My parents and I stayed at the Old Colonial for the last few days of August and the first few in September. After booking, I was checking out Trip Advisor and thought we'd made a huge mistake based on the reviews. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the motel is old, probably built in the 1950's, but from what I saw most of the motels in OOB are old. We had a suite, futon in the first room and a queen and a full bed in the separate bedroom. It did have an ocean view, you looked over the parking lot and the pool to the beach and ocean beyond. The room was very clean, sheets and towels also smelled fresh & clean. Staff was very nice and helpful, especially the chambermaids. The location was excellent, you are literally feet from the beach and just a short walk to the Pier and all it's amusements. Enjoyed the pool also. Only complaints I have are horribly tight parking spaces and the very loud a/c. The first night there my two month old vehicle got a ding in the fender due to the close quarters! We would stay here again however since the positives outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We have vacationed in OOB for 5 years and thought we'd try a new place to stay...big mistake. We had made a reservations with a one night deposit and upon arrival we were required to pay for the remaining 3 nights without being allowed to inspect the room first. (Now we know why).The room was 8' from the pool (very loud) but the worst part was the room itself. No curtains or shades just old venitian blinds, full kitchen consisted of a small microwave on a broken wooden shelf 6 INCHES above a two burner cooktop (a fire hazard for sure), old bedding and just generally run-down. About 10 minutes after hauling our stuff in we went to the office and politely asked for a refund; the room was not as advertised and were completely disappointed. As we were calmly discussing this with one of the office staff a man rudely interupted and started on the defensive; defending the LOUD noise, mocking our comments and starting a loud, verbal spat w/ my husband. I asked him why he was intergecting himself into our conversation and he identified himself as the owner! Needless to say, we were not given a refund at that point and moved ourselves out of that dump to a much better hotel down the strip. I contacted our credit card company immediately to file a complaint for the charges and it was negotiated that we would be given a refund for 3 nights out of 4 only if they could rent out the room. In the end we did get the partial refund but this "motel" lacks hospitality and is in need of a complete overhaul. Oh, by the way, the hot tub is planted in a corner parking space right in the paved parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Arrived at check-in time. Room was in far corner of hotel with not much of an ocean view (as advertised) and had to step outside the door to see the water.
Room is in need of serious updating. Venetian blinds were bent and had to struggle with closing. No black out curtains in the bedroom so street lighting at night came into the room. There was a portable air conditioner in the living room which took up space.
Refrigerator was in the middle of the room and was not plugged in.
No coffee (perk advertised on marquee sign) in room and coffee maker needed cleaning: Ice bucket did not have lid or liner, when we asked the front desk for a liner was told the ice bucket was cleaned daily. Toilet was dirty had (pink scum in bottom).
Bed was hard against one wall, and could not be moved, which meant one of us had to crawl over the other to leave the bed.
Furniture was old and uncomfortable. Shower was smaller the cruise ship showers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colonial Motel

Address: 61 West Grand Ave., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Unit recently updated motel located directly on the beach with great ocean views. Within walking distance to the downtown area and arcade and amusement park. Check us out on FACEBOOK for specials throughout the season ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Colonial Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.