We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season....should've stayed closed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf 6

Surf 6
6 Cortland Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
207-934-2058
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
L/A, Maine
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Off season....should've stayed closed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was the second weekend after Labor Day weekend so I probably should cut them a little slack BUT, if they couldn't do the job well, they should've stayed closed for the season. Our server was very sweet and cute as a button but a bit overwhelmed. The bartender didn't know how to make a Manhattan and the gin & tonic was missing the lime....got it after asking twice. Asked for rolls with our full meal (not sandwiches) and at first they said they were in the oven warming and then told us they didn't have any. The food was good. The separate checks were mixed up. They advertise live music but there was none. It's on the beach and lots of fun in the mid-summer months I'm sure......but they should've stayed closed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    35
    32
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder I've EVER had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great food, great location, live music...look no further! Clam chowder and rum runner for lunch. Yummmmm.....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great seafood, on the beach, good live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

all of the above, plus friendly & pretty waitresses! lobster salad roll was packed with lobster, clam chowder outstanding....good fries too

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went here our first night in OOB, had the Lazy Man's Lobster, our waitress was so nice and friendly, great start to vacation!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We were invisible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had the fried clams which were greasy and bland. The fries were undercooked. My FIL had the Caesar salad which was ridiculously over priced for basically lettuce, cheese and some over cooked chicken. It had hardly any dressing.

When we attempted to get the attention of any waiting staff it took honestly about 6 attempts. I even made eye contact with several staff but they quickly glanced away. It wasn't until One of our party had to physically stand in front of one of before they paid attention.

They were also playing appalling music which was detrimental to our dining experience.

Wouldn't go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf 6 also viewed

 

Been to Surf 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.