We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Orchard Beach Pier

Old Orchard Beach Pier
2 Old Orchard Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
207 934 3595
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Beaches, Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Portland, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I live in the area and all shuts down except for the summer months. The pier offers beautiful vistas if you can make your way through the crowds in the summer months

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    59
    27
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
238 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Fun on a Uniquely Maine Beach Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Trekkers to OOB can’t really claim to have been there unless they’ve visited its world-famous pier. This storm-battered, historic structure is a 25-minute drive south of Portland. An Amtrak train station is a short walk away. Nearby seasonal paid parking is $5 to $10/day. The pier overlooks broad expanses of golden beach sand. On it, users of pay-per-use binoculars can see southward all the way to Camp Ellis and Wood island Lighthouse. Its elevated overlook makes the pier an ideal place for families to orient themselves to the almost endless beach. Pier vendor stalls obscure most of the view northward to Pine Point. The stalls cater to locals’ and tourists’ every possible need —sweatshirts, sunglasses, sunscreen, swimwear, ball caps, sun visors, souvenirs; you get the idea! Eateries on the pier have both sit-down and take-out menus — seafood, fries, and pizza are popular. Several places serve beer on-premises. The best times to see the pier in its full glory are from mid-June into early September. When I arrived to try some off-season, early-morning photography, I had the pier all to myself.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So much fun, love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My favorite place to hang out in the summer! I live in OOB and even though it's overrun with tourists in the summer, I can't stay away! Love the fried dough and pier food. The bar at the end is great... try the pier punch!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Pier certainly has changed from what it used to be. I remember going up on the pier and a man was making donuts Oh they were good. It seems like there used to be so many other things on the pier then what there is now.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nothing like a walk on the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

a number of quaint places to have a brew, listen to music and watch the ocean. If you're on the pier as I was on the 4th of July, you'll be presented with a fantastic fireworks display. A little small if you're use to west coast piers but a treat to visit and talk with other.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Orchard Beach Pier also viewed

Old Orchard Beach, ME
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Been to Old Orchard Beach Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Orchard Beach Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Orchard Beach Pier to your Saves list