We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean near beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Concorde Motel

Concorde Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Concorde Motel
Save
You added Concorde Motel to your Saves list
136 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
medford,ma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“clean near beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

i stayed here with my boyfriend and 3 kids. The place was very clean and it was a 5 minute walk from the beach. The walk to the amusement park was about 20 minutes. it was a one bedroom, but the bedroom was tiny. It did have a kitchen area but it was way too small for all of us. My friend had a regular room and had more room.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

My friend made a reservation for herself and then reserved rooms with the owner. We each had to call in to make a reservation....I called she said" I talked it over with my husband and we decided not to do it and just hung up!!! She was the rudest person I have ever had to deal with.....and I am in the Hospitality Industry.
If you are thinking of trying to find a place in Old Orchard beach.....look for another place!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

This a lovely motel, immaculate, with a very friendly and helpful staff. There is a pool and a hot tub for everyone's enjoyment, both of which never seem to get crowded. Claire, one of the owners is kind and very helpful. The location is very close to the beach, making it easy to move back and forth during the day, if necessary.
I just love the beach at Old Orchard. You can get great waves and conditions for body surfing, boogie boarding and then skim boarding all in the same day. It is a comfortable walk to the downtown Pier area with an Amusement park and arcades right off of the beach, a major plus for my 11 year old son.
Also there are great great activities in the area, kayaking, fishing trips and for my son, indoor go-kart racing at Maine Indoor Karting in Scarborough, a 20 minute drive away. Portland is a 30 minute trip and L.L.Bean is about 45 minutes away in Freeport , a great place to shop. I definitely plan on returning!

  • Liked — its location to the beach
  • Disliked — the 1 bedroom suite seemd a bit small at first, but was workable
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

The Concorde at 136 West Grand Avenue in Old Orchard Beach is a quiet motel at the outskirt of the town, just where it meets with Ocean Park. It offers townhouses, suites and a couple of rooms. The owners speak both French and English. In the past, I have stayed there with my family in one of the suites consisting of a small bedroom with a double bed (mattress of average comfort), a living room and kitchen combined, and a bathroom. Everything has always been nice and clean.

In July, my friend and I decided to go to the beach for 3 days in August. We called the motel and reserved the bedroom, situated on top of the main office, with two twin beds but no kitchenette. A fridge was available however. Price: $100/night. Although promised a confirmation letter, we never got one even though we phoned again to remind them. The first night was charged to one of our credit cards within days, a common practice in the area. We checked in at 1:00 p.m. and paid the balance of the bill on arrival. The room was spacious, clean, and pretty too. It came with air conditioning and a large ceiling fan. The bathroom was quite nice, with glass doors in the bathtub instead of the usual curtains. The refrigerator was small but in good order. A decent television was available but no phone, radio/clock, blow-dryer, and ironing board were in sight. The spring mattresses were ok but no more. Housekeeping was done every day. Check-out was at 10 a.m.

The beach was a 4-minute walk away (across the main street and up the side street). We were able to borrow a couple of beach chairs from the motel every morning (on a first come, first served basis). A pool, a jacuzzi, barbecues and picnic tables were also at the disposal of the guests.

Overall, we were quite satisfied. Even though we had no kitchenette, thanks to the fridge, we were able to “survive” for a couple of days on the food we had brought for breakfast and a couple of cold meals. The only problem came from the night and early morning traffic as the room gave directly on the street. After all, it is the beach and people on holiday will go to bed late sometimes. Recommendation: wear earplugs if you are sensitive to noise. I did and slept very well.

Some of the activities we did while in the area:
- Mini-golfing at the Pirate’s Cove ($8/adult). Look for coupons in flyers. A good mini-golf that offers two courses, one slightly more difficult than the other. (10-minute walk).
- Browsing in the stores in downtown Old Orchard. Typical tourist traps although improvements are visible in some places (10-15 minute walk).
- Eating ice cream at Len Libby Candies at 419 Route 1, Scaborough (15-minute drive). Great ice cream. Excellent caramels (in small cubes). The chocolate moose and cubs are worth a visit.
- Eating frozen custard at Classic Custard (besides Classic Convertibles) at the entrance of Freeport (35-minute drive ). Take exit 17 towards the town and it will be on your left about a mile after. The dessert is very rich and creamy. A small cone cost $1.89.
- Shopping at the Maine Mall (15-20 minute drive) and in Freeport (35 minutes away. Bring $1.80 for tolls).
- Seeing a movie at the Cinemagic Theatre on Route 1. (15-minute drive). $8.50/adult.
- Eating seafood at The Wormwood (16 Bay Avenue, Saco—Camp Ellis; a 10-minute drive). From the motel, head towards Ocean Park. At the stop, continue straight ahead. The road’s name changes to Seaside Avenue (#9). Keep to your left when the road splits in two. Follow the signs. The food was decent and not too expensive (less than $20 each for a main plate (from the light menu) and a glass of wine. The buns were very good.

  • Liked — The twin beds--great for two friends!
  • Disliked — No microwave or toaster oven in the room.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Concorde Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Motel

Address: 136 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Concorde Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concorde Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.