We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic/historic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Orchard Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Orchard Beach Inn to your Saves list
Old Orchard Beach Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Portland Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
franklin , ma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights here recently. What a great idea to go to the touristy part of Maine during the fall! Great weather, and NO CROWDS! And this place helped the good vibe. The Inn is situated right off the main strip of the Beach - a 5 minute walk to the Pier, Palace Playland, and a million and five places to eat. The Inn itself is a gorgeous , historic building owned by a great pair of inn keepers- they're super friendly.

The continental breakfast (bear in mind here, this place is not a B&B and does not operate as such) is filling and varied from day to day. I had the most amazing scones of my life there, as well as wonderful banana bread and cinnamon buns. They have snacks and tea/ coffee every afternoon, and keep a wonderfully clean inn.

I do have one complaint. The bed- just awful. It wasn't all that uncomfortable, per se, but a double bed? That's beyond tiny for two adults . And it felt like a roller coaster when one of us turned over in bed - so springy and bouncy, it was really frustrating to get woken up every single time my boyfriend moved around in his sleep. There was also only one rather thin pillow per person, and no extras in the room. Neither of us slept well while we were there. This is the reason I am not giving the Inn a 5-star rating. I would stay here again, but I would make sure to bring my own extra pillow.

Room Tip: Bring an extra pillow if you normally sleep with more than one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband enjoyed a lovely extended weekend at this cozy inn. Our hosts/innkeepers Bill and Christie were helpful, friendly and more than willing to make recommendations and suggestions. The rooms were immaculately clean and well appointed. Fluffy towels and cozy pillows were plentiful. The bathroom in our room was small, but sufficient, and sparklingly clean. Parking was plentiful, the common areas were warm and inviting, breakfast was standard continental style but fresh and accented with fresh baked breakfast loaves every morning. Afternoon snack time was a delightful surprise with cookies, brownies, cream puffs and so on. If you love OOB this is a great spot to enjoy it a very short walk away from the hustle/bustle -- and -- it's also a great home base for travel around the Maine coast, we ventured down to Wells, and up to Scarborough, Freeport and Portland too. A simply delightful inn.

Room Tip: Check which rooms are available before booking. Some are small and more "cozy" than every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, md
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped at Orchard Beach to break up the trip from Bar Harbor to Boston and we weren't very impressed with the town overall, or the Orchard Beach Inn in particular. The town is a sort of run down beach town, and the Old Orchard Inn is a sort of run down house turned into a hotel. If you like Orchard Beach, it is in a very good location - a short walk to the beach and fried food shops, but far enough away to be quiet.

The room was pretty small, the furnishing pretty tired, the TV tiny. The people above us flooded their bathroom and water started coming out of the ceiling - not the Inn's fault and they reacted quickly and nicely.

The breakfast was fine (cereal, muffins, scones, fruit cocktail) but not memorable, either.

So, all in all OK if you are going to stay in Orchard Beach and don't want to be trapped in the traffic by the beach, but nothing worth going back for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night here. The staff were so lovely and friendly. They showed us to our beautiful room on the top floor as we had requested. The room was very charming and decorated so beautifully. Lovely flowers and floral quilt. The bed was so comfortable and there was lots of little extra touches such as Egyptian cotton towels, lovely toiletries and in the lobby lovely tea and coffee throughout the day and cookies. Breakfast was basic. Bagels, cereals, some fruit and yogurt. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Old Orchard Beach Maine for one night on our way back from Cape Cod just this past week. I searched for a good hour online to find a place in Old Orchard before leaving on our vacation. Although the Old Orchard Beach Inn was not directly on the beach, it was close to town and in our price range so I thought we would give it a try. I had also found several very good reviews on this place myself. We could not have been more pleased when we arrived. We were greeted by very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff members. Upon check in, the young woman working at the front desk helped us to plan the rest of our day with several suggestions on what to do and where to eat in town. She then told us that she would have cream puffs ready in a few moments and that we should come back down to try them. The Inn itself was immaculate. They certainly take pride in the cleanliness of the Inn. The room itself was very quaint, VERY CLEAN and a good size. There was a very nice shower, wonderful plush towels, plenty of air conditioning and comfortable beds. We were also a very short walk away from the main street within Old Orchard, as well as the local fair grounds and the beach. All and all I give this place two thumbs up and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time we stayed in a bed and breakfast inn. It is very quaint and has an interesting history dating back to the 1700s. the location is perfect. It is at the top of the hill from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Orchard Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Orchard Beach Inn

Address: 6 Portland Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Orchard Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Old Orchard Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Orchard Beach Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Orchard Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.