We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach House, OOB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
8 Traynor St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Newburgh, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beach House, OOB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have spent a week each summer for the past three years at Echo Side, part of Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages. Our experience with the on-site owners, Leslie and Paul, is nothing but positive. They, and their staff, are friendly and helpful with local information. The location is great as you are only steps to a beautiful sandy beach and also within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and deli's. Echo Side is a single two story house with 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, and includes towels and linens. The place is extremely clean, well decorated and all appliances are included. You can't miss with this property and we'll be back again next summer for another great time in a great place.Jim & Loretta, Newburgh, NY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Boston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family and I have been going to the Echo Motel and Cottages for the past 10 years. We began this yearly trip when my children were small and we fit comfortably in one of the motel kitchenettes. We never had issues with space. We managed to cook a breakfast every morning. We were supplied all the dishes and cooking utensils we needed. Whenever we decided to cook dinner instead of going out, we had the luxury of using one of the barbeques that are supplied. If we decided to eat out side we could use one of the tables either on the second floor or the one on the lower level. My kids start talking about going back to the Echo Motel as we are driving off.
Now that they are older and have friends that they bring, we are renting one of the cottages that is very well maintained and kept clean. We also like using the pool after a day at the beach, the beach is steps away. The cottage we rent Echoside, It is very spacious and clean and there is ample room for the 6 of us.
We would not stay anywhere else, except the ECHO MOTEL AND COTTAGES!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca Castle, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

For over 15 years,we've spent time at the Echo. The rooms are super clean and decorated nicely. Leslie and Paul and their staff are friendly and make us feel right at home. Along with being steps from the ocean, the Echo is within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We like it so much we stayed there 3 times this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent a weekend in the early fall at the Echo Motel, Leslie was very friendly and helpful. The motel is not fancy but extremely clean and well kept. The microwave and fridge were great for breakfast, a stone's throw to the beach. Will be back for longer stay. great beds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We are repeaters to Echo Cottages and as long as Paul & Leslie will rent to our family we will keep coming back. They offer so much to make our vacation fun and relaxing. Most other properties are not as clean and comfortable....you have to provide sheets, towels etc but at the Echo they provide everything including washer/dryer so we do not have to even pack a lot of clothes. We wash and wear. The kitchens are fully equiped including dishwasher so it gets us out of the kitchen after meals. Paul & Leslie accomodate when ever possible. It was our lucky find and 22 years later we are still going back. Started with my husband and I and our three children. It took off as a family spot which included spousesand grandkids. The grandkids start as soon as school lets out in June going on line looking at the Echo website calling out which room it theirs. The housekeepers do such a great job....curtains on the windows are crisp clean and everything is immaculate. Until we were able to get into the Echo (they had a waiting list) we stayed at other locations....none holds a candle to Echo. Our grandson became ill on one of our stays.....Paul offered to drive us to the nearest hospital....that was in the middle of the night. It is comforting to know people care about you. You won't find a better place to stay in Old Orchard Beach than the Echo for all that they offer for the money you pay. Try it yourself and you will be so happy you did and will be writing your own review. I could go on and on, but I think you get it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have been to the Echo Motel with my friends and their twin daughters for the past 11 years and have had no complaints with the owners or housekeeping staff, they are wonderful people. The rooms are kept clean and have been updated and improved over the years. One year, when I returned from the Echo, I discovered I did not have my watch. I called the Motel to see if I had left it there, and housekeeping had turned the watch into the owner. The owner shipped it to me at no cost. Being a senior citizen, the short walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants, by the Pier, and not having the noise of the amusement area close by is a real plus. I am looking forward to returning next year!!!

Room Tip: Kichenette rooms are spacious enough for 3 adults and two children--drawer and closet space is adequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Echo Motel for the past 11 years since our twin girls were 3 years old. It has become a family tradition! Upon arrival each year, we are treated like an old friend that is back in town. The owners and housekeeping staff have always been very accomadating and keep the room spotless (tough to do with all the sand around).
The kitchenette units are well stocked with utensils, pots and pans, dishes etc. which are perfect for food preparation and dining. There are also barbeque grills available for guests to use. The rooms are spacious enough for 5 people. The heated inground pool is a great spot to relax after a day at the beach.. The pool is always clean with plenty of lounge chairs to sit in.
The Echo Motel is definitely a 5 star place to stay. We have recommended the Echol Motel to several friends and they have absolutely loved it. Already making plans for next year's vacation to the Echo Motel at OOB.

Room Tip: Families should choose a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages

Address: 8 Traynor St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Echo Motel & Cottages are centrally located and within walking distance to the pier. The Oceanfront Cottages are large with wraparound decks that offer incredible views of the beach and bay. Other cottages within feet of the ocean are also available. Clean and comfortable motel units with or without kitchenettes are located 50 feet from the ocean with no streets to cross. All accommodations are reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Echo Motel And Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Hotel Oceanfront
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages to your Saves list