We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments
Save
You added Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments to your Saves list
10 Traynor Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Repentigny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We've stayed 6 nights at the Moontide Motel and our stay was perfect. We were welcomed like we have never been welcomed before in OOB, the room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, nice flat tv and very quiet at night. A few steps away from the beach and a few minutes from the pier so the perfect situation. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    20
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
70
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently stayed for a four day weekend at the Moontide Motel in Old Orchard Beach. My mom and I wanted to do a fun trip to Maine and this was the absolute perfect place for us to stay. I actually found Moontide here on Tripadvisor and felt very comfortable booking my stay based on all the positive reviews. The motel room was perfect for my mom and I. It's obvious that the building has been there for a few decades but everything was spotless. We stayed in room #1 and could actually see the waves from our bathroom window. We felt we didn't lose anything at all by not being technically "beach front", we were still incredibly close to the beach. We loved our trip so much we actually regretted so many trips away from town up to Portland and down to Kennebunkport. We will definitely be back and plan to spend even more time at the motel and on the beach. Thanks Donna and Jim!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked this place several months in advance because of the price. While the price was excellent, the hospitality is second to none. Our room is quaint with all the necessities we need. There's a very nice flat screen tv (that we never turned on), stovetop, microwave, counter, double bed, and AC. Each room is assigned two chairs and a table out front that we used to hold our seashells and wet beach attire. One morning we awoke to our beachwear missing but realized a note had been placed on our door from the owner that they had taken our wet clothing/towels and dried it for us. When the owner brought it back, he said he knew it was supposed to be nice the next couple days and wanted our stuf to be dry for the beach.

Honestly, every place is only as good as you make it. If you spend any amount of time in your room at OOB, you're missing out on some of the most beautiful sights you'll ever see.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've stayed in many motels/hotels in many places and this is by far, the cleanest place to stay! The new renovations are amazing and only add to the already convenient location of this little gem of a place. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Many options to choose from- an overnight is easy in the standard room (comes with a refrigerator an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The appartments are not located directly on the beach but they are close by. They are clean and well maintained. We rented appt #4 which has two nice bedrooms (queen & double), a small kitchen, a living room (with futon) and a large veranda.It is equiped with fridge,stove and three tvs. The large veranda (well ventilated and sunny) provided a very confortable added living space.
Highly recommanded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Spent one week there with 2 kids ages 7 and 3. They had an absolute blast. So much to do in the area. Swimming at the motel. The beach is just steps away. Arcades, rides, and delicious food all within walking distance. Moontide is a beautiful motel with many upgrades. We felt very safe and comfortable there. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Cabin D at Moontide this summer. The facilities are very neat and clean, and you can't beat the proximity to the beach (no main road to cross). We chose Cabin D after trying to get one of the larger units. For a family of four, the cabin was a bit small. Basically a large motel room with small bathroom and dorm-size frig with microwave on top. Privacy was at a minimum. There is a small ledge/porch outside the cabin that fits two chairs so my husband and I spent time there at night when the kids went to sleep. A/C unit in the room is very loud, made it difficult for all of us to fall asleep and stay asleep soundly. If I came back to Moontide, I would definitely book a larger unit. It was great that we had beautiful weather all week because we spent minimal time in the room. The pool was right outside our cabin but was too cold for the kids - the ocean water was warmer and they loved "surfing" the waves. Snack shack at the beach provided lunch/ice cream in the afternoon. Overall, Moontide is one of the nicer properties in OOB.

Room Tip: If you are looking for kitchenette space and/or privacy with children, book one of the larger units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moontide1010, Owner at Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us this year and happy that overall you enjoyed your stay.. I wanted to address the couple of concerns you had mentioned. The frig is the standard 33 1/2 " tall frig that is in all of our non-kitchenette sleeping units and larger than most you will find in motel rooms. The dorm size that you mentioned is typically 1/2 that size. The pool is heated daily to 82 degrees. It may have felt cooler due to the extreme heat we were having that week and the ocean water was unusually warm at 71 degrees. Glad your children enjoyed the ocean surf. I agree there is not a lot of privacy on that particular cabin deck when outside due to it being poolside. However, this does work well for parents whose children like to be in and out of the pool during the day.

I am disappointed that you didn't make me aware immediately of the air conditioning unit being an issue for sleeping. I did check it out and have done so a number of times since you left running it in different settings and I can't find any excessive noise factor other than the normal thru the wall air conditioner sound when it is on. The unit is new as of May, 2012. However, I would have tried my best to address the problem if I knew exactly what was the problem. Everyone, especially on vacation, deserves a restful night's sleep.

Again, thank you for you positive comments and I hope to see you and your family again should you vacation in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments

Address: 10 Traynor Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one room sleeping units with 2 double beds,fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, flat screen TVs and bathroom with shower. Also, have 2 room kitchenettes with separate bedrooms in motel and cabins with outside fenced in patios. One and 2 bedroom full sized apartments are available as well. Other amenities include a/c, in room phones, free WiFi BBQ area and pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moontide Motel, Cabins And Apartments Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.