We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant experience...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beau Rivage Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beau Rivage Motel to your Saves list
Beau Rivage Motel
54 East Grand Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been staying at the Beau Rivage for several years and every year it is just as good as the year before. What really impresses me is that we always see the owner taking an active role in the hotels upkeep. Everything is always clean. The room is always fresh and everyone is always very helpful. Just give them a try and I'm certain that you won't be disappointed and will become "regulars" like we are every time we visit.

Room Tip: We have actually stayed in all of their rooms, but one word to the wise. If you are not prepared, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your nice review of our property. We are happy that you appreciate what we do. We always look forward to seeing folks like you year after year - that's what makes our business so much fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    53
    12
    14
    14
See reviews for
83
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the past 3 years and I love your motel it is the true picture of what Old Orchard beach is ... It's not the ritz or the plaza hotel .... It's a fun clean laid back motel with great amenities all around you (beach, amusement park etc...) don't change a thing everyone who gave you bad reviews have no idea the TRUE meaning of coming here !!!!! I have been coming to OOB since I was a kid ...... Late 70's early - mid 80's I'm glad it hasn't changed much since then including all motels on the strip......don't change a thing!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your nice compliments, and our Staff truly appreciates them as much as we do!
We're not new, but we make up for that in all the ways you stated. And you want to know something? We also stay in local-owned properties when we travel and enjoy the personality of on hands-on owners and staff who recognize us; what we look for is a good sleep, clean place, and great folks! Hope we deliver all of those essentials to you when you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Edward, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

stayed here several times . they have a motel at ocean side and across the street, I have stayed in both, I think the one across the street has bigger rooms the bathrooms have tubs, full kitchenetts, oceanside rooms only have showers, there is a large heated pool and a jacuzzi in a glass sunroom, and a sauna . there is an upper deck that you can sit and relax on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments very much You are right, we have 3 buildings, and the kitchenettes located poolside have tubs, and in the building across the street, those kitchenettes have showers only (styles to keep everyone happy). Thanks again and
hope to " Sea U " next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I are actually staying at this very moment and do not find many issues with the stay. The rooms and hotel are old but so isn't everthing else at oob almost no getting around that issue but the staff kept our room very clean and fresh. Rooms are small with old furnishings but again it's a motel and it's an oob so I will not be picky. The location was great very short walk to everthing. Overall I would come back friendly staff, clean rooms, great location, nice pool. You will not find much better in the area since all the properties are old it's a
Matter of locations,friendliness and cleanliness which this motel has.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review while staying with us! Your opinion matters and we appreciate that you like how our staff treats you and keeps everything fresh for you! Our family grew up in this Motel and has enjoyed the proximity to everything and so we are happy that you enjoy our location too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This marks our fifth year in a row staying at the Beau Rivage Motel. The first thing to understand and accept is that the price you pay ($160 a night for two doubles during peak season) does not reflect the quality of the room, but rather you are paying for the convenience of being right in the heart of the action. Many of the motels have been here for a long time and while there have been upgrades, they are not up to the standards of modern hotels, and nor do they pretend to be. It will cost about the same to stay at most motels along the "strip", as we like to call it. However, the rooms are functional, relatively clean and equipped with microwave and mini fridge. The beau rivage has a decent sized pool, hot tub and sauna and there are four barbecues and tables around back so you can prepare your own meals. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. They are also located right across the street from the beach (one minute's walk and you are on the beach) and within a couple of minutes you are in the central part of the town with all the restaurants and gift shops, the fair, and the Pier. We love just being able to leave our room to go to the pool, the beach or do some shopping or for a meal, all within walking distance from the Beau Rivage. If you like being in the heart of the action and don't mind paying a little more for the convenience, then the Beau Rivage is a great place to stay. We are definitely coming back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review, and we are happy that you understand how peak season rates are to be expected in any beach tourist area; and as you said, we are not a new property, but we give our guests good value, great customer service, and cleanliness. Sea you next summer! Jo-Ann L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family and I have been staying at the Beau Rivage for quite a few years now. It is an extended family vacation. In total, we rent about 8 rooms for different time frames during the same week every year! I cannot say enough about this property. Every year we go there has been some kind of improvement made to the motel. The rooms are always clean and last year most of the rooms had new air conditioners. There is a lovely grassed area out back with new picnic tables and gas grills for the guests' use. We are always welcomed with open arms and we feel like JoAnn, John and Sara are part of our family!! We are heading back next week and can't wait!! Thank you so very much for making each year so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachBall54, Manager at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Sharon,
We all would like to thank you for your positive comments and feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words.
One of our favorite times of year is when your family comes to visit us, we treat you like family, because essentially you are.
We very much look forward to seeing you this week! Safe travels to all! =)

♥Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This without a doubt is the worst place I almost stayed at! Yes, almost. My wife and I reserved a room at this dump for one night at a non-refundable rate of $245.00 per night. Upon arriving at this property I immediately realized that this place was not even worthy of $245.00 a week let alone a night and I hadn't even made it to the room! Once we checked in and got to our room my gut feeling became a reality. The room was a run down collection of yard sale furnishings from 20-30 years ago including the 15 inch 1980 television that sat on top of a beat up chest of drawers. The so called kitchenette consisted of a multitude of various sized counter tops screwed together in an attempt to make one. The place had such a filthy appearance that I could not imagine laying/sleeping in the bed without the thought of bed bugs comming to mind. We returned the keys to the front desk and left without ever taking our luggage out of the car. What a dump!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn L, Owner at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
"Awful" doesn't seem fair- our staff said you told them the reason you left early was due to a family member was gravely ill, no room issues were mentioned... regardless, we are not 'The Ritz' and we are not a new property. We are a two diamond rated Motel in a resort beach town. A recent property inspection from an industry leader gave us commendations for squeaky clean housekeeping and maintenance and we are proud of it. We are sorry you didn't find our Motel or our Policies to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel Old Orchard Beach
Marvin Gardens Motel Old Orchard...
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#16 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beachwood
The Beachwood
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Rivage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Motel

Address: 54 East Grand Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all Old Orchard Beach, Maine has to offer when you stay at the Beau Rivage Motel. With a variety of clean, comfortable rooms and suites, you're within a short walking distance (1/4 Mile) to the Pier and the Palace Playland Oceanfront Amusement Park. Even closer, 75 yards, the famous 7 mile long sandy beach located across the street. On your return, you can grill up your favorites in our BBQ area, relax by the pool or have a soak in the hot tub. With microwaves and mini-frigs' in every room, and complimentary wifi, our friendly staff will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beau Rivage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau Rivage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.