We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Walk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Walk Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Walk Hotel
197 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Summer Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a family owned and run hotel on Old Orchard Beach. We have been spending a week here for the past 12 summers. We also go here with other families. I find this hotel to be extremely accommidating to our group as well being well managed. The rooms are clean, some need to be updated and this is going on each year. They also put in an indoor pool which is very convenient.

Being right on one of the most beautiful beaches in Maine is a plus, the hotel provides lounge chairs for the beach.

My family and children and now my grandchildren enjoy Ocean Walk

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    45
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
57
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days after family members stayed each summer a few years back. Prior to checking in, I had requested a room as close to the ocean as possible. The staff had honored my request perfectly and we were only two rooms away which was beautiful at night to listen to the sounds of the waves crashing with the slider door open.

We stayed in the small studio which was perfect for the two of us. The murphy bed folds up so there is plenty of room within the studio when you are not using it. There was a full kitchen with the pots, pans, dish soap and dish towels all provided. There was a Keurig for coffee with two free coffee pods. All other pods were available in the office for $.50 each which I thought was neat. Next year, I will know that I can bring my own along with us.The rooms were very clean and with a modern decor. There are also grills for use if not using the full stove in the room.

During the morning, the owner came around, greeted us, and asked if we would like a morning paper or anything for the room which was excellent service.

The hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of beach, far enough away from the boardwalk crazyness but close enough to go to dinner, bars, or shops as its about a mile away. The hotel provides beach chairs and cabana rentals and there is a outside shower to rinse off before heading back to your room, which is very convenient. The best part was the sand...I have never felt softer sand anywhere else. It is my favorite. We enjoyed spending the days on the beach and our nights taking beach walks after a few cocktails. That's the beauty of the location to the rooms. We loved the Ocean Walk so much, we will be back and have decided to make it our yearly summer vacation spot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Traveled to Old Orchard for a three day weekend. Chose this hotel based on a recommendation. The location is ideal as it is right on the beach. The room was average at best, with a small kitchen and a small tube t.v. The bed was horribly uncomfortable and the A.C. (and we needed it as it was quite hot) was extremely loud! A little disappointed for $245 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's no Fairmont or Hilton altough the rates are in that price range but this place has to be one of the best value in OOB. If it's important for you to be within walking distance of the pier area, do not go there but if you like it more on the quiet side, you will no regret your choice. This place is right on the beach (long chairs are complimentary), it's clean and the staff is polite and friendly. We had a regular studio on the second floor and found the size was perfect. Parking lot is on the other side of the street (while they have a few places for handicaped on the hotel side of the street) and thought it was a good idea. Wild roses and fountain offer a better view than bumpers and tires!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel has only (I believe) four oceanfront rooms, but they are wonderful. Our first floor, oceanfront, one-bedroom suite could not have been better situated. The oceanfront side had a swinging glass door opening to a beachfront wood deck (shared only with the room next to us). It was exactly TWELVE STEPS TO THE SAND from our door. Wonderful!! We never even used our beach shoes. At the end of our deck was the hotel's outdoor shower, so it was simple to walk off the beach, wash sandy feet and go straight into the room. The room itself was clean and well-organized. We gave the bedroom to our 5-year old daughter and took the murphy bed ourselves; the murphy bed was much less comfortable than the "regular" bed, but we weren't complaining. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach was quiet with plenty of space between families. It's necessary to drive for food, but the well-north location keeps you out of the pier traffic so in-and-out of the hotel is easy. Tips: Bring your own pillow because the hotel's are very cheap, lumpy and uncomfortable. The OCEANFRONT ROOMS ARE A MUST and worth the extra cost. Honestly, we would not stay at the hotel if oceanfront was not available, but the oceanfront ones are great.

Room Tip: OCEANFRONT room is a MUST and totally worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Accommodation very nice and clean. The staff very pleasant.. Quiet and Picturesque . Right on the OOB. Rooms toward ocean better view. No restaurants nearby, you will have to drive or have delivery service..1 mile to pier, trolly service available. indoor pool across from hotel..
A wonderful getaway!

Room Tip: 2 story bldg., 2nd floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Spent days on the beautiful, clean beach which was just a few feet away. Water is cold but kids did not mind and they loved the mild waves. The sand is not rocky at all. Not nearly as busy as beaches near the Pier. Took the trolley down to the Pier to wander the stores and amusement park at night. Felt very safe at all times. Rooms have a large fridge in the kitchen which is awesome. Room was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Walk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Walk Hotel

Address: 197 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Walk Hotel is located directly on the quiet northern end of Old Orchard Beach. Here you will enjoy peaceful surroundings and quality beachfront or beach side accommodations and amenities, all close to the excitement of Old Orchard Beach and the beauty of the Maine seacoast. Ocean Walk offers modern one and two room efficiencies, some with cathedral ceiling and skylights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Walk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Walk Motel
Hotel Ocean Walk
Ocean Walk Hotel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Walk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.