We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly and Loved It!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Walk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Walk Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Walk Hotel
197 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Millbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Family Friendly and Loved It!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I visit the Ocean Walk every summer with my family and friends. The service is great the location even better. Located right on the beach away from the hustle and bustle of the pier. But still close enough to enjoy the pier if you wanted to. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Private beach is very clean and relaxing!! Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    45
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
57
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I booked a room at the Ocean Walk Hotel for our first anniversary weekend. We wanted a place with some distance from the melee of downtown Old Orchard Beach and the Ocean Walk was great. We could walk along the beach to go downtown if we wished, but the area of the beach in front of the hotel (literally a stone's throw away) is super quiet and beautiful. We stayed in a regular suite and were quite pleased.

The room was small but for just the two of us, perfect, and it was clean. The Murphy bed was comfortable, no qualms there except my husband and I bashed our shins on the bed's metal supports a few times.

Other reviews complained about thin walls but we didn't find this to be an issue.

The Ocean Walk is no 5-star Hotel but for what we wanted in our price range it was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We have never been to Old Orchard Beach, and this hotel was not our first pick, but the other was booked. However, we really enjoyed our stay. Don't be put off by the murphy beds and futons - they were actually very comfortable, and nice to save space. This hotel was very clean, right on the beach, although the main office and indoor pool and parking lot are across the main road. We traveled with our 3 year old, and I had read a bad review warning not to take small children, but I actually have no idea what that reviewer was talking about - maybe some bad guests, but we didn't experience that at all. The staff was great, the guests were curtious, and many were families! There is a laundry room - clean, $2 per load, but they provide soap. We borrowed beach toys from a bin they keep for those of us who travel. Some toys were broken, but many were fine. One of the best amenities of this hotel are the beach chairs for guests - they are comfortable, and although they are first come first serve, we only had one day were they were all taken - and over a holiday weekend. They pier is a little over a mile, so we rented a jogging stroller for $10 a day, and took our daughter. There are very few shells on the beach, but the sand is great, and the waves a gentle for little children, albeit cold! We weren't ready to leave! The small kitchens have most everything you need, however we had to buy a brillo pad for the pans, papertowels, napkins, but they had very diluted dish soap and hand soap, which worked ok, but not great. The indoor pool is nice for the cloudy days.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for a full ocean view. But if you can't the rest are ok, and only ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was on the 2nd floor with only one other room between us and the beach. Although we did not have a private balcony, they provided patio chairs on the deck in front of your room allowing for a place to sit with a great view. Although I'm not convinced the view would be as nice from much farther back from the beach.

The hotel provides beach lounge chairs, however on a nice day make sure you head to the beach by 10/11 am because they do run out. The indoor pool was relaxing and clean.

Our room was as described and decently sized for a studio with a pull down Murphy bed. Having the kitchen was nice which included everything except an oven. The only thing we were really annoyed with was the shower curtain. For some reason it sucks into the shower and sticks to you when trying to shower.

This hotel is about 1 and 1/2 miles from the Pier which can feel like a long walk. Although at times we walked it along the water line which was nice and then one night took a taxi bicycle thing back to our room which was neat.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to be on the 2nd floor as close as possible to the beach for the best views and few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I cannot say enough about this hotel. The moment we arrived we noticed how clean and well set-up the hotel was, plenty of parking and easy unloading area. The staff was super friendly from the moment we checked in till we checked out. I enjoyed being at the far end of Grand ave the traffic was light and it provided a nice walk along the beach to the pier. The small room we rented was absolutely perfect, from the twin slider chairs and the flip down bed we got the total "ocean cottage" feel. This room is so well set up the windows open in a manner that they fill the room with that fresh sea air!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and cannot wait to return next summer for a longer stay!!

Room Tip: If you do not mind a smaller room the little
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

the ocean walk is on the quiet end of old orchard beach, and totally walkable to the pier without all the noise of the pier. the beach is clean and the lounge chairs are very comfortable. the owners are great and will do their best to help. i had requested a 2nd floor small studio and got it. the room was clean and comfortable. it was quiet at night. the pool was nice, warm, and so relaxing at the end of a long beach walking day. i stayed when the weather was cooler, so no ocean swimming, so the indoor pool was a plus.

i had stayed at the ocean walk 4 years ago and will be definitely be back. thank u ocean walk :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, VT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Ocean Walk was a great place to stay for my family of 4. This was our 2nd visit, and enjoyed it as much as the 1st. This time we opted to stay in a large studio, with 2 murphy beds. This provided ample room for our family to stay. The murphy beds are easy to raise up and down, providing the kids extra play space. The beach access is excellent. A large supply of beach chairs are provided on a first come, first served basis. An outdoor shower is great for clean-up after a day at the beach. The indoor pool house was great, providing swim access rain or shine. The pool house also has a heated shower to rinse the last of the beach sand and separate men/women bathroom/ changing room. Staff let us use the facilities after our room check-out, which was greatly appreciated, extending our stay. We look forward to our next stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Walk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Walk Hotel

Address: 197 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Walk Hotel is located directly on the quiet northern end of Old Orchard Beach. Here you will enjoy peaceful surroundings and quality beachfront or beach side accommodations and amenities, all close to the excitement of Old Orchard Beach and the beauty of the Maine seacoast. Ocean Walk offers modern one and two room efficiencies, some with cathedral ceiling and skylights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Walk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Walk Motel
Hotel Ocean Walk
Ocean Walk Hotel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Walk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.