We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect setting, great cottage, great hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Lamb Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Lamb Cottages
Save Saved
You added White Lamb Cottages to your Saves list
3 Odessa Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
berwick
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“perfect setting, great cottage, great hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Cottages are in a great location footsteps from the beach, but a little walk to the pier. Clean, well equipt in a comfortable setting in town. Morning coffee and treats were a special touch to great accomodations. Would not hesitate to recommend these cottages
and will go again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Our stay at the White Lamb was very pleasant. We stayed in Cottage #7 which we found to be very clean and comfortable. The close proximity to the ocean is very convenient. The scenery is beautiful and relaxing. What a fun time we all had!!! No complaints whatsoever, wish we could have stayed longer!!!!

Derosier/Leveillee/Gilchrest Family

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

4 of us (2 same-sex couples) stayed at the White Lamb Cottages in June 2009. We stayed in the house. Our hosts were extremely accomodating, the rooms were clean, cozy, & quiet. The house was as comfortable as our own complete with wireless internet, a well equipped kitchen, and a closet full of movies (plenty of children's titles). We could not have been any happier with our accomodations! With the owner's blessing, we toured a few of the cottages and we would have been equally as comfortable staying in any one of them. The beach is within 50 feet of the property. It's a pleasant stroll from the property down to the pier & its amusement park. Gay or straight, you can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Reservation through the website went well. Right away, a deposit of half the final amount of the reservation was charged to the credit card as announced. Within 24 hours, I received an email confirming the transaction, and 3 weeks before the arrival date, another email informing me that the second and last payment of the reservation had been charged. It also gave me, among other things, instructions for opening the cottage door with a code. In one of the emails, I was asked to phone the motel and give final confirmation. At the same time, I verified if tea instead of coffee could be delivered every morning with the breakfast basket and there was no problem. Note that there is no main office. Everything is done through the website or phone.

We arrived at the cottage mid-evening and found everything as advertised. The place was clean and decorated in the 50's style. The living-room contained a sofa-bed (futon) with pillows and a small blanket, a small desk, a t.v. (with a remote that wasn't working) and a phone. The kitchenette offered a table for 4, a small fridge, two cooking rings, a microwave, a toaster and a kettle. Dishes and utensils were also available. No oven, or toaster-oven, was in sight. Everything was provided to wash the dishes. In the small bathroom stood a short bath/shower. Towels and soap were waiting for us but no shampoo. The blow-dryer was not working and the fan was quite noisy. We could even hear our neighbour's. As for the bedroom, it was of decent size and had a reasonably comfortable queen-sized bed with lots of pillows. Additional blankets were on a shelf. There was air-conditioning and heating.

The cabin itself was part of a row of 6 similar cottages. Two larger ones stood separately. The grounds were pretty and well maintained, with tables and chairs, swing, hot tub (with weak jets and a rattling motor) and barbecue. Beside each front door, two towel rods invited us to dry the towels outside.

Each morning, a basket of store-bought bagels, muffins or doughnuts was delivered to the door at 7:30 along with tea (or coffee if desired) and the daily newspaper. A little note listing items to be replaced was included. The idea was to check off what was needed and put it back in the basket with the empty thermos. Later in the day, someone would drop by the requested items. No maid service here. We washed our dishes, made our bed, swept the floors (the sand gets everywhere!) and emptied the garbage and recycling.

So, although the place is nice overall and offers a great location (less than 100 feet from the sea), the lack of daily maid service does make it somewhat expensive for what you get. However, for quiet, clean and near the beach, this fits the bill very well.

Travel tips:
-Downtown Old Orchard: about 1 km or a good 10-minute walk. Best gelato on the corner of East Grand Avenue and Old Orchard St. (across Dairy Queen). A small serving: $4. The rest of the area offers the usual tourists traps (cheap clothes, greasy food and the rest).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have been to the White Lamb for 13 years. The proximity the the beach is a big bonus. The rooms are small and well maiintained. The property is laid out nicely.
The area is quiet but very accessible. Ocean Park, Camp Ellis, Biddeford Pool, Saco and Portland are our favorite destinations during the week. Lots of restaurants, outdoor activities, shopping.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

I took a 13 and 16 year old to old orchard beach and we stayed in cottage 2. We had never been there but we are a lifelong hotel family and I ve been in the industry 25 years. The place is perfect for its environment. Clean, comfortable, welcoming. The staff obviously know what they are doing and the ownership is great with service. Locationwise we loved it. we actually had fun at the walkable Funworld rides etc daily, the beach , the boardwalk feel and pier. I think we are headed back Labor day....keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We just returned from a three night stay at the White Lamb Cottages and it was everything we could have asked for. We stayed in Cottage #6 and it had everything we needed as a family of four with two young children. It was a great location, a two minute walk to the beach, far enough away from the crowds but close enough to hear the ocean at night.
Loved having our own kitchen to prepare meals and the delivery of fresh coffee and muffins in the morning was a delightful bonus. The kids loved playing at the beach everyday and are already asking when we are going back and we will be back, as we see this as the start of a yearly family tradition.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lamb Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lamb Cottages

Address: 3 Odessa Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lamb Cottages are professionally decorated in a nostalgic 40's motif, yet all 8 Cottages have modern conveniences of today including telephones, cable TV, Wi-Fi, individually controlled heat and air conditioning, fully equipped efficiency kitchenettes with microwave ovens, and full baths. One bedroom Cottages sleep four & the two bedroom Cottages sleep six. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Lamb Cottages Hotel Old Orchard Beach
White Lamb Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lamb Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.