We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad & the ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean House and Motel

Ocean House and Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean House and Motel
70 West Surf Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 43 hotels in Old Orchard Beach
MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The good, the bad & the ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ocean House, room 9 was situated along the pool area; as the TripAdvisor rating was pretty high so were my expectations. However, first off was the parking... very tight and hard to maneuvering leaving parking area. The room itself was of a reasonable size but in need of some upgrades. Pots & pans badly pitted, bedspreads were threadbare and the plumbing was horrible. Whenever someone turned on the shower the pipes in the kitchen would make a horrible noise and we constantly needed to turn on the hot water and let it drip for a while. Mattresses slipped off boxspring to the point we thought we would fall out of bed each night. On the other hand A/C was great. The old hotel area with its spacious reading / games rooms were fabulous... the pool was clean, very family-oriented. Not sure I would stay here again as the inconveniences outweighed the perks. I only rated the value as a 3 bcuz of all the problems with the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Room 36. Very pleasant and would stay again. On the beach and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We went for a family vacation (6 of us, three generations). Rented two motels and one room in the hotel. Everything is clean. Just a few steps from the beach. Nice pool, but a bit crowded. The house offers many different lounges where you can read or where you can get together to chat. This made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Nice place directly on the beach and near the pool. Perfect with children. However, the kitchenette was not very well equipped. We have already seen much better. Pots should be replaced. The water has boiled after 2 hours (the bottom of the cauldron was lumpy). Ish... Coffee may be provided. No shampoo in the bathroom. The motel and the hotel could be renovated, but we were there for the beach and we had the sun all stay. It could also be games for children at the pool or play structure. People were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I was invited to go with a friend and her children as her husband could not make it due last minute work scheduling. So I gladly agreed as I'm an ocean junky. unfortunately being used to the ocean in Cuba, Old Orchard sure pales in comparison. I had heard so many stories of Old Orchard from my mother when she would reminisce about her family outings to Maine. It's really a bit of a hick town....one hotel/motel one on top of the other all facing the beach. never seen so many dirty diapers on a beach in my life!! Gross.

The people are friendly as in most places that depend on tourism. The food is okay...there is a reason where there is a weight problem in North America... Trying to find something healthy was a stretch....we went to the grocery store and bought our own.

The room was okay. Two double beds, a kitchenette and paper thin walls. One neighbor fought all night and kept the baby up and screaming at the other side of us. Earplugs a must.

The main house itself is interesting...in its heyday it must of been quite spectacular! The boardwalk is kitch.

I found it so over priced! She ended up paying more for a couple of days there than she would of for one full week in Cuba - air and hotel all in!! CRAZY!

We drove down to Hampton Beach which was nicer.

My friend was also disappointed with the place, location etc. Next time we'll try Martha's Vineyard.

The ocean was great though!

All in all if you are going for an ocean break try to go outside of the big tourist season and you won't be disappointed with the price and hopefully you'll less tourists and diapers on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I found the room to be clean, simple and comfortable for my stay. The motel is located steps away from the beach so it was easy to grab my stuff and be on the sand in seconds. The help was willing to go the extra mile despite the busy conditions. I will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Shut your eyes and you can picture the grandeur of yesteryear - parlors, bar, screened porches etc. However, it is unfortunate that the rooms are most inadequate and provide only the bare essentials. With "No Vacancy" signs posted everywhere in town, we took a chance. The room was said to be lovely - oceanfront on a corner with three windows. Sounds great, until you pay, receive the key and climb 3 flights of stairs. As you continue your journey on worn carpeting you pass a dead plant on a landing, chairs that have seen better days, and a folding screen hiding falling plaster. You arrive at your room - your sanctuary for a 2-day rest. It's OK not to have a television or phone, but here you are with two twin hospital-style iron beds, a bureau, and a fiberglass curtain in front of the closet. You step up into a bathroom in which the sink faucet has minimal cold water and the small clawfoot tub/shower has a huge step up. Not meant for the handicapped. On the plus side, a Toto toilet is new. You raise the venetian blind to look at the ocean view and find your window taped with some attempt at puttying. The fan is dirty and the ceiling is peeling. Could that be lead paint you ask yourself as you lie in bed? With enormous potential, this building should most likely be on the National Registry of Historic Places. It would be a shame not to have this fine ocean spot preserved or restored.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean House and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House and Motel

Address: 70 West Surf Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Ocean House And Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean House and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean House and Motel to your Saves list