We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Alouette” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alouette Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alouette Beach Resort to your Saves list
Alouette Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   91 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Vermont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Alouette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

The Alouette Beach Resort is right on the beach. It was great that we were able to step out our room and be on the beach without having to cross any roads. It is family oriented. We loved our room with a kitchenette. Next year we are going back to rent their cottage. We loved the indoor pool. We liked being able to have a meal at their resturant if we didn't want to cook. It was nice that the pier and amusment park were within walking distance.

  • Liked — on the beach
  • Disliked — unique floorplan in some of the rooms
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    70
    40
    29
    37
See reviews for
137
94
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester Ma
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

The brochures on the web showed some nice looking rooms I was surprised the room was so cheap. When I got to the room I could not believe how horrible it was.The floor was filthy the kitchen area was repulsive. I wouldn't wish this place on Osama Bin Laden. I went back to the desk and asked for another room but it was full. The owner refused to refund my money even though I did not stay in the room for 60 seconds before I decided to leave. There are much better places right nearby look at the trip advisor top 3 I have stayed at two of them and they were great.


  • Liked — The proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — It was filthy
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

The Alouette Beach Resort and it's "sister" The Beachwalk Oceanfront Inn were both, by far, the best places we've stayed in Old Orchard Beach, Maine. When my husband and son planned a week long fishing trip to Canada, my daugher and three of her friends decided we'd be "beach bums" for the week; what a great idea that was!! Being a Maine resident all my life, I have been to "OOB" too many times to count, but have never stayed here. Tom and Anne Kennedy, MaryBeth & Paul made us feel right at home and when we decided to stay an extra night, they gave us the keys to three different rooms/apts and let us look at all of them and then decide! It was truly the epitome of a restful getaway. They strive for customer satisfaction on a very personal level and you can be sure we will be making a return reservation for next summer very soon!!
Sincerely,
Marylou, Holly, Johnna, Kelly & Janessa

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stayed 3 nights at Alouette this 4th of July weekend. It was 130$/ per night which was not at all expensive for the location. Upon booking, we were told the room would be "very small"....and it was. But, there was a refridgerator and a cable TV, and air conditioner. Luckily, we had great weather, so we were out on the beach all day. The rooms were not made for spending the day in. Just sleeping and showering, they are very basic! I was slightly dismayed that they wanted us to "rent" beach chairs for 3$ per day and give a deposit.
Overall, I would stay at this place again just because of the location. The hotel itself is basic, at best.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

We've stayed at the Alouette Beach Resort for the last two years after Labor Day on our way up to Acadia National Park from North Carolina. One of the main criteria for our choosing the Alouette was that they have some rooms for pet owners and we travel with two Gordon Setters. The beach in front of the Alouette certainly must be one of the finest on the east coast and certainly the finest in Maine. Less than 100 steps from whatever unit you occupy with many units overlooking the ocean.

When I was growing up, 45-50 years ago, my folks vacationed in Maine every summer to escape Virginia heat and humidity. Old Orchard Beach still retains a lot of the old beach resort charm and has not succumbed to the blantant commercialism that has plagued so many beach venues. If you are looking for Hilton style accomodation, the Alouette will probably not be for you. But if you're looking for good value, excellent location, friendly staff and family type atmosphere, the Alouette is for you.

We also had our tandem bicycle with us and the Alouette makes a good base for several fantastic day trips toward Kennebunkport or toward the west. Get great bicycle touring maps provided by Maine DOT from any bike shop or at the visitors' center when entering Maine on I-95.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We just came back from Old Orchard Beach, we stayed at The Alouette for 3 nights and we really loved it. The room was great, it was overlooking the beach and it had a kitchenette, perfect for cooking breakfast or a small meal. It was very clean and cozy. The staff was extra nice and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2006

This was a fun hotel for a long weekend, right on the beach. Do not expect a fancy room. It is quite simple. However, the location is good -- on the water, minutes from the pier by foot. It was clean and comfortable.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alouette Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alouette Beach Resort

Address: 91 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alouette Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alouette is a beachfront destination with a variety of accommodations and levels of ameneties that fit the needs and tastes of both vacationers and business travelers.Ameneties include in season indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fun and casual cafe serving probably the best breakfast in town. Beachfront and ocean view vistas, many accommodations with kitchen facilities.The Alouette Sunrise Suites are brand new luxury suites -- they feature first class concierge level beachfront and oceanview suites, fireplaces, fantastic views from private balconies, soaking tubs, free long distance calls, free wifi, sauna and guest membership in a quality private health club.The Alouette also offers a selection of rooms that are "pet friendly" -- these accommodations includes beachfront and kitchenettes, Jacuzzi suites and economy offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Alouette Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alouette Beach Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Alouette Beach Old Orchard
Alouette Beach Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alouette Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.