We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Grand Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2624 (Formerly Best Value Inn Mt. Royal Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here over the 4th of July with my boyfriend. Our room was very clean, and the staff at the front desk was helpful and friendly. We loved the location of the hotel (directly across from the beach and walking distance to ALL restaurants and attractions). This was a great value for our money. We definitely would stay again - you can't beat being that close to the beach and saving $$ that you can then spend on lobster rolls and drinks!!!!! And they have parking included!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oobmtroyal, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to meet all of our guests expectations, and we welcome all comments on our performance. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    13
    12
    29
See reviews for
41
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed here last year on Labor Day Weekend. First you walk in the room and it is dark, the carpets are all stained, and the place is just disgusting. We only stayed for one night. Yes it's across the street from the amusement park, so all you can here are the rides going, and also the train out back. When I woke in the morning, I went to take a shower and there was black hair all stuck to the shower wall, it's making me nauseous just typing it. Also, we were with another couple, and after leaving here one of my friends was sick with a lung infection for a week, he swears it was from the air conditioning in the room, which was old and I'm sure dirty, yuck. Never again, and I wouldn't even give it one star, but they don't let you leave the page without one. There was nothing good about it!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I am very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay with us, as you have indicated, last Labor Day weekend. 9 months have passed since then, and I do wish you had brought your concerns to us beforehand. Many improvements have been completed since then,and I do wish to discuss your experience with staying at the Mt Royal. We do strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests. Please call me at 207-934-2926 as I would like to discuss the particulars of your experience with us, and I do hope to provide you with the confidence to try our motel, and all of the Americas Best Value Inn's, again. Please call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked our stay online,we were enticed by the "Ocean View", location to attractions,and
amenities. The website promised a discount of 15%, and possible room upgrade by joining a "ABVI" membership club. Upon arrival there were no parking spots available(supposed to have one for each room) the room upgrade was not available and the room was very small, it did not have a location anywhere to hang up garments (we used the curtain rods) the room was anything but clean ashes littered the floor tables and we even found a cig but on the flloor between the bed and night stand(gross) the drawers were filthy we had to clean them before putting any of our clothes in them.The ocean view was through the roller coaster.The promised WI-FI only existed if you were in the office or common area. Remote didnt work, no iron and ironing board in the room, requested one from the office it was old and dirty, no coffee to make in the mornings was left by house keeping(didnt matter the coffee pot was nasty)stains on the sheets and tons of hair on the blankets upon arrival.The manager seemed concerned however i dont believe much was under his control he did refund us a little more than one of the two nights stay however having the infomation is useless if nothing is done to remedy these type of issues.ANY other place OOB would be a better choice this place is on the way out. And whatever you do if you do select this place park your car for the entire time,you leave you loose your spot!!

Room Tip: Would not stay in ANY room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

I had been.warned that the hotel was "not much" but even my children were horrified when we walked into the room. Horrible: sagging mattresses, decor out of the 70's, everything in very poor condition. And let's not forget the train station next door. Anyone considering staying there should understand that it is not nice at all. The pool is also weirdly deep - from 4 to 8 feet which makes it inappropriate for small children.

So what is good about it? It's across the street from the beach and boardwalk and there are lots of restaurants nearby. So, if you're willing to sacrifice for location, it's ok. Perhaps my son summed up our stay best when he said, "it doesn't look like much, but I had fun anyway."

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
I am very sorry to hear of your unhappy experience at the Mt Royal. We are in the process of renovating some rooms with new carpet, furniture, painting, etc. I hope you will give us another chance in the future-please call 207-934-2926 and ask to speak with me-I am very interested in reviewing which room you stayed in on your most recent visit, and I would like to discuss all concerns that you have. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Since i really depend on this website when booking a room, i figured i would share my experience with everyone.
I really wouldn't consider myself a picky person or someone who complains a lot, but this was bad. My sister, Cousin and I stay here for a night to enjoy a beach day. We arrived at 9am and were able to check in early. This was great.
When we first got the room, it didn't appear to be too bad. It definitely needed work, but the room would do for a night. We really weren't going to be spending much time there just to sleep. The location and price were great.
Then after a long day of going to the beach and hanging out on the Pier, we came home at 2am. While getting ready for bed, we discovered mice droppings all over the bed! We immediately freaked out and decided we were not staying in this room. So at 2am i had to drive home (2 hours away). The manager was gracious enough to refund me the money, which i appreciated. We stayed in room 18.
Mice are a common problem, but you should probably take care of the problem before you have guest stay there! Hopefully the problem will be taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oobmtroyal, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
I was distressed when the front desk alerted me to your experience, and I did refund your payment. We had never experienced an incident of this type before, and have since taken measures to avoid this type of occurrence in the future. I apologize, and I do hope you will try us again in the future. It is our goal to offer the best service , and to exceed expectations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

OK, lets get the negative stuff out of the way quickly. The place is old and, frankly, somewhat dated, and the walls are thin. This ain't the Waldorf, and it isn't even on par with most Super 8s if you are concerned about new carpet, or modern digs. Forget all that. Now on to the good. The room was clean, and that is always important to me, the old carpet & furnishings didn't matter when up against all that is good about this place. Flat screen tv, wireless internet and good cold a/c are all good. Best of all is that it is literally right across the street from the Palace Playland where the kids want to be, and the beach, where everyone wants to be. Once you park your car, you don't have to move it again if you don't want to. Food is all around you, entertainment, beach .... there is no better location. You can pay alot more ... but why would you want to? Spend your money on having fun in Old Orchard Beach and eating lobster, save money on the hotel and be happy. By the way, join the ABVI club online before you book, and you save at least 15% right off the bat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience with staying at the Mt Royal. We do strive to provide all of our guests with the best experience possible! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Great room last weekend located in downtown area. Room standard but very clean LCD tv whirlpool tub. Trains station is next door which runs all day. One block to the pier. Had excellent weather and beach is across the street. Very clean soft sand. Excellent sub shop across the street. Try in July as town is just opening up. Motel has free muffins juice coffee in am. We paid 79 bucks.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do have many repeat guests who enjoy returning to the Mt Royal every summer! It is our goal to provide a clean, inviting, enjoyable stay. Thank you for letting us know how we are fulfilling our guest's expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn

Address: 30 West Grand Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2624 (Formerly Best Value Inn Mt. Royal Motel)
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a two-story outdoor corridor horizontally shaped property with 55 comfortable Guest rooms. Some guest rooms are furnished with a kitchenette, jacuzzi, and 27 inch LCD TV. All guest rooms are furnished with high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and free newspaper. We serve a continental breakfast during (January through June and September through December). Relax in our ocean-view lounge overlooking the famous Old Orchard strip, or sit on the balcony and enjoy the refreshing ocean breeze. We are conveniently located near the center of town across the street from the Beach and Amusement Park. We are also close to the pier, restaurants, and bars with live entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy our crystal clear heated Outdoor Pool. We have a courteous and experienced Staff. Come stay with us and enjoy the value of staying with Americas Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.