We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect location, good deal, excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Villa Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Villa Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Beach Villa Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
17 Imperial St., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Almost perfect location, good deal, excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I vacationed there last week with our two young children, aged 5 and 2.5 years. I was searching for a place for about 3 months before booking the Beach Villa Motel and Cottages in OOB, back in January, for an August stay. I was looking for mainly cottages and appartments with more privacy, rather then motels, Inns and B&B. Upon researching, I noticed there were not a lot of options offering Queen size beds. Another great option we found were the cottages and appartments at the Gull Motel but they only had doubles which is not large enough for my husband who is over 6 feet tall and myself together. The Beach Villa Motel & Cottages offered the sleeping arrangements we were looking for at a decent price, the services of a motel and the privacy of a stand alone cottage.

They are in a great location - about 2 blocks from the beach and town square. We walked to the Rite Aid pharmacy to get milk and OJ for the next morning (I had packed some cereal and oatmeal from home). We drove to Hannafords for some groceries later on and only spent 70$ to cook for the week. We spent about 100$ eating out (Lisa's Pizza, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, JJ's eatery) and had a fabulous lobster dinner at relatives' house in Ocean Park.

Everything is walking distance in OOB and I liked that we were close enough to the town square - but not IN it. Just enough to avoid the party noise late at night, but close enough to walk less then 5 minutes to get some chicken fingers and fries and bring it back to the cottage to eat.

Bob and Cindy are great hosts and were very friendly. Upon entering our cottage, there was bad humidity smell (probably coming from the carpet and futons as the bed linens were smelling fresh). After turning on the AC for a while, it got better, however, not good enough. Bob then knocked on our door to see if we were ok and needed anything and that's when we mentioned the smell. Bob checked the AC filters and they were filthy. He said the AC guy only comes once per summer to clean them and I guess they were due for another cleaning. He took the filters out to wash them and brought them back. He also told us that they will be changing the carpets to hardwood floors next year.

Another small negative was that our Queen mattress was very soft and the doubles in the kids rooms were more firm. I told Cindy upon checking out to maybe look into changing it and she said she would look into it, as some mattresses were brand new, others were not and may be due to get changed.

A tip regarding the beach, with young children, it's better to walk closer to Ocean Park, or take the car if you can (OP parking is free - not like in OOB). It's quieter there and not as crowded so it's easier to keep an eye on your children.

All in all, it was a great place, very practical for our family and we had a great vacation! We might book again next year.

Room Tip: For families, best rooms are the C7, C8 and M5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

owners will do anything to help out. Very pleasing people to deal with. The rooms are getting a little old but went there for the beach. Perfect place for a family wanting to stay close to the beach and still have "Home" style facilities available on their stay. You are right in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bob and Cindy are so amazing. They treat all there guests Like family. Very spacious rooms. Very friendly cleaning staff. We had all the kitchen times as if we where at home it was awesome. And all the guests that stayed the week we did got along like good friends/family.... We found our new vacation home...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribou, Maine
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed her June 11-15 2012 for our honeymoon. The room was nice, and the kitchen was a plus, the hotel was quiet and we had no problem with noisy neighbors. It is very close to the beach and the pier for the price we paid(just around the corner). Overall we enjoyed are stay. We weren't there for much of it but the room was clean and it had a great location. We also didn't see the owners much but, we were on our honeymoon, we didn't want to! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I wouldn't return to the Beach Godvilla (Godzilla) even if it was free...We stayed in cabin 2...there were groceries left in the cupboard...personal belongings of the last renters in the bedroom...toilet seat was cracked...towels and bath mats were gross...I wouldn't even sit on the futon...I hated the thought of sleeping in the beds...the garage can had obviously never been cleaned...couldn't wait to get out of it...never once saw the owners...when we checked out there was nobody around and we had to just leave the key...the young girl on the desk was not helpful at all when we asked about the light for the pool...a friend of mine stayed in the main building which was even worse (if that was possible) I've stayed in many places and this was by far the worst place ever...my daughter just asked, How could people like it there?" I can't believe we spent sooo much money for such a hole??? When I contacted the owners after our arrival home we were offered one free night during peak season (would take it if they paid me!!)

Room Tip: Just don't go there...location is good but there's lots of other stuff to do in OOB
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We just stayed here last week for three nights. Two adults and a smal dog, and love the location, the beach villa is a couple blocks away from the Pier and the beach. You have a complete kitchens, air conditioning, cable tv and a parking. Very very clean (unit C3).
We will defenitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have actually stayed at the Beach Villa Motel & Cottages twice, and found the experience on both occasions to be absolutely wonderful. The accomodations are spacious and well-maintained, but the service provided by the owners-managers is second to none. They have many repeat customers, and you can bet that the next time we are in OOB, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Villa Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Villa Motel & Cottages

Address: 17 Imperial St., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Beach Villa Motel & Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Villa Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.