We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Miss Cottages by the Sea

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Miss Cottages by the Sea
Save
You added Little Miss Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
173 East Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beach accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I never experienced staying at the cottages with the previous owners but have had the pleasure of staying here for a few months and absolutely love it here. I have personally witnessed the many, many improvements the owners have made and they have built a very friendly and welcoming community here in OOB. Having stayed at many other hotels/motels here in OOB, I can say that Little Miss Cottages are my favorite. Just feet from the beach and very close to the downtown festivities, Little Miss Cottages are a great place to stay or vacation, whatever your need may be.

Room Tip: All rooms have been updated and they have offerings for small or large groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After having a horrific experience at another hotel, we found a vacancy at Little Miss Cottages. The rooms were quaint and very clean. The décor matched the lovely wood accents in the cottages, giving it a homey feel. The staff was very accommodating, turning the air conditioner on as we were in the process of checking in and advising us on local eateries. Amenities included a cute little deck overlooking East Grand Avenue and a picnic area in the back with grills and tables. The grounds were well maintained, with rose bushes and flowers around each of the cottages. We look forward to staying there again when we go back in October.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed in a cottage as a winter rental. Absolutely loved the location,a very short walk to the beach, sunrise in my window and perfect for me for a time. Staff was less than hospitable ~ very disappointed in wifi availability, lack of "essentials" as it is advertised as all you need to bring is linens and towels for winter rentals. I had no curtains, a broken coffee maker, very few utensils, old, chipped dishes, one small pot to cook in, and no baking dishes. And if you used the stove/oven the smoke/ fire alarm always went off. The owners never went out of their way to speak or make you feel welcome although they enjoyed what I feel is a hefty amount of rent for what was provided. Disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This small group of cottages was sold to new owners and they claimed that the rate increase from $800 to $1400 for a cottage was due to all the great improvements. One window air conditioner, a TV and WiFi that hardly ever works does not warrant the price increase. The cottages remain with the same furniture and decor which you didn't mind when it was a cheap beach cottage. For the price of a two bedroom cottage - we paid $1,800 plus tax you would expect some housekeeping services. We had to go ask for new towels after 4 days of staying here. The bedspreads are dingy and stained and there is hardly enough TP or other household products to warrant the supposed improvements. We complained about the lack of WiFi availability about every other day as it was hardly ever available. Due to the new owners renting the main house, parking was difficult to accommodate all the cars. The place actually had many nights were no one was in the different cottages which was unheard of in prior years. We wanted to use their laundry room but that was broken too! They advertise gas grills but there isn't enough for every cottage so we had to wait and take one from another cottage. I couldn't even tell you the names of the new owners as they certainly didn't go out of their way to make us feel welcomed. There was definite work going on such as painting while we were here but was being done in a sloppy manner. I really was disappointed that the place had not improved like they advertised and I certainly won't be coming back. Anyone who had stayed here before these new owners will surely be disappointed. Friendship Motor Lodge which is right next door is a much better deal for the money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Miss Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Miss Cottages by the Sea

Address: 173 East Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 1 or 2 bedroom cottages, and 1 house, located 75ft from the beach. Kitchenettes, free wifi, cable TV w/ flat screens, fridge, micro, parking, laundry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Miss Cottages By The Sea Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Miss Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.