We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family or mid aged couple resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Save
You added Powder Horn Family Camping Resort to your Saves list
48 Cascade Road, P.O. Box 366, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Compact Camper Special!
Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family or mid aged couple resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great facility with multiple pools, lots of activities, and staff makes sure it does not get too wild. Facilities are kept immaculate, all roads paved. Good mix of seasonal and overnite guests....people are friendly. Within easy walking/biking distance of beach area, there is also a trolley service for only $1 each way. Close by well equipped market with good meats as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    23
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
91
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I just returned home from spending a long weekend at Powderhorn. It's now off season so some of the ammenities were unavailable. We always seem to forget something so having a camp store is kind of a must for us, but it was closed for the season. Otherwise, We were very happy with our stay. The staff was pleasant and there was still quite a few things to do. My six year old loved playing shuffle board and hanging out in the kids spa. The sites are good size and the security is great. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Edward, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

very clean, there are plenty of things to do , movies , rec hall , play ground for the kids, two pools and a jacuzzi , right on the trolly line to the beach so you don't have to drive in and find aplace to park .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just returned from Powder Horn and loved every minute of our stay. Great location, clean facilities and everything we needed was on site. This is our second year at Powder Horn travelling from Canada and I would not hesitate to return. We did pay and book our site in advance of the trip and the email from Powder Horn made their cancellation policies clear.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were traveling across country and made reservation at this resort. They took the whole three day payment. Because of something that happened in the family we couldn't stay there. I called them 4 to 5 days ahead. The kept $20 of our money. That was fine but we live 3000 miles away and they sent me a coupon good for only me for the remainder. My family who live in the area could not use it. No one on the whole trip from coast to coast did that to us. So if you are traveling from far away, I would not use them. Think how many $44.20 they make a year.

Room Tip: Always ask questions if they take the whole fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleO207, Front Office Manager at Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Our Cancellation Policy is Stated Below:

A $20.00 service fee will be applied to all cancellations before any refunds will be issued. Reservation cancellations require 14 days advanced notification for a deposit refund to be issued. Cancellations made 13 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival date are eligible for Powder Horn Camp Credit (minus $20.00 service fee); valid for one year from date of issue. Cancellations made less than 24 hours prior to arrival time (1:00 pm) will forfeit all deposits. Failure to check in on the scheduled arrival date, without notice, will forfeit your site and deposit as of 11:00am the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

we arrive later in the day, and set up in the dark, which is hard for camping. when we check in we did not recieve all the material for the weekend activities. during our set up, a seasonal personal came out and ask if we not shine our lights in to his trailer. we said we understood, and complied. then the seasonal person proceed to ask us to move the fire pit and chair more to the street, and that would help with anyone complaining. we accomodated. the next day we went to the pool, and it was clear about the rules, but when swimming in one of the two pools, finding a pot cigerattees (drugs),
specially when a staff meember on duty was sitting, to prevent that, make me concern about the people working at camp site. then that night a campground staff member had medical emergency at the comfort station, in pine grove section of campground. the staff brought the rescue crew, and ambulance in, but unfortunnately. the supervisor on that night left with 4 other staff behind, but none of the staff member bother helping the ambulance out. the driver stop, and ask me how to get out. when the person that was i chage was ask about this, she said that she had notify the persons parents. when ask if would better to make sure her staff member, got out of the campground to the hospital,before contacting the parents. she said she left other staff member behind. i ask who was charge that night, and she said i was. i ask her if she think was a good idea that she left before the ambulance was off the campground, and she reponded that she felt like i was being threaten. i ask how so? she that she been there 11years, and that by give a bad review on internet, as i stated was threaten. she ask if i would come down and fill out a complaint at the office. i told her i would be down in morning. i filled out the complaint, with 2 other people. the person who handles the complaints. called and left a message, and i called back, and got. the central answer machine shortly after that. they never falled up after that. so unfortunately i have to respond with this.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We just recently returned from a week long tenting stay and we absolutely loved it. We couldn't believe how quiet the campground was a night time. We were in a tent in pine grove near the playground. The kids had plenty to do there. The only downfall is they charge extra for all of the activities including mini golf. My 4 and 6 year old loved the 3 ft pool in front. It worked out great when they wanted to swim and it was too cold for us. I'm not sure if because it was so late in the season or not but none of the heaters were on in the pools. The bathrooms very extremely clean as well as the entire campground. The trolley was convenient and much cheaper then paying for parking. We will absolutely be returning next year and would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Address: 48 Cascade Road, P.O. Box 366, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For family vacations that will offer something for all ages, a trip to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a great choice. We are a full service Family Camping Resort just minutes from beautiful, seven mile, Old Orchard Beach. Our facilities can accommodate all your camping needs, from tenting to full-hookup 50AMP service camping. We cater to families and couples, always striving to create and maintain a family friendly atmosphere, in all aspects of our operation.We have four swimming pools, two hot tubs, and plenty of possibilities for activities and recreation, including: horseshoe pits, mini-golf, volleyball, and basketball. We have a full children's activities program, and events during the summer that are fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powder Horn Family Camping Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powder Horn Family Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.