We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay in Old Orchard Beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waves Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waves Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Waves Oceanfront Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Jackson, NH
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay in Old Orchard Beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I had another great stay at Waves in Old Orchard Beach, Maine. We arrived early, but were let into our room because it was available. Sat on the beach and found it a little brisk, so we tried out the new wind-protected, heated pool. This turned a lost day at the beach into a great afternoon. We used the kitchenette unit to make snacks before we went out for the night.
We walked to Joseph's for another great meal. The next day was over 90, but the ocean is RIGHT THERE. We love this place and the changes they have made in the past year. The new TV must be 48".
We will be back again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We love to hear that our improvements are being noticed! The new mineral pool and spa has been a huge hit and the glass railings do keep the wind off of you while you enjoy the pool. We cut no corners on the pool and are very happy it helped in making your getaway even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    65
    32
    14
    20
See reviews for
100
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
st.lazare
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel like many is right on the beach. We have rented many places here and been disappointed by nice looking web sites. The rooms are very clean and staff were great. The pool like most of these places is small but we don't go there for pools we go for the ocean. We have Ben back twice and plan to continue. Ocean lobster and night fishing it doesn't get better.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! we are always adding new things to our property and this spring we opened our brand new stat-of -the-art mineral pool and spa complete with four waterfalls. The guest love working out in our fitness room and relaxing by the pool. Grabing a bite to eat at our cafe, getting thier beach suppiles from our store and then putting their toes in the sand on our 7 mile white sand beach. We look forward to you coming back to the Waves Oceanfront Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed at the Waves at the end of June in 2011, right before the July 4th rush. Perfect time to stay if you do not like crowds. First time at Old Orchard Beach and we loved it. The hotel was great for a beach place. The name "resort" might be a little misleading if you are expecting a true "resort". The rooms were worn as a lot of beach places up north are. However, the rooms were very clean. Views from the room were the best on the beach. We were right on the sand. We had rooms 83, 84, 85 and 86. Rooms had balconies with unobstructed views. There is an amusement park just down the road and it is not far from Portland Maine.

Room Tip: Unobstructed view in rooms 84 & 86.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waves Oceanfront Resort. You did stay in some very popular rooms and that view is outstanding. We look forward to your return as we have our new mineral pool and spa up and running. With our state-of-the-art fitness room, on site cafe, gift shops, meeting rooms, bike and beach rentals and more we truly do feel we are the most complete Resort on Old Orchard Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Everyone working there were friendly, courteous and helpful. One evening one of our neighbors were very noisy. Before we could call the front desk to complain, their security arrived and took care of the situation.
The patio was great. We ate all of our meals outside and the view was great!
Very relaxing, we will be back.

Room Tip: The upper rooms overlooking the pool have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you! We do work hard at making everyone's stay here as comfortable as possible. Old Orchard Beach is a great family friendly area and we try to keep it that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for six nights after labor day, which gave us a great rate on the best ocean front room I have ever stayed in. The deck was the best part private and unobstuced view of the ocean! The kitchen saved us alot as we enjoyed breakfast on our deck almost everyday. The staff was very helpful, and the computer in the lobby was an excellent tool in planning our return trip home. The location on the beach and yet within easy walking distance of great resturants and shops in town was great! The two seperate sleeping areas with two tvs was perfect for us, very nice.

Room Tip: Great rates during off season, oceanfront rooms in Building E are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and taking the time to let others know about your stay. We look forward to your return and enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The rooms kind of gave us the willies, as far as cleanliness. The carpet was very dirty, for example. There wasn't much space to move around, with the two double beds. The balconies don't seem very safe for toddlers. I had to watch mine like a hawk - afraid he was going to tumble down through the railing to the drive below.

They did have a lot of staff there to help, as far as the front desk, bringing stuff to the room when we needed it, etc. The location was decent, as far as proximity to the beach, restaurants, and the Pier. The beach was crowded when were were there (8/18-8/20), but the beach was clean, and the water very clear.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are sorry your stay was less than you expected. As our property is located directly on the beach, sand a such does tend to make it into the rooms. We have many talented and hard working staff members here to assist you in any way. If you do not give us the opportunity to correct the problem it is hard for us to fix it after the fact. Of course the 7 mile stretch of sandy beach is a popular spot we cannot control how busy it gets. We hope you give us another try if you make it back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Rooms and area were fine, but travel plan changed 10mins after check in. Had booked for two nights but could only stay one night. Even with asking for a refund for second night check in 10 mins earlier was not given a refund. Total money grab, if you can charge a card, you can refund a card. Gave ample notice .....wont go back!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest we are sorry you had that experience. The happenings as you describe are NOT part of our operating manual. I would love to look closer at this situation as there is other similarly name properties in the area and this could be a case of reviewing the wrong property. We would never take advantage our guests as return guests represent the largest part of our business. We are sorry you will not be returning but perhaps we are not the hotel you were speaking of and we will see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.