We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Awesome place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Victorian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Victorian
Save
You added Grand Victorian to your Saves list
1 E Grand Ave., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Brownsburg, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This place was awesome! First time visitor to the Grand Vic. We had access to the beach and a pool too! We have stayed several years In OOB but not so late in the year. We had wi-fi The condo was awesome- very clean Great view! Not far to walk to see Harold's! The staff made sure that parking was for the paying clients. We would like to come back ago a next year!. Would like to
Know where we find the beach glass!. Thank you of a great week! The fire drill was so much fun!
Room #501 thank you again for the great place!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed in #301. We have a 3 and 5 year old. This was our 2nd stay in the Grand Victorian. The Grand Victorian as a whole is beautiful and in a great location. This particular condo was nice but needed a lot of little/easy things to make it great. The window shades were the vinyl on a roll. The shades kept falling off the "hooks" and didn't roll up or down very well. Apartment window blinds would have been a cheap alternative (for the price we paid for a week, I would have expected to see wooden binds). The blinds in the master bedroom did not cover the French doors. The master bedroom faces the street with the bars and all the lights. You can see both beds from the balcony. Also, there was not a window blind in the master bathroom. There was a very thin curtain.
In the pictures, we thought the 2 queen beds would be in the 2nd bedroom and the king bed would be in the master. This was not the case. With little kids, we could not give them the master bedroom that had access to the balcony. Also, in the master bathroom, there were 2 sinks. One sink had a light fixture and a mirror and the 2nd sink only had a light fixture (no mirror).
The front door did not have a deadbolt or a chain. You could lock the door using the handle but it would always open from the inside. Again, with little children, this was not safe.
The appliances in the kitchen were really nice but the dish towels were really cheap. We ended up using the hand towels from the bathroom.
The furniture was nice and the bathrooms were spacious.
The Wi-Fi did not work. I believe that the city was working on getting a more updated system.
The pool is not heated. You can hear the train every morning around 5:30am. Some of the other condos do not hear the train.
The beds did not have blankets but really thin bedspreads. The beds were comfortable and we had enough pillows.
We did have to wait to check-in until 4pm and our condo was still not ready.
We love the location to the carnival and all the shops. The beach is beautiful!

Room Tip: The rooms on the inside are quieter. The outside rooms face the carnival or the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This place is clean and has a million dollar view. The street is noisy in season, but the locale more than makes up for it. Walking distance to everything you need. Nice pool and workout room. Very family friendly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel itself was ok. The unit was ok too. The problem for us was the noise! Had I know that it was located directly across the street from a bar, right smack on the pier, and directly in the mix of EVERYTHING, I would have moved further down the street. I believe the description was covered up a bit. Folks would rather have the quick buck then the returned guests. The "AC unit" was the cover up that is used for the noise issues, but it doesn't help. OH.......and there's a TRAIN that goes by every 1/2 hour....through the night folks!!!! About 200 ft from the building!!!!!**** Buyer be warned.

Room Tip: *** Not for families....Go further down the street in either direction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L/A, Maine
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our second stay at the a Grand Victorian. We were so happy with the first that we decided to spend another week a couple of years later. We made the arrangements with Tim and Melissa, a couple of the owners of the facility. A few days before our check in date, Tim called to ask if we could come a day later and stay a day later to accommodate the people in the unit at that time who needed to stay an extra day. We couldn't do that because of work commitments so he said he'd put us in another unit for the first night and move us into the unit we reserved the next day for the rest of our week. His comment was that he'd "reimburse us for our inconvenience."

The unit we had reserved had been painted and spruced up since our last visit. It looked great. However, as we settled in we found a couple of the screens to the balcony were torn to the point that the flies were able to invade the unit. Then we noticed that one of the windows in the master bedroom (the window facing the adjacent parking lot that had huge floodlights on all night every night) was missing. We told the nice front desk young man and he said they'd be taken care of the next day. The remote for the TV in the master bedroom was missing. The clothes dryer "screamed." The fan/light in the master bathroom didn't work. And WIFI was spotty at best. We reported all this to the nice young man.....tomorrow it would be taken care of. Tomorrow came and went and there was no longer a nice young man at the front desk.....there was no one at the front desk. So we wrote a list of the issues and left it on the front desk for Tim.

Another day or two passed with no word from anyone, particularly Tim, whom we had accommodated at our inconvenience upon arrival. By that time we had switched out the screen doors with ones to the side balcony which we didn't use and took a shade from the living room and put it up in the master bedroom. And we used the clothes dryer and put up with the screaming machine.....if no one else was concerned, we'd just call 911 if a fire broke out! Finally we called Tim who was very short with us, told us he'd check on the dryer and get right back to us. It's been almost a week since we checked out and we still haven't heard from him! Not to mention that he never showed his face to thank us for accommodating him nor did we get "reimbursed for our inconvenience." A bottle of wine, a smile and a hand shake would've been nice.

The day we checked out we found out from our neighbor that he was closing on our unit that week. Aha....the unit was sold.....Tim no longer cared what was wrong with it we now presume.....no wonder he didn't show his face. It didn't matter to him that we had issues. Extremely poor customer service and hospitality. We're already looking elsewhere in Old Orchard for accommodations a couple of years from now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Victorian for a week and fortunately got used to the noise. They told us when booking that the hurricane strength windows block most of the noise but that is a bunch of BS. They was a guy sitting on a stool with a guitar outside our window singing until 1 am. Once you get past the noise, it's a great location. We had a fantastic view of the fireworks from our balcony. We kept the beach stuff in the car in the parking lot that was literally steps from the beach. The unit was modern and clean. Air mattress included. The unit was stocked with beach chairs and skim/boogie boards. The Wi-Fi was sluggish at best. Still recommend but bring ear plugs and a sleeping mask, the lights are bright all night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been staying at Old Orchard Beach since I was 17 years old. I had been staying at the same hotel for 20+ years after I married and had children, however 3 years ago that location had some unexpected renovations and we needed to rebook fast. I found Chris from Apex online and right away she could not have been more helpful. My husband and I were in a panic, but she assured us she had the perfect location. We instantly loved the Grand Victorian and especially our room (305). The unit was impeccably kept, and very clean. We booked immediately. This past year was our third stay (already booked for next summer) and the unit was just as well kept as the previous stays. The owners obviously take great pride in this space and it shows. Cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff at the Grand Victorian is, how amazingly clean and well kept the room is and has always been, and how extremely helpful Chris is. Best place on Old Orchard, Can't wait for summer 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Victorian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian

Address: 1 E Grand Ave., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Style:
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Grand Victorian Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Victorian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.