We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food average, Service terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Galley Restaurant

Captain's Galley Restaurant
168 Saco Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-1620
207-934-1336
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hudson, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food average, Service terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An experience to walk in, greeted by young perky staff...opposite for table service. Don't get me wrong, more senior age staff can be awesome, but at least smile. We had to ask what the specials for the evening were and then no recommendations. Unfortunately, our whole meal out was ruined by our Server; asking for anything, napkins, water, another beverage. We rec'd dirty dishes for our bread and several questionable looks from our server. When our 9 year old spilled water, we asked for napkins or cloth to clean up, several minutes later, another
"bus boy" staff offered us napkins and we cleaned it ourselves. The Server used the same hand to take away dirty items as fresh food, just not a pleasant person. Now, tipping; I have reservations about standard 20%...if service is good, we do like to reward, but when service is terrible, lacking or not pleasant, I don't feel that amount is warranted. I take into consideration how busy the restaurant is and basic courteousy. We did leave a tip (paying by credit card) and the Server hovered over us until she had that receipt in hand and then gave another nasty look; finally commenting "was there a problem?" I had full intentions of contacting manager next day, but really just decided to not waste anymore time! If I hadn't rec'd a request to review on Trip Advisor, I probably would have continued to just mutter to anyone mentioning this restaurant, to go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    23
    37
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barre, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service - meal was lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were seated immediately and our waitress, Lisa let us know she would be with us shortly. Lisa was on top of our service the entire time. Professional, efficient anf friendly. She brought our drinks and we orderred. I had the lobster pie and my husband had the fishermans platter. Pieces of the lobster were so overcooked they were crispy and hard, other pieces were chewy and tasteless. My husband was unhappy that his platter was actually a casserole dish with all the components mixed together. Lisa provided us with great service. Would probably return - but more likely for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st Petersburg, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of the best Prime Ribs you will get anywhere. Whilst not a fine dining restaurant the food is very good. I have eaten at the Captains Galley many times and experienced a lot of items from their menu but it is the great Prime Rib that brings me back time and time again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to eat while in OOB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were a group of 6 that went to Captain's Galley for dinner on a weekday without reservations. It was busy but nonetheless we were seated in less than 10 minutes. We all ordered appetizers with our dinner. The service was fast, friendly and efficient. The food was great and plentiful. I will definately return when in OOB!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast with so so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were seated right away, but were served our breakfast of delicious blueberry pancakes/eggs/muffins about an hour later. It took 20 minutes to get napkins and a fork. I got up to find them, but couldn't. The servers are nice, but slow. Atmosphere is cute with games on the tables for kids to play. Food was fresh and delicious. A bit pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Galley Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Galley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Galley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.