We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time AGAIN!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage By the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Anchorage By the Sea to your Saves list
The Anchorage By the Sea
125 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A wonderful time AGAIN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

As usual, our stay at the Anchorage by the Sea was very nice. The new renovations are very nice. My only complaint this time as was the case in previous years, No fresh brewed coffee. It's still instant from a machine. And once again, no complimentary pastries. I was a bit disappointed to see that the grounds aren't being kept up as well as usual. Trash under that shrubbery, bird poop on the lawn chairs, algae and mildew on the lawn tables, spider webs all over the gazebos, and the lawn hadn't been mowed in a while. And it would be nice if the housekeeping staff spoke English. But this aside, it's still one of the nicest places to stay in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    211
    77
    32
    28
See reviews for
189
290
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff not at all welcoming and bordering on rude. No apologies for Wifi not working in parts of the complex - clearly a hardware issue. Nicely renovated rooms with nice views. Great access to the Marginal Way out the back gate.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland,Mass.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

In early Sept. my with & I returned to The Anchorage for the first time in tens years and wwe really enjoyed our stay. The room was terrific & clean.The staff was very friendly and catered to our every need.The location overlooking Ogunquit Beach was beautiful,& the walk down Marginal Way is a must.Bring you're camera.Perkins Cove is a seafood lovers delight.The food at their restaurant was tremendous also.We're not going to wait ten years again to come back.Its really worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking Ogunquit Beach,the corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the perfect location in Ogunquit. Walking distance to shops and restaurants as well as the beach. The views are breathtaking. Rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Outdoor pool area is spacious and lovely. The adirondack chairs on the grassy slope overlooking the ocean is a favorite - great place to enjoy a morning coffee or evening cocktail. We absolutely loved this place and would definitely return. Restaurant on site was really nice - great breakfast and pleasant staff. Our only complaint would be the housekeeping - we were out of our room for breakfast, stopped in briefly to change and go to the beach for a few hours. The staff did not show up to clean our room until late in the afternoon when we were already back to take showers. This was most disappointing, especially at an establishment such as this. We were only able to get clean towels - no room cleaning unless we were willing to get out of the room again.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with an ocean view...if you're going to pay the price to stay here, do it righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I wasn't sure what I was in for since I booked this the week before we were going. I was pleasantly pleased. The grounds were nicely landscaped and very clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There are 2 pools in & out door along with about 2-3 hot tubs. Yes people actually were in the pool in Oct! There's a restaurant on site. We had breakfast there one morning. Again very friendly staff. Reasonable prices. Lobby served coffee and tea 24 hrs as lobby was open all day & night. Comfy leather sofa with fireplace & flat screen tv. Sat there one night while my daughter did her homework on computer and I watched the Red Sox with jazz playing in the background.
They are located at the beginning of Marginal Way. Great ocean views. We sat in the chairs watching the waves crash in. Walked to Perkins Cove and back. Walked to the beach and walked to the center. Only time we used our car was when we went to Wells for dinner. They even had a 900 lb pumpkin brought in and two guys carved it. They did this in the back part towards the ocean so people on Marginal way could see it. The hotel offered hot cider & donuts while the carving was going on. Drew quite the crowd. They then moved it to the front of the hotel and lit it up. It was great. The rooms were clean and very spacious...except the bathroom. Bathroom was a bit small but ok. We had a great time.
Second floor of the port bldg is where we were and we had a great view of the ocean from the balcony. I have nothing bad to say about this place. There was an issue with wifi. You could only access it from the lobby...as soon as you got to your room..it disconnected you. They said they just paid a lot $$ for the network to be set up and repeaters put in every other room. But you have full cell service there so it wasn't really an issue. That would be the only "con". And it really wasn't. Because we just took my daughters laptop to the lobby and she got done what she needed to. I would definitely stay here again if visiting Ogunquit again.

Room Tip: The best views would be at the end of the Port bldg "marginal way suites" or the starboard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Maybe the front desk was tired from the high-season of the summer crowd? You had to purchase water in the machine and no coffee in the room, which I like to have. Pillows are terrible, but the location is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very clean and well run establishment. The grounds were extremely well
maintained and decorated. Service was excellent. The location is
great...an easy walk to Perkins Cove or "downtown". We chose not to eat
at the hotel so we cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.