We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Heaven on Earth"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage By the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Anchorage By the Sea to your Saves list
The Anchorage By the Sea
125 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Heaven on Earth"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our third trip to Ogunquit, which is such a beautiful place that I imagine it is what heaven must be like. I would not stay anywhere other than the Anchorage by the Sea. With its location directly on the Marginal Way and breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, I could not ask for a better location. There are many ocean view rooms, but we choose to stay across the street in the Lightship building, which we find to be very quiet and peaceful. The rooms in the Lightship are a bit larger than normal, and definitely larger than the property across from the ocean, where we stayed on our first visit. Grounds are beautifully maintained, with an abundance of flowers to add color. Free coffee and tea are available in the lobby at all times, which I really appreciated especially after taking a walk on the Marginal Way in the evening and stopping by for a cup of tea to take back to my room for the night. Housekeeping did a top-notch job of cleaning the room, which was done every day in a timely manner.

The best part of staying at the Anchorage is its close proximity to the Marginal Way. The Marginal Way is a paved walkway alongside and above the Atlantic Ocean, one mile long, which ends in Perkins Cove, a quaint little village with shops and restaurants. Walking the Marginal Way is a peaceful, almost spiritual experience for me, with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. It is what brings me to Ogunquit. By staying at the Anchorage, all I need do is walk through the little black gate at the end of the grass and I am right there, to walk as long or as little as I wish. Benches along the way provide places to rest and meditate. Another nice feature of the Anchorage is the outdoor heated pool, which is open until Columbus Day. Not all of the resorts in Ogunquit have a pool.

I would only consider staying at the Anchorage by the Sea when returning to Ogunquit. Everything you could possibly want is right there. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    211
    77
    32
    28
See reviews for
189
290
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Brookfield
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and thought it was very nice. It has a great location, right on the Marginal Way, with a wonderful view of the coast and beaches north of the hotel. Since we were in the area again, we stayed here again. This time it wasn't very nice, it was perfect. The service was friendly and professional and the room was clean and bright (looked newly refurbished). Sitting in a lawn chair with my wife, sipping drinks and taking in the scenery late in the afternoon, was a special experience. We travel a lot and this was the nearest to a perfect stay that I can recall. Truly a wonderful place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is such a beautiful hotel located close to Pelican Cove and downtown Ogunquit. We loved walking on Marginal Way which is a path behind the hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel...very close to all the shopping areas and restaurants in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came here for our 10th anniversary. Reception people was great, room was ready and we had a note with a spilt of bubbly and 2 glasses in room! Room was very nice, looked almost new (Lightship). Great location; walking distance to Perkins Cove and downtown with many restaurants, bars and shops. Great visit! Weather was less than ideal, but their fault. Still a great place and had a wonderful time.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went here for our 25th anniversary and decided to return for our 45th! After twenty years it was still picture perfect. The marginal walk was great and the view outstanding. Loved that you could walk everywhere and trolley to Perkins Cove, did not need a car!

Room Tip: Pick an Ocean View if you can. We had side ocean, but saw more parking lot then the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is definitely the ultimate location in Ogunquit to stay, half way between Perkins Cove and Main Street Ogunquit. The property is outstanding nice large grassy area with adirondack chairs to sit on and relax, great pools (both indoor and outdoor) and several hot tubs. The rooms were very clean and looks like just renovated recently. The only down side to the room was for 3 people the closet space was lacking, was very small, and it was right next to the door of the bathroom, so if one person was trying to get into or out of the bathroom and another was getting something out of the closet it didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our first stay in this particular facility and we were very pleased. We have been in Anchorage Inns in Portsmouth, NH and York, ME and found them to be quite nice as well.

This property seems to be a cut above the others in many ways. It seems to be much newer/fresher than the others. The ocean views were wonderful. Sitting on the lawn and watching the tide and waves roll in and out cannot be beat. There is a nice little gazebo where we met up with friends and shared some beverages and snacks before heading out to dinner. The Inn is located in a great spot to be able to walk to almost anythoing in town and also near by Perkins Cove. It is situated directly on the Marginal Way.

Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Our only "complaint" was that the closet was very small and in a strange place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.