We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Hartwell House was a great escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center
Save
You added Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
312 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying at the Hartwell House was a great escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My husband and I have been going to the Hartwell House for 4 years, one week each summer. It is the most relaxing get away - the staff make sure of that. They have made gluten free muffins for my husband and served him gluten free toast at breakfast...along with the other delectable breakfast items. During afternoon tea they serve crackers (gf for the gf dieters) and cheese along with fruit and always the most scrumptious cookies.
It is the most comfortable environment in a great location. You can either enjoy quiet, alone time in the many common areas both inside and outside or socialize with other guests, if you choose.
It's like going back in time with old-fashioned beaching and relaxation. A perfect time!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
174
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

it was such a marvelous stop on our three-week vacation...the service was outstanding...I wish it was closer to our home

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We have spent many happy days at the inn but this year saw a vast improvement in the place. Danette, the manager, has it all together - great breakfasts, rooms freshly painted and very clean, great staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

It's hard to believe this isn't the #1 rated B&B in Ogunquit. The location is perfect - a five-minute walk to Perkins Cove and a ten-minute walk into town. Easily accessible to Marginal Way - the paved walking path along the ocean. The inn is absolutely lovely. Breakfasts were elegant, with great coffee, delicious muffins and scones, fruit, and three main-entree choices each morning -- all of which were amazing. Ice tea, cookies, and cheese and crackers were put out every afternoon. Danette (the innkeeper) was friendly, knowledgeable and down-to-earth, and gave honest recommendations for restaurants in the area. Our room - though not the one that we had booked online due to a plumbing issue - was sweet and comfortable, with beautiful linens and lovely furnishings. Rooms were stocked with bottled water and fabulous magazines to read and we spent time lounging in the yard reading each day. I would absolutely go back and would recommend this in a heartbeat to anyone looking for an elegant inn in a terrific location. We've stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this one ranks with the best of them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Hartwell House is a great place to stay if you're looking for that summer getaway in Ogunquit. Once we parked the car, we never moved it again until it was time to leave for home. The inn is located very close to Perkins Cove, not more than a comfortable 5-10 minute walk. Walking to downtown Ogunquit is about a 15-minute walk.

We were greeted upon arrival and given a quick tour of the inn. Our room was very large and impeccably clean, and the bed could not have been more comfortable. The entire inn has been furnished with antiques. There are no TV's in the room, so be prepared for the quiet and solitude! It should be noted that there is free wireless available in the rooms, so a movie or other media is always at your fingertips!

A full breakfast is included each morning of your stay, with several choices available, and both mornings not a complaint could be had with the food or the service. Each afternoon, fresh baked cookies are also available, along with cold refreshments. In fact, it seemed that no matter when we were coming in or going out of the inn, the smell of fresh baked goods was always in the air!

I feel that we got great value during our stay at the Hartwell House, and I would not hesitate to book another stay there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Our visit was for some R & R during the April school vacation. On
arrival, we were met with outstanding service while we were checking in, and throughout
our single night stay. The breakfast was outstanding, along with the entire staff at the
Inn. When we do return to Ogunquit for some rest and relaxation, it will be at the Hartwell House Inn.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

A special place right in the middle of Perkins Cove and Ogunquit. The room and the Inn have lovely antiques and a wonderful homey feel to it. The inn keeper is on the property and was very helpful and accomodating. The breakfast is served personally with a menu selection in a beautiful sunroom. This place is unlike any other inns in Ogunquit. Very relaxing. The afternoon tea and goodies for all was a little extra perk. Served in pretty glass tea pots. If you have not stayed here...you need to!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center

Address: 312 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. Please call for details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn And Conference Center Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartwell House Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.