We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and good price, with some drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Colonial Village Resort to your Saves list
Colonial Village Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   548 Main Street (U.S. Route 1), P O Box 836, Ogunquit, ME 04090-0836   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location and good price, with some drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Full disclosure. I am reviewing this on my previous years stays. I have stayed at CVR every year for the past 15+ years. From what I understand, they have made some changes this year, and I will update my review if need be.

The good.

Great location, it is a 15 minute walk from the center of town, and probably a 30-40 minute walk to the main beach.
The rooms are clean and the grounds are well kept.
They have some BBQ grills near the pool for guest use as well.
They also are right on the tidal river, which you can walk across during low tide to get to the beach. This area of the beach remains less crowded than the main beach.
During High tide you can use thier boats for free.
There is also plenty of parking on site.
Thier outdoor pool is great, and the hotub is nice but I don't go in it (i'll explain more in the drawbacks).
The indoor pool is great for if you get stuck with a rainy day.
The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating.


The drawbacks

The continental breakfast is a bit lacking (Congdons donuts, some cereal, milk, juice and coffee), and unless you get there very early, you may not get anything.

The outdoor hottub. It would be great to go in it, but during the day the families use it as a kiddie pool. It is filled with kids thoughout the day, many still in diapers. While I have never seen it, I know some of these kids are probably soiling themselves in there. Yes the water is filtered and chlorinated, but I still won't go in it. Personally, I think children who are not potty trained should not be allowed in there.

All in all, this is a nice place to stay and I will continue to return year after year. If they can keep the kids in diapers out of the hottub this year, I will bump up the review another point. :-)

Room Tip: my favorite room is adjacent to the lobby right by the pool. The rooms in the lodge don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
30
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed here in summer 1984 and June 2012. It was both times a very nice place for holidays. The romms are clean.The bed are very nice and comfortable. Two pools inside and out. Don't need the breakfast, but.... all together - a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Decent family oriented place to stay. Rooms are a little dated but VERY clean and the staff is VERY friendly. I will definately come back again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

There were 3 couples from New Hampshire that went to this resort and have nothing but good reviews regarding: location, cleanliness, amenities, information from staff regarding areas to see and go to, including keeping all travelers in our group well informed as to what was going on each and every night of our stay. I would recommend this to everyone that enjoys Ogunquit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with friends booking 2 rooms. The hotel reminded me of an old motor hotel with the buildings/rooms in a u shape surrounding a large pool and a hot tub. There is also an indoor pool on the grounds. The rooms were spacious and clean with a kitchen area, but do not expect anything fancy. It is about a 15 to 20 minute walk to the center of Ogunquit and another 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach. There is a trolley that runs along Main Street that will pick you up and drop you off. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to use the pool and the hot tub after we checked out. They also allowed us to use the showers attached to the indoor pool before we headed out of Ogunquit. It was a pleasant stay at the Colonial Village Resort and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I've only been going to Ogunquit for 7 years, but I've come to realize that all lodging will be overpriced in the summer and Labor Day week-end. Most of the "resorts" are very rustic and basic and expectations should be lowered.

That being said, this motel was OK for what we needed. We rented one of the cottages because it had 2 bedrooms, living area and kitchenette. The cottage was tiny for 4 adults and a child. One TV, in the living area. The other reviewer was correct about the sign in the kitchen (fee for unwashed dishes). I agree with the owner's response about any musty smell. This smell is typical of all of the places I have stayed in Ogunquit: it is humid, near the water and in a wooded type area. Closed up rooms will have that smell, it airs out after a while. It kinda felt like a cabin, but again, this is typical of many of the lodgings in Maine. We didn't need the AC, although it was warm for Maine for this time of year.

The people were very nice, friendly, greeted us nicely. Our room was ready early, nice treat. I did not use the pools, nor did we eat the breakfast (my husband and friend got coffee).

What's great: excellent location, walked to town center, parking is free, a great place to veg out and chill if you want to do absolutely nothing. Trolley goes by if you do not want to take the car out (this area gets ridiculous Labor Day week-end).

Compares with the Mariner "Resort." Did not stay at Mariner again because the "suite" is open and the rooms are not separate. However, that's OK, too.

If you want to double what you pay, you can get something more luxurious, but I'd rather spend the money on a nice lobster dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Harbor, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We recently spent a great weekend at the Colonial Village Resort. The place was very clean, the people were extremely helpful, and the large pool was fantastic (but c-o-l-d)!!! This place is an excellent value and we will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: They have rooms, apartments, and cottages for longer stays. Some of the cottages even have screened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Address: 548 Main Street (U.S. Route 1), P O Box 836, Ogunquit, ME 04090-0836
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Village Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
70 Unit Resort Motel with Basic Motel Rooms, Motel Efficiencies, 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites, Weekly Rental Apartments, and Riverside Cottages. Large Outdoor Pool, Outdoor Jacuzzi, Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi, Tennis Court, Game Room, Tidal River Access, 8 Rowboats for Guest Use During High Tide, Wireless Internet Access in Lobby, Free Continental Breakfast, 15 Minute Walk to Town or Beach, On Trolley Route! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Village Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Village Motel
Colonial Village Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;