We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better B&B experience - hosts, rooms, and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
16 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for a better B&B experience - hosts, rooms, and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I haven't stayed at many B&Bs, but I'm finding it hard to picture one that is better than 16 Beach Street. Went there with my partner over Labor Day, and it was wonderful.

Linda and Dick were the perfect hosts. Warm, helpful, and friendly, but not intrusively so, and Linda cooked a couple of amazing breakfasts. Afternoon refreshments (lemonade, home baked shortbread) made it feel like home, without the headache and stress of our actual parents. :)

The room we stayed in (not going to say which one!) was HUGE, with a beautiful 4-post bed. The only (tiny) complaint is that the bathroom is quite small, but I've stayed in plenty of SF hotels that are even smaller. The view from our bedroom and the porch was great - and we spend a good couple of perfect late afternoon, late summer hours reading on the porch and people-watching the scene coming back from the beach.

And speaking of the beach, I can't imagine a better location. Half a block away from the heart of Ogunquit and it's restaurants and bars, and a 3 minute walk to the beach. Everything we needed was right at our finger tips, including beach chairs, towels, and a beach umbrella provided by 16 Beach Street.

Our first trip to Ogunquit after a frenetic week, and it was about as relaxing a time as I could have hoped for, and more. Thanks Linda and Dick for helping make it a great weekend for us - we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
112
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

16 Beach Street B & B is a wonderful place to stay in Ogunquit. I was most fortunate to stay there for a week in July and then return for a shorter visit in August. Linda and Dick are the charming innkeepers who do everything possible to ensure your stay is the best it can be. Linda's gourmet breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are lovely and the front porch is perfect for reading, relaxing and watching the world go by. I can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This B&B is situated right in the center of Ogunquit. Restaurants and shops are therefore very close and so is the beach (5 min.walk). Note that the entrance to the parking behind the house is a bit special as it hugs the restaurant The Front Porch (corner of Shore Rd, Beach St & Route 1) and must therefore be approached from the south as no left turn can be made at that junction. It also proves a bit awkward to leave it.

The owners, Mr & Mrs. Wickert, welcomed us warmly. Payment of the second half of the reservation was requested upon arrival (first half upon the reservation itself by internet). We were asked about any food allergies and at what time we would like to have breakfast (8:30 or 9:30 a.m.), and then taken to our room in the attic. The last flight of stairs was a bit steep and the ceiling, a tad low (a man over 6 feet will walk with his head bent). On the landing, it was somewhat hot but Mr. Wickert started a fan and the air-conditioning, and within a short while, the area was comfortable.

Under the slanted ceiling, the pretty bedroom was of average size (for a house) and very clean. The mattress (queen size bed) was excellent and plenty of pillows, extra blankets and towels were on hand (as well as a blow-dryer in the dresser). The shared bathroom on the landing was quite big (bath, toilet and large shower) but remained warm even with the fan working. In one corner stood an ironing board (the iron was on a shelf nearby). The shower had a soap and shampoo dispenser.

Breakfast was served by Mr. Wickert on the front porch every morning, weather permitting. For the early birds, coffee/tea and a quick bread were available on a table (excellent cinnamon bread!). The breakfast itself was good and varied but not really plentiful. A choice of fruit juices was offered. In the afternoon, around 3-4 p.m. , one could enjoy lemonade and cookies while exchanging news and tips on sights, restaurants, etc. , with the others guests.

Beach chairs could be borrowed free. Wireless internet throughout the building ensured communication with the rest of the world (bring your laptop!).

Overall, we had a very nice stay. Mr. & Mrs. Wickert made us feel right at home in their nicely furnished house (dating back to 1925). The only drawbacks were the noise level early in the morning as the garbage/delivery trucks came to the nearby businesses around 6:30 a.m. and the breakfast that could be considered on the light side especially for a man (the addition of some local cheese or other goodies, for example, would be great).Although the food was made from fresh ingredients and well-prepared, it did not quite fit my definition of 'gastronomic' (as advertised on the website) and for the price, I did expect slightly more in my plate. That being said, it sure beat any continental breakfast to be had in a number of other hotels!


Lobster Shack: small eatery at the very end of Shore Rd in Perkins Cove that offers good lobster at a decent price.
Café Prego: good restaurant on Shore Rd but extremely popular (reservation is almost a must) and a tad expensive for certain items. Good lobster pizza.
Booth Theater: just across the street. Students perform good plays during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Our stay at 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast was amazing. This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and I can't imagine there being one nicer anywhere. The innkeepers, Linda and Dick make you feel so welcome. They often could be found visiting with their guests on the porch. They make you feel like family. During our five day stay, there were many guests that were retuning for their 2nd, 3rd and 4th visit. A tribute to what a special place this truly is. Everyday at 3:00 there was lemonade and home made cookies on the porch. This was a time when many of the guests would gather and just enjoy visiting with one another. Ogunquit is a beautiful town. Just the right size to enjoy. 16 Street Bed and Breakfast is just a short walk to the Beach and right around the corner from all the restaurants and little shops, but sitting on the porch you feel like you could be a million miles away. A perfect location. The room decor is beautiful and the beds couldn't be more comfortable. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and served on the wrap around porch, weather permitting. My daughter and I enjoyed a perfect five days there and would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast the weekend that we were married in Ogunquit this summer in June.Linda and Dick, the owners, were so welcoming and were incredibly accommodating. Their kindness and flexibility allowed us to enjoy our weekend and feel well taken care of, which allowed us to truly enjoy our time together with family and friends during our wedding along the Marginal Way. Linda and Dick went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding weekend was memorable. I would absolutely recommend staying at their bed and breakfast, as my husband and I hope to return there on many of our future anniversaries!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbury, ct
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Inn keepers, Dick and Linda, were perfect hosts during our stay at 16 Beach Street Inn. A warm and friendly greeting accompanied the lemonade and cookies on the front porch. Our room was delightfully decorated, comfy bed linens and pillows, and equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We just loved the way Linda decorated each room. It is much more up-dated than most of the Inns in Ogunquit, making the others seem that much more old and worn-down.
The weather was perfect for enjoying Linda's delicious gourmet breakfasts every morning on the front porch. And we delighted in Dicks conversations every morning! Good coffee too! And every afternoon there was lemonade and a treat of cookies or bread on the porch. And it was all delicious!!!!! Its location so close to the beach and town make it an excellent location! One never has to use their car after its parked. The trolley is right outside!!! But amid all the activities going on around the Inn, the Inn was peaceful and quiet. My husband even took a nap on the front porch in the middle of the day!!! We had a wonderful time and look forward to visiting 16 Beach Street again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My daughter and I had a wonderful and relaxing stay @ 16 Beach St. The location of the B&B is great, the room was just lovely, the gourmet breakfasts were incredible. The B&B is just beautiful. Linda and Dick were great hosts and I feel like I made new friends. I can't say enough. We went there for a relaxing time, beach by day, shopping and dinner in the evening and just relaxing on the magnificent wrap around porch (by the way thats where our breakfast was served in the morning as well). We got all that. The B&B in located right in town, We parked the car Thursday afternoon and did not need it again till we had to leave. We were in short walking distance of the beach, shops, dinner and Perkins Cove. It was great! We enjoyed our stay there very very much and are looking forward to returning! Thanks so much Linda and Dick!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Beach Street is a classic three-story New Englander style home built in 1920 by the Perkins family. We are a small intimate Inn with five bedrooms. Because of its close proximity to the Beach, the Inn is decorated like a beach house in bright cheery colors. The location of the Inn is ideal. The trolley stops right outside the door and we are within walking distance to great shops, restaurants, the beach and the Marginal Way. Full breakfasts are served every morning along with our signature home-made scones. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
16 Beach Street Bed And Breakfast Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.