We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good--but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
16 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good--but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had very high expectations for 16 Beach Street, given other reviews on the site, but we were disappointed in many ways. Linda (one of the two innkeepers) was out of town with a new grandchild, which may explain some of the problems we encountered.

There was a lot good about the inn--fantastic location (and parking) in the heart of Ogunquit, clean and well-appointed rooms, a cheerful and welcoming innkeeper. Ogunquit was the first stop on our honeymoon, and we were greeted with a chilled bottle of champagne in our room, which was a nice touch.

But there were also concerns we had during our stay. First, we were woken up at precisely 1:00 am on our first night because the alarm went off on the "sound machine" in our room. We had not touched the device; Dick speculated that he or someone else had set it accidentally when preparing our room. Second, we returned to our room the second day to find our door unlocked and our room wide open. We had been sure to lock it that morning when we'd left, and Dick (who'd noticed that it was open all day) speculated that he or someone else must have left it open after making the bed. (While Dick apologized in a perfunctory way for the alarm and open door, he did not seem to recognize why we might be upset or concerned). Third, the inn's policy apparently is not to clean the room each day--but only to make the bed and to do even that only when specifically requested. (The bathroom was never cleaned as far as we could tell.). Fourth, while our room was the largest room (or one of the largest rooms) in the inn, ten pieces of furniture made the room feel cramped, and the bathroom and shower were tiny. Fifth, breakfasts were awkward affairs. Though we specified in advance our preference for healthier breakfasts, we were told that even a request for scrambled eggs could "overwhelm" the kitchen. (We did get the eggs--and they were fine--but we were puzzled at how difficult it seemed to be to manage just eight guests at breakfast). Finally, we were consistently made to feel as if we were interrupting Dick's evenings on the porch with the other guests, whom he described to us as "old friends." He sat with these other guests in the evening, offering them drinks and specially made desserts that were not offered to us. We were not invited to join them or offered the food or drinks made available to them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaWickert, Owner at 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
The guests who overlapped their stays with these guests had a far different take on those three days as evidenced by their reviews which followed this review...

But be that as it may....At 16 Beach Street, you should know that:

1. we don’t set alarm clocks for guests
2. as the rooms are changed and cleaned each day, we would certainly close a guest’s door if we saw that they left it open or did not close it tightly.
3. Not all guests want rooms refreshed but prefer their privacy and we respect that....hence the make-up room sign for the door.
4. the house is professionally decorated and some newer bathrooms are on the small side like most older-restored homes. All the colors and furnishings have been chosen and placed carefully.
5. breakfast is something different every day: an entree, meat, fresh fruit, sweet breads, juice and coffee or tea....we do not have an in-house restaurant but we have been told that it is the delicious breakfasts, the comfy beds and the engaging innkeepers that bring people back again and again.
6. The professional chef taking Linda's place filled the requests made by these guests and more.
7. home-made goodies are served every afternoon with an accompanying beverage...if there are any left overs, they are usually left on the hall table or brought out in the evening on the porch to be enjoyed by all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
112
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the most relaxed my wife and I have been in years. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The owners exemplify how a bed and breakfast should be operated. The breakfast was incredible. Just sitting out on the porch was cathartic. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

One of the places I have ever stayed in Maine. Located in the heart of Ogunquit. Room was big and bed extremely comfortable. Delicious breakfast! The innkeepers Dick an Linda vey accommodating. Can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnt Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Second year we have visited and it was again outstanding. The rooms and inn are terrific, the breakfasts are fabulous, and the location is right in the middle of everything. Park your car and walk. Best of all are Linda and Dick, outstanding hosts. Congrats on your new grandaughter!!!

Room Tip: All three rooms on the second floor are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I went and stayed for just one quick night this past weekend, and had such a wonderful experience. We will return! The hosts, Dick and Linda were incredibly friendly and accommodating - they made sure we were comfortable and felt welcome in their inn. We stayed in the Hattie Nagle room - gorgeous! Breakfast was delicious and the the perfect setting on the front porch. We highly recommend staying at 16 Beach Street Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've stayed at many b&b's along the east coast and have found Linda & Dick to be the best hosts ever. They are both so welcoming and comfortable to be with, and are very helpful. The breakfasts are wonderful as are the late afternoon snacks on the beautiful porch. Linda has given so much attention to every detail in the rooms, which are beautifully decorated. The mattresses are great quality, affording much needed sleep on our last vacation. The location of the house is great, just down the street from the beach and a short walk to all the stores and restaurants. My friend and I had such a wonderful time that we have booked another vacation at the end of the summer. If you like b&b's, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

16 Beach Street Bed & Breakfast is in a perfect location; just a short walk to shopping, restaurants, and Ogunquit Beach. The property is absolutely beautiful! Immaculately kept, beautiful rooms, great beds and charming atmosphere. Linda and Dick are wonderful hosts and two of the nicest people you could hope to meet. Linda's breakfasts are unbelievable (lemon raspberry pancakes, almond crusted French toast..) and served outside on the beautiful wrap around porch. My wife and I will definitely return to 16 Beach Street!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Beach Street is a classic three-story New Englander style home built in 1920 by the Perkins family. We are a small intimate Inn with five bedrooms. Because of its close proximity to the Beach, the Inn is decorated like a beach house in bright cheery colors. The location of the Inn is ideal. The trolley stops right outside the door and we are within walking distance to great shops, restaurants, the beach and the Marginal Way. Full breakfasts are served every morning along with our signature home-made scones. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
16 Beach Street Bed And Breakfast Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 16 Beach Street Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.