We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norseman Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norseman Resort
Save
You added Norseman Resort to your Saves list
135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Montpelier, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WE WILL BE BACK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Noseman twice a year for the last ten years. Do you need to know more? It is a beach lovers paradise! Walk down the back staircase and you are on the delightful beach. Rooms are always clean, the staff welcoming and helpful. They make you feel right at home in Ogunquit...Got a question? They have the answer or will find the answer for you. Last fall when we were visiting they procured last minute tickets for us to the Ogunquit Playhouse.
Needless to say the ocean views and sunrise are spectaular.
We have always found our stay to be relaxing, rejuvenating and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Norseman Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing about your stay at the Norseman Resort. We especially appreciate when our long term repeat guests take the time to share their many happy experiences with others. We will always guarantee spotless, well maintained rooms and superior service from our professional staff.

We are proud sponsors of the Ogunquit Playhouse and are pleased that you were able to attend one of the shows during your last visit.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Ogunquit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
48
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I spent a weekend at Norseman in early October. It is steps to the beach and a 5 minute walk to downtown Oguinquit. Our room was very clean and the view of the ocean was unbelievable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Norseman Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your experience at the Norseman Resort. October is an especially wonderful time to visit Ogunquit because the crowds have diminished and the weather is usually superb. We will always guarantee our rooms to be spotlessly clean and we appreciate your comments on the cleanliness.

Once again, thank you for writing. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Ogunquit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Rooms a little basic but large and very clean. The views are also fantastic.
There is no better location in Ogunquit than the Norseman.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Norseman Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Norseman Resort and taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. We do have a variety of different rooms types to accommodate our guests preferences relative to pricing and location on the property. Regardless of room type, we will always guarantee spotlessly clean rooms. Our location provides our guests the option of parking their vehicle upon arrival and not moving it again until check-out time if they so desire.
Guests can walk to the center of town or the Marginal Way in a matter of minutes. Of course, the trolley also stops directly in front of the Norseman and can take guest to Shore Road, Perkins Cove or a variety of stops on Route 1.

Thank you again for posting and we look foward to hosting your next visit to Ogunquit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is my first review that I've written for this site. We stayed at the Norseman in the Sailoft section of the hotel over the restaurant because we needed 2 rooms. Our friends traveling with us had room 109 in the Sundowner, so we had the best of both worlds. I had read many reviews about the hotel prior to staying there, and yes, the showers are tight. Yes, the toilet area is also kind of tight in the smaller rooms (like the sailloft rooms). However, for a beachfront hotel, it is impeccably maintained, the service staff is awesome and you absolutely cannot beat the location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I have been to Ogunquit manny times this was the first time staying at the Norseman due to it always being so busy. We went from Friday to Monday...
Upon our arrival it was very easy check in and the people at the front desk make you feel so welcome and comfortable like you are family.The location is amazing it is the only hotel on the beach, and our room faced the beach on the side as you walk on to the beach. The room was a smaller room but had enough space for us with some amenities like a coffee machine and fridge in the bathroom. It was spotless and the staff that clean up the rooms were so nice to talk to and these girls work hard to keep that place shining.and sand free.There is a restaurant in the complex which serve the best breakfast in town and reasonable too get there early otherwise you will wait in line.
We went at the beginning of August the weather was fantastic and the ocean well it was a tad cool at 58 degrees each day but I still went in to dunk. The beach is family friendly where the hotel is ...,as you walk the middle part is mostly gay friendly,,, and the rest is the next local beach,,,, it is a beautiful beach to walk and very clean even with all the families and people on it... There is nothing much to do at night except the Front Porch if you want a piano bar which again is gay friendly mostly but we went there anyways and had a great time singing the songs..Most of the clubs are again mostly gay friendly with little to do other than eat in restaurants and walk the strip at night or go to Perkins cove.
Our favorite restaurant was Billy's chowder house near Wells beach the food was great and the ambiance a bit like the bar Cheers in Boston. Reasonably priced and great service. and the food is amazing especially the fried clams with stomachs and the fish and chips were great too. The chowder there is what chowder should taste like.
We did eat at a place called the Lobster Barn did not enjoy it at all everything has bread crumbs on it and around 1 inch of it on top of all their seafood.. very expensive and not worth it, the ambiance was ok but the food needs an extreme makeover the scallops that I ordered for $18 was for only three scallops covered in breadcrumbs and it was dried out. the clam chowder was greasy and watery and not great . I would never go there again!!! Service was ok a tad lacking and the waitress who recommended the dish to me after I complained it was dry just said "O sorry .."
At Kittery we ate at the small stand we had lobster rolls and some sweet potatoe fries and lemonade it was good but expensive for everything, it was over $40. for two people. I would go again it hit the spot and the place was clean. Kittery has some great deals there and it was fun to go and shop.
Tip: there is a Hannaford to buy wine and cheese cheaper, than in town ,,and it is near Wells beach on route one I would go there to buy groceries to end our day,,, a little wine and cheese and crackers on beach priceless...crackers in town at the store were $3 more than at the grocery store ...sticker shock.
bring lots of sun cream and mosquito repellant for night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

From the time that I checked in to the time I checked out the entire staff was so very helpful. The room was very clean and the food was terrific at the resturants. The blueberry pancakes are to die for!! I needed time away and this was just the place to go and regroup myself. I would recommend this to anyone. Oh and not to mention, but the location can't be beaten. This will be were I retreat whenever needed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

we have been coming to this resort for 7 years & everyone of the staff has always
been friendly & polite & helpful. We had a mixup on our departure date which was
our error & the staff (Karen & Larry) resolved the situation by issuing us a credit for
the night. In this day & age something like this does not happen. Thank you for
everything & we will see you next year.

Helen Galligan & Bea Jones

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Resort

Address: 135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. 2 restaurants, free parking. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Norseman Motel Ogunquit
Norseman Ogunquit
Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norseman Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.