We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norseman Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norseman Resort
Save
You added Norseman Resort to your Saves list
135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great spot, right on the beach, the only one. Clean, quiet and well maintain. A 5 minutes walk away from the main street and restaurants. We have been there for 3 nights at Canadian thanksgiving. We had a room on the water facing building on the third floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
48
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adirondacks NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went for a short trip and was pleasantly surprised by the "side oceanview". The staff was more than helpful from the time of reservation , to check in, to helping with dinner suggestions. As other reviewers have said the rooms are dated BUT execptionally clean! Our room was huge with an amazing view of the ocean. We went in October but the sunshine on the deck made it fine to sit out and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Norseman's location is it's biggest selling point. Free internet access is also a plus. The beds were uncomfortable, at best. Staff friendly. Parking sufficient. We are repeat visitors and enjoy the low key atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently stayed at the Norseman Resort in Ogunquit Me. Great Value for the price and Great Location. We paid $20 extra and had incredible views of the ocean. Spotless and comfy nice big room will stay again!

Room Tip: Bob's Clam Hut in Kittery had great seafood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Norseman's location cannot be beat - in fact, it is the best location in Ogunquit. My last visit was Sept 21-23. I parked my car upon our arrival (no problem parking, contrary to previous posters) and never used it again during our entire stay. My elderly mother and I either took the trolley or walked into town. But most of the time we were at the beach - just a few steps from our room (The Dunes). The rooms are very basic - but there is everything you need. Comfortable beds, good cupboard space, small fridge, large bathroom vanity (ours had drawers). There are chaise lounge type chairs right outside the room (on the patio or deck, depending on your room location) - good for early morning surf-watching.
I am always happy to spend a few days at the Norseman.

Room Tip: The Dunes give you a view of the ocean and of the dunes. There is a small path down to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I took my elderly mother on a little trip and the cleanliness of the Norseman is outstanding! If you are looking for a lot of amenities, this is not the place, but the beach location was perfect. Listening to the surf and walking out of our room right onto the beach was amazing! I would not recommend eating at Splash, but to sit and have a drink outside was nice. All handicapped services that my mother needed were provided without any issues. It was a great place to stay and I would definitely return!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stay here whenever we come to Ogunquit. Our room is simple but efficient and the bed is comfortable. Housekeeping folks are awesome. Lots of wildlife on this preserved beach. Privacy is upheld. The general vibe is relaxed, respectful and peaceful. Love it. Coming back every year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lesser expensive no frills room in the Sail Loft. Sunny, a bit more noisy. Bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Resort

Address: 135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. 2 restaurants, free parking. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Norseman Motel Ogunquit
Norseman Ogunquit
Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norseman Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.