We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Inn to your Saves list
The Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$109 (USD)
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was large and clean with a beautiful ocean view. Great location close to everything. Staff was extra friendly and very helpful. Very knowledgeable about the area. They even put chocolates in our room as it was our anniversary. Stay in the main house on the upper floor for the best views.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    55
    17
    0
    6
See reviews for
50
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The ColoniaI Inn is a gorgeous, beautiful and spectacular hotel. Whether it be your first time, 2nd time, 3rd time, etc, you are always greeted like family. And, this is what my husband and I will look forward to when going back again and again and again :-)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear DnJ731,

Thank you for taking the time to write another lovely review of your stay with us and for being our loyal guests! We are glad that we feel like family to you- that is something that we truly strive for.
We hope that on top of having a great stay in one of our Ocean View rooms that you enjoyed our newly updated breakfast. Being past guests of ours, you may have noticed the new local selections, and an overall healthier variety.

We know that we will be seeing you again in the future and look forward to your next stay. When you decide on future dates, I would be happy to make the arrangements for you.

Best Regards,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
taylor@thecolonialinn.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Our second visit was in August 2014, If you are new to Ogunquit this would be a great place to stay. Within walking distance to the center of town and very convenient to the Marginal Way. About the Inn....You need to have been there before the renovation to truly enjoy the transformation of the entire complex. We had a king bed room with an ocean/beach view. I think it was room 204? But would opt for 206- a corner room facing the Ocean...you would have to ask for sure. The Inn is not on ocean front, but has an adequate pool. Breakfast was adequate. Lunch was usually on the road as we used the Hotel as our base for "antiquing". Supper certainly within walking distance -options galore! Our 4 nights were great, the bed very good, room appointed very nice and bathroom clean, neat with walk-in shower. Everything is new. Air cond worked great. Room is not large. We walked the Marginal Way in the morning as well as evenings. Took wonderful pictures. Enjoyed walks in the evening back to town for coffee. If your a "walker" you would not be disappointed! We walked everywhere I'm 65 .....we will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Robert G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of our Inn! I was able to look up your history from last year and I see that you stayed in room 406, which is an Ocean Superior room. This category of rooms has some of our largest rooms that we offer in the Main Inn and great ocean views! We do also have three rooms on the very front of the building- room 408, 308 and 309 that are called Premium Ocean View rooms. These ones have full sitting areas and panoramic view of the ocean.

We are glad that you found our amenities appealing. We will be updating our breakfast selections again this season- we will be offering a local variety and a new, fresh look to the breakfast area. We will also be adding local craft beers and signature cocktails to our service bar.

We would love to see some of the photos you took during your stay with us. If you would like to share them, you can send them to taylor@thecolonialinn.net. We hope to see you this upcoming season. When you are ready to book, please do not hesitate to call our office and I would be happy to assist you with reservations.

Best,

Taylor Trainor
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

A stay where we travel through time.
Excellent service,clean, lots of flowers, small attentions, like fresh iced lemonade at the entrance.
What a nice place to stay.
Not very far from the beach.
Continental breakfast is served and is good.
A big living room where we can relax, read, drink and read.
A touch of class

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Dear Denise G,

We love what you said about our Inn- that it is like “traveling through time”. Even with the renovations, the history of our Main Inn is something that you certainly cannot miss! We are so happy that you enjoy our amenities and hope to see you again this coming season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Beautifully renovated hotel in the heart of Ogunquit. Have had the pleasure of staying in a room with ocean views and have already booked our stay for September of 2105. Staff is exceptional and very accommodating. Rooms are well appointed and love that the renovation has kept the old time feel of the original building. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in back on third and fourth floors have ocean great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Dear ariabach,

We hope that you enjoyed the holidays! Thank you so much for your lovely review and past review of the Colonial. We are so glad that you enjoy all that our Inn has to offer- including the beautiful views! We look forward to your stay next September and can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I was referred to stay at the Colonial Inn by a friend who was currently staying there on her vacation. She was right, it was a great place to stay. When we arrived we we're checked in by the woman who had taken my reservations and she was as pleasant as she was over the phone. She took us for a tour and informed us of everything that the hotel had to offer and of the town activities. She was extremely personable and I greatly appreciated her demeanor. The hotel was beautifully remodeled in the east wing where we stayed and the room was nice and toasty when we got in. The room was very cozy and had a great feel about it. The hotel is just minutes from the Marginal Way and very close to town so most days my friend and I walked everywhere. I must say the stay in October was great, relaxing and I will be making another reservation in 2015. I'd like to thank Michelle, the representative at the Colonial Inn for being such a giant help and always having a great, down to earth attitude.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Dear Shaun C,

Thank you for your review of our Inn. We will be sure to let Michelle know how much of a help she was for you during your stay with us. We are glad that you found your room in the East Building appealing and comfortable. Those rooms were remodeled along with the Main Inn and will be receiving a few more updates this coming season. Whenever you are ready to make reservations for this season, please feel free to call us directly. Our office is open year-round. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

An outstanding place to celebrate our anniversary! Beautiful rooms and a warm comfortable Lobby. The owners/management were friendly, helpful and very accommodating.
We look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Noel R.,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We also appreciate the kind comments you left in our email. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us as you celebrated your anniversary. We hope that you will get the chance to stay with us again this upcoming season and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.