We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but there are 2 safety concerns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Inn to your Saves list
The Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now at 2014 rates!
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
nj
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful but there are 2 safety concerns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Millions have been spent and a wonderful Inn full of beautiful colors and a relaxing atmosphere has been recreated and updated. Very convenient location though there is no direct beach access. A short walk takes you to shopping and many restaurants. There is only one very small elevator for guest use. One of the safety concerns is that during our stay this summer one of the doors to the breakfast room which opens onto the street was left open and anyone could walk directly to the elevator, which is out of sight of the front desk, and gain access to the guest room floors. The other safety concern was that the shower floor was EXTREMELY slippery--had to put a towel on the shower floor. Before we leave the bathroom, the shampoo, lotion, etc had been partially used and were never replenished during our 5 day stay--this Inn should be ashamed to use leftovers...... The breakfast was barely adequate and served in a very uninviting room. Aside from the beauty there is a lot to be desired here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear shaynashayna,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback so that we can continue to improve the guest experience. We are glad to learn that you were able to enjoy the location of our hotel, which is a short convenient walk to the town, and the relaxing atmosphere of our Inn.

At the Colonial Inn, we take our guest's safety and concerns as our number one priority. After many suggestions from our guests, this past season we have added an outdoor patio accessible from our breakfast room for additional seating and more comfort. The breakfast door is left open during breakfast hours only, as we have our breakfast attendants monitoring who is coming in and out. Once breakfast is over, the door is closed and automatically locks from the outside. Curious people who may try to enter using that door would find that it is locked and have to proceed to one of the main doors.

We do have bathmats in all guest rooms throughout the property in case guests do find that the shower and bathtub floors are slippery. These bathmats are thicker towels that come standard with our towel supplies in each guestroom. In each of the guest showers in the Main Inn, we have installed shampoo, body wash and conditioner pump bottles as they are more eco-friendly and cut down on the waste of throwing away the individual plastic bottles.

We regret not having the opportunity to address any of your concerns during your stay with us. Had we been made aware that there were concerns of safety privacy, or other issues, we would have been able to address them and answer any questions you may have had right away. Our staff is very efficient and effective in their service of providing each guest with an exceptional, comfortable experience and would have been eager to address your concerns in order to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    55
    17
    0
    6
See reviews for
50
139
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Colonial Inn offers the best of both worlds: a close walk to Ogunquit's fabulous beach as well as nearby shops and restaurants. We stayed here during the busy, bustling summer season, but we're looking forward to visiting during the off-peak months when we can enjoy the ocean view and inviting patio and lobby to just chill out and read. In addition to the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, the warm and friendly staff made us feel just as comfortable. There are many places to stay in Ogunquit, but the Colonial Inn is truly in its own league. It lacks pretension, but offers casual elegance while catering to guests' every need. My only complaint is that I wish we could visit more often!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jessica C,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Inn and for visiting us in our off-season. We are so glad that you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer-including our “comfy” beds! They are certainly a favorite feature among our guests. We are thankful for all of the kind words you had for our staff and Inn. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place, excellent service but a little pricey. The weather was nice so we add breakfast on the patio. Cookies are offered in the main lobby. Parking is not a problem. Would go again! They helped us for tickets for Ogunquit Playhouse.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Marc L,

Thank you for your kind review about your stay with us this past season. We are very pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and would return. We are always happy to take suggestions if you think there is anything we can do to improve the value. Thank you very much and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very pleased with the relaxing appearance and layout of the Colonial Inn. The porch and reception area were very well appointed and tastefully decorated. We very much enjoyed the spiced tea and water stand in reception area. The room was nicely decorated. Bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was adequate although the actual breakfast room is tight and unappealing, however, guests are encouraged to take trays with their breakfast selections into the outside areas, porches, and parlor. This makes for a pleasant start to the day and also makes you feel a bit like family.

A single elevator that is small but adequate to get bags to and from rooms.

Only downside is the Inn is not actually on the water but it is a short walk to areas with nice views.

Room Tip: A few rooms have a partial view of the water. A nice add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you found your stay relaxing and comfortable. You made a suggestion that the breakfast is an area where we can improve on to make a stay that much more enjoyable. This is something that we have continued to add to and improve throughout the past few seasons. With the help of our guests, we are taking feedback and making adjustments as we go! The next time that you stay with us, we hope that you will find it more appealing. On another note, we would be happy to show you some of our premium ocean view rooms the next time you visit. As you mentioned, we are not right on the water but we do have about 10 ocean view rooms, four of which are located on the very back corners of the building and have panoramic views. Thank you again for writing a review and we hope to see you next season.

Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The Colonial turned out to be our port in the storm. Having decided to leave another hotel in Wells and forfeit two night's payment we ended up here and couldn't have been happier!
Booked ourselves a 2 night stay in the East Building which has been updated...comfy queen sized beds, new bathroom, new ac unit, flat screen tv on the wall, fridge and microwave.
The interior of the main building is beautiful. The large airy lobby has a piano and plenty of seats to sit and read or talk. The breakfast room is a little small but the continental breakfast offered was more than adequate.
You're within easy walking distance to the entrance of Marginal Way, the beach and the main shopping area. The trolley stop is right outside.
At night before we headed to our room we took advantage of pouring ourselves a complimentary cup of hot spiced apple cider...and a chocolate chip cookie to go along with it!
Will definitely book here the next time we're in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, Director of Sales at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of all that The Colonial Inn has to offer. It's also nice to know that we were able to be your "port" in a storm...what more could we ask for!? Should your travels find you in Southern Maine, we do hope that you will find refuge in us again :).

Sincerely,

Management & Staff of The Colonial Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

we just spent one night here on our way to Newark airport, but the hotel staff were most helpful. I needed to swim but the hotel pool was closed so a member of staff found a hotel nearby and asked if I could use it, I was most appreciative of this. Nothing was too much trouble. Ogunquit is a really cute town, and would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, Director of Sales at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We pride ourselves on our courteous and attentive staff and it is great to be acknowledged! Please come back to visit us when you can stay a little longer and enjoy all that Ogunquit has to offer, perhaps in the warmer weather, when our pool is open. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff of The Colonial Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

The staff was great the room was big and clean. We were right down the street from the Marginal Way and shopping. We loved our stay at the inn. They offered a basic breakfast,hard boiled eggs,cereal,yogurt etc which was OK. Our experience overall was great along with location and value we would go back again

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pjk12657,

Thank you for giving us a great review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Inn. Our central location to the attractions in Ogunquit is certainly a favorite feature among our guests, as is the value. The breakfast we offer is something that we continue to improve with guest suggestions and feedback. When you choose to make your next reservation, our staff would be happy to learn of any suggestions you have to make the breakfast more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Colonial Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.