We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay in Room 102!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Inn to your Saves list
The Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$109 (USD)
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't Stay in Room 102!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a very pretty inn. The room we stayed in was pretty as well. As most reviews have said, the main building was recently renovated so everything was new and clean and tasteful. We stayed in room 102. It had a beautiful antique wooden floor, but the smell of polyurethane was very strong and it gave me a headache. The bed was comfy, the pillows the best I've ever tried to sleep on. The big problem was the noise from the street, even with the windows closed. It was so loud that every time I started to doze off, a motorcycle or other loud vehicle would drive by and startle me awake. You are so close to the street in room 102 that I could sometimes hear the music people were playing in their cars as they passed. The hotel did do a good of insulating noise from other guests as I never heard anything but traffic.

The noise was bad enough, but window coverings allowed too much light in. There are six windows, and bright light from the lights that were left on outside all night glowed around the perimeter of each one. It was way too bright for sleeping.

We didn't try to get a different room, because when we booked it, we were told it was the only room available. It would have been nice to have been warned about the noise and light issues with the room when we booked it, but there was no mention of it. When we told the staff about it as we left they said, "Oh." They didn't even apologize. For almost $300 a night, I want peace and quiet and didn't get it.

There are some other details that were not great. There are no irons or ironing boards in the room. We got one when requested, but the iron didn't get hot enough and the board was one of those tiny, chintzy ones. There was no toilet lid on the toilet (unsanitary as they stack the clean towels on a rack over the toilet). There is no place to put anything in the bathroom even though there is space for a shelf of some sort. Also no place to put anything in the shower stall except on the floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floor facing the street. The road noise makes it impossible to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are terribly sorry that your stay was not as peaceful as you had hoped. Here at The Colonial Inn it is our goal to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We are glad that the pillows and bed were comfortable. Our plan for the off-season is to fix the light and noise issues in our first floor rooms. Once again we apologize that your stay was not everything you had hoped for and if you give us a second chance we will be sure not to disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    55
    17
    0
    6
See reviews for
50
145
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Key to understanding this property is that (as far as I can tell) there are three different lodging options - a relatively nice main building, a sort of motel-like building, and a building containing 'suites'. A number of the reviews here note the importance of booking in the main building.

We booked a suite. This was a large room with a bed and a kitchen room containing a couch/fold-out bed. The exterior and interior state of the building and suite were shabby, worn-looking, very much in need of renovation. When we arrived we found that the bathroom was full of very large black ants. The management put us in a room in the "motel" building for a night while they took care of the ant problem. When we returned to the suite after the night in the "motel" room, we saw no ants, so I give the management due credit for taking care of this problem, though I wonder whether some failure to adequately clean the room is what led to the ant issue to begin with.

The "motel" room we stayed at for a night was, in its own way, depressing, shabby, worn-looking, in need of renovation. The suite was better if only because it was a little more spacious and light. A serious problem was the inability to lock the door from the inside; this is standard even in one-star motels in the US.

I have some concerns about the security of the suite. We left the room one morning, closed the door, checked to see that it was fully shut and locked, and returned an hour or two later to find the door ajar. Perhaps housekeeping checked the room (no evidence of this) and forgot to check that the door was locked. None of our personal items were missing, as far as we could tell.

The hotel provided breakfast, but this was itself disappointing in quality. We ended up eating breakfast elsewhere after the first morning.

On the plus side, the location of the hotel is pretty good, close to Marginal Way, the beach and a short walk to the center of Ogunquit.

I would not recommend this hotel nor would I wish to stay there again. It is possible that the experience in the 'main building' is entirely different, though, as other reviews would indicate. This hotel would generally benefit from significant investment in renovation. Until that occurs I cannot recommend it. I

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house; avoid the 'suites' or the 'motel'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown, ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Under new ownership. Outstanding service. Clean, well kept rooms and bath. great value. will go back.

trolley stops at this location, so convenient if you need that service. short walk to everything, including Perkins Cove, downtown, Marginal Way entrances, and off-beat restaurants such as Jonathan's and The Roost (avoid the main-drag touristy shlop if you want a nice meal in an adult setting...).

Room Tip: they have rooms with ocean views. ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We do have rooms with spectacular ocean views on our 3rd and 4th floors. We are glad that you enjoyed the restaurants in town. Jonathan’s Restaurant and The Roost are a couple of our favorite places around. Once again, thank you for choosing the Colonial Inn and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice hotel in quaint Ogunquit. The lobby and main building have been renovated but our room in the East wing was dated with old furniture and carpets. Beds seem new and are comfortable.

Pool is small, continental breakfast ok.

The location was great, 10-15 minute walk to either Perkins Cove or to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is true that our Main Inn and lobby have been completely renovated. Our outer rooms received new carpeting, new paint, and new furniture, having had a major renovation as well. We are extremely thrilled to hear that you liked the beds! Being able to provide a good night’s sleep for our guests is something we strive for. We sincerely hope that you choose the Colonial Inn for your future Ogunquit endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the colonial inn for 2 nights and were extremely impressed. We stayed in the main house and our room was modern, clean and comfortable. The Inn is close to shopping, restaurants and the beach. We did not drive once the whole weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the mornings were loud - lots of door slamming. We tried to block it out with the fan on the ac unit but we could still hear noise from the hallway. Overall though, we had a great stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
A million thanks for your great review. It is nice that you were able to go the entire weekend without touching your car. Our location is one of our Inn’s most desired features. If you are ever in the Ogunquit area again we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Meadows, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights ... So comfortable, relaxing and convenient. We had room 408, top floor, in the main building. Our room was on the corner with perfect views of the ocean. The room was spacious, bright, clean and newly painted, carpeted, etc. The hotel's location is within walking distance to many restaurants, bars and shopping. The entrance to the Marginal Way is just a few hundred feet from The Colonial. We got cocktails at the front desk and took them, along with our beach chairs to the water. When the tide is low you can sit right in the water as it comes up only to your ankles. We ate at Frills, Banditos, Five-0, The Front Porch, Johnathan's and Cafe Amore. At Frills we had drinks and bar food which was all great. At Banditos, margaritas, chips and guacamole while we sat outside and watched the main street action. At Five-0 we had a delicious dinner (Bronzino and chicken with mushroom risotto and wonderful martinis). At the Front Porch we had cocktails and fried pickles and flatbread. At Cafe Amore we ate breakfast ... Long wait but they offer delicious coffee while you wait. At Johnathan's we had salmon and lobster. We walked to all of these locations. We also took a trolley ride and our one car adventure was to Goose Rocks Beach in Kennebunkport which was about 30 minutes away. There isn't much of a beach in Ogunquit unless you are okay with crowds and a lot of children. Goose Rocks is much nicer and quieter. We walked the Marginal Way at night, with a full moon ... Very romantic! We would return to Ogunquit and stay at The Colonial as long as we could get the same room. The staff is very helpful with recommendations and very friendly.

Room Tip: The main building is the nicest as it just underwent a 4 million dollar renovation. Get a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. The room you stayed is one of our Ocean Superior rooms and indeed has a wonderful view. Your restaurant choices throughout the week were all top notch. Your comment about the crowds at the Ogunquit Beach rings true in the high season. Thank you for sharing your tip about Goose Rock’s beach in Kennebunkport…we will have to check it out! Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Upon check in, we were given a brief orientation - brief in that our room, not in the main building, was pointed out and we were told where to park. We could see the rest of the grounds pretty easily as it is all modest. Especially the postage stamp sized pool! It is probably 10 feet by 15 feet, known to most as a plunge pool, with an adjoining hot tub.

Once in our room we were underwhelmed, while adequate, this building had not had the same renovation as the main building. It was dark, and mediocre, 3 star Mexican/Cuban standards. The bed was comfortable and definitely the best part of the room. Bathroom small. The living area has a pullout couch and a table that seats four. The window coverings are $2 dollar blinds that cause frustration, a demonstration of a quick patchy Reno, same can be said for the kitchenette that has a hot plate older than the hills! We had to ask for wine glasses, we had to ask for hangers, we had to ask for dish soap (you are expected to do your own dishes fyi) Everything is handled with pleasant service - they are definitely trying to keep up with guest demands and are overwhelmed by current capacity - as willingly offered by many of the staff, including the owner!

The rooms are close together and you can hear neighbouring noise, both late at night and early morning - so if you are a light sleeper be warned. The resort is very campy feeling, there are guests that take over, and basically tailgate at the picnic tables near the pool. They bring little hibachi grills, crack their Budweisers, and open up the backs of their SUV's for tunes!

Once you adjust to the modest surroundings you can easily find The Colonial pleasant, pleasant enough to choose to extend your vacation by one day, which we did, or more appropriately, tried to do! We inquired at the front desk in the morning the day before we were originally scheduled to leave, the perky blonde at the front desk said our room was available. We told her we'd think about it and let them know a few hours later. She said that would be fine. We returned mid-afternoon and confirmed with the gentleman in the bow tie, we assumed was the Manager(?) that we would indeed extend our stay. He asked our name, confirmed it in the computer, I said he could put the charges on the existing credit card on file, and he agreed. Seemed simple enough.

The next morning we went for a walk on Marginal way -a must see in Ogunquit! We returned to the hotel around noon with plans to head to the beach, when our room telephone rang. At once we were accused on missing our check-out time (customary 11am).

From this point on, our experience with The Colonial turned negative. The woman on the other end of the phone said our room was sold, they had sold it earlier that morning. We tried to explain that we had confirmed with the gentleman in the bow tie(Radek), that we had extended our stay by one night. “Did we have a charge on our credit card? A confirmation number? An extension for the parking pass? “She berated. We said we had discussed it with Radek, and assumed it was handled.
I am not sure about you but in previous experiences, checking in with the front desk and asking to have the room charge, put on your existing credit card on file would suffice for a one night extension? Especially in a casual camp like setting! Apparently not with the Colonial? The expectation is you will ask for confirmations, and extensions for your parking pass and ask to see the charge went through on your card, this is expected at the Colonial otherwise you are wrong, and accused of lying! Radek was off for the day, so the only person we had to back us up wasn't around. So as the GM put it, “it is your word against ours”! We asked if the owner was around but he was conveniently off that day too, so she said, and assured us she was the "decision maker"!

We were shocked, and upset as you would be too if you thought you had gone through proper channels to extend your stay. But our last day in Ogunquit was spent trying to prove this position to the GM, Dole, of the Colonial, the "decision maker" as she consistently reminded us, as she feigned efforts to be "solution focused" but that was only if you were willing to accept her solution! Moving us into a room with 1 king, for our family of three! (We were in a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette prior! )She did offer up a blow up mattress for our daughter after an hour and a half wait. This was after telling us she did not want "people like us" in her hotel! I can only assume she meant educated, trusting, and hibachi-less?! And she threatened to call the authorities if we didn't leave! In the meantime she kept telling me how hard this whole thing had been on her and that she too had a daughter so she wanted to find my daughter a bed only if I agreed to "cooperate". The tone here was, this is not the hotel's fault - I am trying to help you pathetic squatters out, so be nice to me or I'll send you to the streets. Again we had secured the room with who we believed to be the Manager? As you can imagine we were pretty upset about this error on the part of the front desk. There was never any acknowledgment of an oversight on THEIR part. Regardless of what we said, she blamed us for not following proper process? We realized we were not going to see eye to eye on this matter and decided to drive home (12 hours) that day! Oh and by the way the owner was there as I checked out - asking me how my day was! Clearly he is oblivious or clueless -or just plain exhausted at the end of the season? For a brief moment I thought about discussing the whole thing with him but I realized it was too late, The “decision maker”, Dole, had already given her take on the situation and his view was skewed to believe whatever she said was true. I am certain he would support his "decision maker" - it is clear she rules the roost! One glimpse of her would support this!

The Colonial.... Mediocre at it's best and perfectly happy about it.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.