We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice charming hotel !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Inn to your Saves list
The Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now at 2014 rates!
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice charming hotel !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

to start the staff , they are very sweet , always ready to help and listen , good advice for restaurent etc,

hotel as nice room spacious some of theme have nice ocean view , not close to the ocean close enough to enjoy . request 4rd floor to have an ocean view , the hotel isnt downtown ongunquit 5 minutes walk which makes it that much nicer!!! , you can either walk downtown or walk to the cove and enjoy nice restaurent , . the hotel has a bus stop right in front .

back to the hotel the lobby is really nice with a piano , and nice big porch were you can sit eat drink .

they have a nice continental breakfast with juices and coffe and everything else..... you can bring it to the room or to the porch .


so great hotel , will definetly be back ! its our little ogunquit discovery !!



ps great mattress !!! king size

Room Tip: 4th floor !! king size bed and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
A million thanks for your positive feedback! We are elated that the location of our wonderful inn suited your needs and was neither too far nor to close to festivities that the Town of Ogunquit had to offer. We are also glad that you enjoyed our wrap around porch which is one of my favorite parts about the inn. We look forward to having to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    55
    17
    0
    6
See reviews for
50
139
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently had an extended stay at the Colonial Inn, and from the first day to the last I had a five star experience. The staff at all levels made me feel right at home. They are professional, quick with a smile, and always happy to answer a question. Colonial's recent renovation has a lot of charm, more high marks. The large sunroom off the lobby, with grand piano, is full of cheery coastal colors and couldn't be more welcoming. My king room in the main building - 301 - was just as lovely and comfortable as the sunroom, and the housekeeping staff was terrific. If you are considering a stay at the Colonial Inn, go for it - you won't be sorry. I left there with good memories, and new friends! Thanks Joe, Chris, Dole, Daria, Lisa, Robert. et all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Kelly, Let me congratulate you on officially becoming a member of the Ogunquit community. I know that you will love it here. Secondly, thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with inn. I will relay your kind words to our staff here who really make the inn run as smoothly as it does. And let me end by saying that you were a grade A guest and we were pleased to be able to accommodate you during your transition to Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are returning guests and we were amazed at the renovations! The rooms are larger, more tastefully decorated and well appointed. The owner and staff were gracious and friendly. We enjoyed the continental breakfast which was delicious and filling. The views of the ocean were spectacular! All in all, a great experience!

Room Tip: Room 307 has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, Front Office Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed it. I whole heartedly agree with you about the view from 307 and in fact that is one of my favorite rooms. I hope you will have another opportunity to stay in the area soon! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Colonial Inn in Ogunquit has the perfect location. It is close to the beach, the town center and also the Marginal Way. They went under refurbishment and the hotel rooms are really nice. Big comfy beds, flat screen Tv, free internet access and a mini fridge in the room. Everything you can asked for. Of course, during the summer season the rooms are a bit expensive but it's the same in every hotels in Ogunquit. I went there went I was a kid with my family and I return this year (10 years later) and it feels like home.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main building because there is no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about our property and its location. We are pleased to be able to provide a hotel so close to the center of the wonderful Town of Ogunquit and its many amenities. The rooms with a balcony are part of the East Wing where each room have two queen size bed in comparison to rooms in the main inn which have one king size bed. If your travels bring you to Ogunquit again, we would love serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

TripAdvisor needs to remove their current pictures of the Colonial Inn, as it has been completely remodeled. Everything is brand new and tastefully decorated. The wraparound porch is a great touch. You are no less than a 10-15 minute walk from anything important in Ogunquit. Only trivial complaint is that there is no assessable ice machine. However, the friendly staff will get you ice when you request it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the Guest House suites this year and loved the ample space for the price. It was wonderful to have a bathroom with two sinks and a separate room for our kids, where they could each have their own bed. The staff exceeded our every request, especially Chris and Dore. We had stayed at the inn before the renovation and were very happy. But the update made the whole experience that much better. The complimentary breakfast had enough offerings to satisfy both the adults and the finicky kids, leaving us fueled and ready for a morning of shopping or hiking the Marginal Way before heading to the beach.
Just got home and already can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: The Guest House suites are an amazing value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself, and I will definitely be sharing your comments with our team!! I hope you will have another opportunity to stay with us soon! We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Colonial Inn in Ogunquit, ME. The Inn was family friendly as we have both a 5 and a 3 year old. The Inn has recently undergone a complete renovation and looked beautiful. The rooms were clean, the staff was great and the location to downtown shopping, Ogunquit Beach and Marginal Way was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn

Address: 145 Shore Road, P.O. Box 2456, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#16 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the grand hotels of Ogunquit, the Colonial Inn has provided shelter and genuine Maine hospitality to travelers for over 125 years. Today, having undergone a major historical renovation and with new ownership and management, the Colonial Inn steps forward to reclaim its place among top hotels in the heart of Ogunquit. Accommodations at the Colonial Inn are comprised of 62 rooms spread throughout four different buildings, offering a variety of room configurations which can suit guests’ preferences or requirements, whether a single traveler, couple, family or group. The hotel’s Main Inn has been reconfigured and enhanced by taking the previous count of 44 rooms down to 28 rooms, several with water views. The end result is bigger guest rooms that afford a first-class experience with more of the comforts of home. Most rooms in the hotel – and every room in the Main Inn itself – boast a king bed and a coffee maker, all with new furnishings and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Inn Ogunquit
Colonial Ogunquit
The Colonial Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.