We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we chose this one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace by the Sea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace by the Sea
Save
You added Terrace by the Sea to your Saves list
23 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So glad we chose this one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and stayed here this past weekend along with family and friends for a wedding nearby...not one of us was disappointed with the choice to stay here! Our experience went very well from the initial phone call for info and reservations (the woman was very helpful and accommodating) to the smooth check out. We requested a basic room for the night and was expecting just that; however, although Room 100 was one of the smallest rooms, it was a charming little room and had a partial ocean view where we got to enjoy a beautiful sunrise from the window by our bed the next morning (we sure were not expecting that with the very reasonable cost of the room!). The only small complaints we have was there was no cream for the coffee set up available in each of the rooms or lobby/dining areas if guests wanted to have a cup of coffee (even in the early morning before breakfast was available), and it took a while for the water to be hot for the shower, but once it heated up, there was plenty! The room was clean, quiet, every room has a small refrig and basic amenities, and breakfast was also included (really nice expanded Continental breakfast served in their lovely dining areas that face the ocean...although it was November, the sunshine over the ocean drew many guests out to the porch tables and lawn chairs to eat outside). This place connects easily to the ocean walkway and is very short walk to all the shops downtown. GREAT location, staff are all very friendly, breakfast was nice, and the views are gorgeous!

Room Tip: Depending on what you are looking for, this place has several options. Some of our family stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    52
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
43
93
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October of 2012. LOVED IT! Had an oceanview room, ate on the outside veranda even though it was cold because the view was so wonderful, sat on the front
lawn and watched the sun rise, saw a seal swimming past in the tide pool. Short walk to the Marginal Way and in the heart of downtown. Great place!
The only thing I didn't like is that they advertise AAA but there were only 2 rooms that qualified for the AAA discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great place, and right by the sea. The accommodation was lovely, and the rooms nice and clean, with great amenities. we had a unit with a kitchenette, which was awesome. The only downside was that we waited quite a while to check in as the poor lady at reception was trying to do everything....deal with guests, check us in, answer the phone, and anything else that came her way. She did a great job. This hotel is really accessible to the town, and a great walk to restaurants and shops...the quaint shops are great. We had an awesome time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iuka, IL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights here on a long vacation touring the New England area. This place is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was just the right size for all of us, clean and very comfortable. I cannot say enough about this place. The continental breakfast was very good and the tables are located where you have a beautiful view of the ocean. You don't have to drive anywhere, almost everything you need is within walking distance, shopping, beaches and restaurants. It is right next to the Marginal Way. You do not want to miss the view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee,Ma.
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great service, clean, beautiful views, nice accommodations, and including heated outdoor pool, beautiful continental breakfast with a view of the ocean, and manicured lawns. There are so many room options to choose from, we usually stay in room 231 in the side motel, which is perfect for us, updated with flat screen tv, and small refrigerator, love the makeup mirror in the bathroom. Also free wi-fi. If the room is not ready when you arrive, just park the car and go shopping, everything in walking distance. I don't want to forget housekeeping, they do such a great job. There are so many pluses to mention I can't think of all of them. I guess you'll have to find out for yourself. Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was the perfect location for our girls' weekend this summer. You can't beat the location - we parked the car when we arrived and didn't move it til we left. Walk right to the beach, shops, restaurants, etc. Rooms were big and set up to accomodate several people, with a full bathroom, AND a separate vanity area outside of it. There were four of us and we didn't feel cramped at all. This is going to be a new annual trip for us, and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than here. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft rooms, I can't remember the room number! They have 2 queen beds on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I just came back from four nights in Ogunquit where I stayed at Terrace by the Sea. I was a lone traveller so I stayed in room 100 - it is a smaller room right next to the lobby in the main Inn. It was perfect. Small but perfect for me, very clean (and housekeeping came every day to leave it spotless again), and though I was told it didnt have an ocean view, there is!! A partial one but nonetheless! The morning breakfast on the porch was the best way to start my days - good selection of fresh fruit and breads, yogurt, coffee and juice, and the view right on the ocean, just perfect! In the late afternoon before heading out for dinner, it was great to be able to have a drink on one of the patio chairs on the beautiful manicured lawn looking at the ocean. The location of the place could not be better...A walk to so many restaurants, shops, even Perkins Cove, and the beach is literally three minutes away. I didnt use the pool much (just once when the beach got extremely windy) but it was clean. I have been going to Ogunquit for over 30 years but this was first time staying directly on the coean...well, needless to say, I can never do it any other way from now on!! The only tiny little thing, and this is restricted to my specific room (100) is that in the morning you do hear the "clings" from the plates and cutlery form the staff setting the breakfast, but honestly, it wasnt that loud, and I had brought some ear plugs so it was an easy fix ;) I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Room 100 is a good room for solo travellers or couples who travel lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace by the Sea

Address: 23 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#19 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a walk away from Ogunquit's beautiful beach, fine dining and shopping, the Terrace By The Sea is a perfect location to fully enjoy the heart of Ogunquit and what our town has to offer. Three buildings offering gorgeous oceanfront rooms, an extended continental breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet, heated pool, and much more. Come enjoy oceanfront accommodations from our point of view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
Terrace By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.