We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fudge Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Cove Cafe

Rose Cove Cafe
221 Main St, PO Box 442, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207-641-2494
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 80 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Fudge Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great cafe but go for the fudge! Best chocolate peanut butter fudge you will ever have! You can even have lunch but don't miss the fudge!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    8
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food..... friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The fish and chips and chowder are some of the best on the beach. Prices are some of the most reasonable, too. The proportions are huge..... I couldn't come close to finishing my meal. The young people working here were cheerful, efficient and wonderfully entertaining (i know, they weren't being paid to entertain). I learned much about what was happening on the local young scene from their banter. Laura, the owner, is teaching these young folks well. The fudge is sinful! I haven't tried the lobstah roll yet....but I will.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot to Eat and Peoplewatch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stop in here several times each year and it never disappoints. You can sit outside on the terrace that is covered by beautiful flowering vines, or inside where the room is full of wonderful family photos. Nice music is always playing both inside and out. Laura, the owner, always has a smile on her face, and when she's not cooking your meal, finds the time to offer fresh fudge to her guests. We love the haddock dinner and have it with a fresh garden salad instead of the fries. The lobster rolls are also excellent. We used to stop at Fancy That to take sandwiches to the beach, but since Fancy That is no longer, we found it hard to get somewhat healthy and balanced food to take to the beach. This year we started a new tradition and stopped in at Rose Cove each beach day. We got a wonderful broccoli salad as well as freshly prepared sandwiches served on a home made bun with garden ripe tomatoes.

I highly recommend this place. The food is excellent and everyone who works there is super friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This cove is a perfect rose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've patroned a few times, with a mixture of company (wife, family & friends). I've always had a outstanding meal and the same has been true for the others with me. The owner is always very pleasant, many times she is greeting customers with her homade fudge. I've always appreciated that she is engaged with her patrons. She'll walkaround check on you, deliver your order, clean tables or your plates away. She never makes you feel rushed as in she wants to turn the table.

Her staff is always pleasant, greeting you with big smiles.

Haddock sandwich is my favorite. It's a lot to eat even for dinner. The role is baked fresh on premis, you can get it set up anyway you want, just ask the truley aim to please. I usually get the sauteed vegitables (when available) instead of the fries.

Hamburger is a must have. Many go to Willies, but Rose cove has the best burger in town.

Desert is a mix of options, something home made, fudge, or the ice cream sunday bar


They have indoor and outdoor seating. Plus at night off to the right there is a firepitt with a bunch of Adirondack chairs you can hang around sitting enjoying the fire.

Tips - They dont have a liquor license so you can bring you own wine, beer, etc. Ask for wine glasses

They have

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice way to close out the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've been going to Rose Cove for several years. We have friends who's daughter LOVES your lobster rolls!! I always enjoy your haddock sandwich. Your staff is friendly and efficient. And sitting outside watching the center of town isn't a bad thing either!! See you next summer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cove Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rose Cove Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Cove Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.