We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, cute motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Footbridge Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Footbridge Beach Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Footbridge Beach Motel
668 Main Street and Ocean Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice, cute motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our first time staying at this motel, it is a little far to walk to town, but the shuttle is handy. The room was large, the AC worked, there was plenty of hot water, there was a small frig and microwave, overall it was a pleasant stay. The room was very clean, there were chairs on the porch and coffee in the morning. All in all, it is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Footbridge has an advantage: location. A short (5-10 min) walk to the lovely sandy beach. An immaculate seaside motel, great for families. There is a BBQ and picnic tables, a microwave and mini fridge in the room, a great pool if you find the ocean too cold (Maine water temps are always cold). The owners did all they could to make our stay pleasant. The motel was filled to capacity during our visit; the room next door held three lively children--yet we never heard a peep and slept well. It's an old fashioned motel: you won't find luxury bedding or a spa! Lovely, colorful flowers planted all around, and basic plastic chairs to sit out on the balconies. It's hard to keep up a place this close to the water; salt is corrosive and Maine winters are harsh, but this motel is a gem. Relaxing and friendly, a happy place. Downsides: read the refund policy carefully, know the hot shower is great but the Bathfitter tub won't allow a long soak. Minor issues for such a good travel experience.

Room Tip: Ogunquit in high season is jam packed. Take the trolley around town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed here twice and both times it was great. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and it's a short walk to Footbridge Beach (you don't have to pay $20 to park). The rooms are clean and the AC's work well. They also have a few rooms that allow pets so we were able to save money by bringing the dog. The Beachfire Grille right next door is great as well. I would definitely recommend this place and will likely spend more Ogunquit vacations here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Footbridge. We have been going to Ogunquit for 5 years with a group of families. This year we switched our place and stayed at the Footbridge!! We were so happily surprised at how nice and big the rooms were! The entire place was SO clean from rooms to pool and eating area! We were all happy to have two grills to cookout on and a great pool for the kids!!! The owners were so friendly and helpful! The beach was at the end of the street and our kids spent hours crabbing, swimming and enjoying the bridge!! We all loved the bars and shops next door and the cute Trolleys that picked you up outside and brought us all around Ogunquit and Perkins Cove!!!! We are SO happy we ended up at the FOOTBRIDGE!!!!! Can't wait for next year!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in late August, with our dog, and we really enjoyed ourselves. The location is fantastic, just 4 blocks through a quiet residential neighborhood from the Ogunquit River and the Footbridge Beach. We walked along the beach into Ogunquit several times (about a mile). There's a trolley stop right across the street if you want to trolley into town ($1.50 per adult) and leave the car behind. Angelina's restaurant, across the street, is fantastic for upscale Italian dining, and it's open year-round, and Pizza Napoli (across the street) and Beachfire (next door) are good for more casual dining. The staff was very accommodating of housekeeping around our schedule. The room (King) was large enough for us and our dog's crate, with a fridge, microwave, room A/C, and cross ventilation from windows on front and back sides. The only downside for us was the poor wireless connection, but that might be a town problem and not the motel's issue, since we connected to their wireless with no problem; it was the speed of uploading and downloading beyond that that was like molasses, unless I was working at 11:30 pm or later. Someone from the office tried to help but to no avail (his iPad connected fine, apparently). It would also have been nice if hot water for tea were available in the mornings (when coffee is). All in all, we thought this was a good value for the money, with the great beach/restaurant/trolley location, their cheerful and relaxed accommodation of dogs (and allowing dogs to stay in their rooms alone, if they don't bark or otherwise upset other guests), friendly and obliging housekeeping staff, and the ample room size.

Room Tip: Dogs are all housed on the first floor, so it's important to let them know if you have a dog whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've been in late July 2012 to this place. I booked it as the last minute (1 day before check in) and was pleasantly surprised by how nice this place was.

The rooms are really clean, and the location is just perfect. Walking distance from the beach, few minutes from perkins cove with the car, we found this place really nice and we would return. The look of the rooms is a little bit outdated but don't expect a 5 star hotel when you pay 70-140$ per night.

Overall, we were pleased and happy about our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetjd, Owner at Footbridge Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for this review. We do our best to keep the rooms as clean as possible. We would love to renovate our entire motel, but, of course, it is something that needs to be done a bit at a time. We have re-done about half of the bathrooms and completely renovated 2 units. We are planning on doing new mattresses next year, which will probably eat up our entire budget, but we are doing the best we can and I am glad people appreciate the hard work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

There is quiet hours from 10pm to 8 pm. Never heard of that ever and they are across the street from a bar that has music. Also they said they had vending machine with candy and snacks they did not. The beach is more like15 minute walk to get to the bridge Not worth the money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetjd, Owner at Footbridge Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
This customer was here with family for a family reunion. We are happy to have our customers have a good time, but, you must always be courteous to other guests that have come to relax and enjoy themselves also. They were extremely loud, prompting a very nice repeat customer in a room beside them to complain directly to them (for the second night in a row). When they didn't make any effort to quiet down, the guest then complained to us and we asked them to please be quiet at 11:30 at night. They had 8 people, including small children, up in front of one room, drinking and being disrespectful. They are not welcome to come back to our motel. We always make every effort to keep everyone happy, but, of course, it is not always possible with guests like these.
"Quiet Hours" refer to the hours of the front desk, not the motel. We live here on the property and are here to help our guests. We also need our sleep and put this sign on our door to deter non-guests from disturbing us late at night. We are always here if a guest needs us at night.
It takes me exactly 7 minutes to walk to the beach with all of my beach stuff, while towing a 3 year old in a wagon (I've timed it)
We have a soda machine, we do not have a vending machine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Footbridge Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footbridge Beach Motel

Address: 668 Main Street and Ocean Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the famed Footbridge Beach, the Footbridge Beach Motel offers well appointed accommodations in the town of Ogunquit, Maine. Nestled in the midst of beautifully maintained grounds and gardens, the motel features a heated outdoor pool and sun deck as well as an outdoor picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to relax and enjoy the company of your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Footbridge Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footbridge Beach Hotel Ogunquit
Footbridge Beach Ogunquit
Footbridge Beach Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Footbridge Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.