We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel near the Sea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Shutters

Blue Shutters
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Shutters to your Saves list
Blue Shutters
36 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Jewel near the Sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

The service was excellent and we felt like we were home away from home.. Delicious breakfasts and quaint rooms that make you want to turn off the TV and listen to the ocean which is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Shutters Inn a week ago and we really had a nice time. The location was perfect, on the marginal way close to the beach and the Cove. The owners were accomadating and very very busy but still gave us a moment to say "good Morning how is your stay" and that meant alot to us. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. And the Coffee....unbelievably great.
But while we were their a funny thing happened, durring breakfast we over heard two couples talking in the dining room and they said "wouldn't be funny to give 20 different Inns in Ogunquit real bad reviews on Trip Advisor , just for the fun of it" I could't believe my ears, JUST FOR THE FUN OF IT. Why would four grown adults purposely try to inflict suffering on someone elses way of life?
These Innkeepers and all the others work all year so that visitors like us can relax and vacation. Don't make fun at someone elses expence. This is all they have!!
My husband and I will defintally go back to the Blue Shutters and definitally visit Ogunquit Maine again.
Too bad there isn't a place on the internet to write reviews about people we heard talking bad about other people .

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Shutters for two nights in august. Our room (downstairs blue) was a good size with a private entrance. We had a four poster bed and fireplace, along with two couch's. The decor was ok if you like a some what antique country style. We could not see the ocean from our room. But you could walk a few minutes down a path to marginal way. Now I'll list the many con's.

* our bed had no box spring (we had very sore backs in the morning)
* breakfast was not very good.
* not a quiet place the walls were paper thin, you could here the staff in the kitchen around 6:30/7:00 in the morning loud and clear.
* The innkeepers were nice, but not very friendly or welcoming
* According to the web site they offer dinner, we discovered they no longer do.
* The dinning room was very small and had no attention to detail.
* The inn had only one very small common room
* There is virtualy no yard with poor landscaping
* Our room could use some repairs such as new ceiling, fix the slanted hard wood floor new paint
* worst of all the bathroom was a nightmare the gross, old torn linoleum was nailed down in places. There was horrible old wall paper. poor lighting, an aweful old home made wooden sink vanity and mirror medicine cabinet from 1970 and an old tile tub.

We would not recommend it for $165 a night.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner Manager at Blue Shutters, responded to this review, June 4, 2006
As for the 2 guests who stayed in August 2005, we wish you told us that you were
unhappy, we would of been able to help you if you only said something. You never mentioned to us at any time durring your stay any of your concerns . When ever someone has a question or a concern we address it right away. We are happy to help! And as for the readers my wife was 8 and half months pegnant in August 2005 and we had to stop serving dinner for a while. We are the only two that prepares, cooks, and serves all the dinners, for all the guests. It takes alot of hard work to care for 26-35 people everyday but we enjoy it. We thank everyone for staying at our Inn and we also thank everyone for all your thoughts and prayers for our baby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

Not only was the breakfast horrible but it was advertised as "A full buffet breakfast." The owners basically tried to be kind although when it came down to doing us favors you could tell they were not the type that they tried to be. As for the rooms you can finely delineate a true B&B from a phony one. This is not a true B&B. The quality of service and attentiveness is outrageously low class and not what you'd expect for the price you pay. Will not return.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

There are alot of B&B's in this little town but we have to say we loved, loved, loved the Blue Shutters Inn.We were so lucky that we discovered it. Everything was just perfect. The rooms were clean. The location was peaceful,it was off of the main drag and on the marginal way++++!.We had a beautiful view of the Ocean from the breakfast room and our room. The breakfast was excelent. My husband and I tell all our friends about our trip to Ogunquit, Maine. We had the best time.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

This little B&B is conveniently located by the beach in Ogunquit. There are a few restaurants close by and other things to do. The owners of this B&B are nice people and it's obvious they enjoy what they're doing - very friendly and accomodating.

One piece of advice though, during the high traffic months, if you intend on going out to town for dinner, BE SURE to call in your reservations early! We did go to dinner that evening at a local restaurant that was referred but the wait (believe it or not) was close to 2 hours!

The breakfast at the Inn was very nice. Eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, juice and coffee in a thermos. Again, the owers and service was quite attentive.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2004

We recently visited the Blue Shutters and were somewhat dissapointed. Although the location is pretty good, the room leaves a lot to be desired. The decor was very old school and the bathroom hadn't been updated since the 70's. The air conditioner was also very loud. The breakfast was not very good. It was basically cereal and toast. Not what I was hoping for. The owners are pleasant enough but not what I would call friendly. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Shutters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters

Address: 36 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Shutters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Shutters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.