We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Chambers Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Chambers Motel
Save
You added Sea Chambers Motel to your Saves list
67 Shore Road, PO Box 916, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Sea Chambers and loved it.. Nice room with Ocean view fridge etc..Hubby and I had not been to Ogunquit for 40 yrs so as we were in Boston... had to go back. Glad we stayed here.. The customer service is fab.. Thanks Carol for all your help and Tom for going out of his way(Literally) to help us out one day.. Great staff..Nice breakfast is included too...Would recommend this place for sure.

Room Tip: @nd floor view of ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    54
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Second Creek, WV
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here last year for the first time - wonderful location, clean room with great view of ocean - but to me, what makes this above-and-beyond is the dining package, with dinners at Clay Hill Farm. The motel itself is well worth a visit - close to shops/walking in Ogunquit or just sitting on the porch watching the tide - but add in a dinner at Clay Hill and this place is a BARGAIN! We're going back this year! Breakfast was included - plentiful, somewhat high on carbs, but good. Didn't use swimming pool (too cold) but loved our walks on the beach. Fast service when we needed something. There's even a computer terminal and free calling.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs floor - better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have literally been coming to the Sea Chambers since I was a baby and won't stay anywhere else when we are in Ogunquit. The two things I like the most about the Sea Chambers are its location -- you can walk to everything in Ogunquit and Perkins Cove -- and how clean it is. I am a clean-a-phobic and my biggest pet peeve about hotels is feeling dirty. Sea Chambers is super clean and the rooms are very cozy. It's not ultra luxe, but everything about the hotel is welcoming. Plus, every year in the off season the owners upgrade something.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Watch the light change, the tide come and go. Sea Chambers is not a "get-away", but if you are looking for easy walking access to beach and all the fun things that a bustling little vacation town has to offer, I highly recommend. A lot of traffic backs up on streets so walking is essential for a more relaxing visit and the Jolly Trolley stops right there.

The staff is lovely and very accommodating. We stayed in room 22, upper floor in the back, darkish corner. (But we didn't mind, perfect for napping). It seems Grandma was the interior design director and I LOVED these homey, old school touches (some people call this aesthetic "dated") - a super comfy king-size bed was covered with a sparkling clean white textured chenille bedspread, Colonial-style dressers, and little hand-painted landscapes bedeck the floral wall paper. A "shell" light on top of the bureau. The drinking glasses were well, GLASS, and wrapped in Sanitized Paper covers and there was a "sanitized" paper strip over the toilet bowl. Wow, I had not seen this little touch in years. The room is equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay: fridge, micro, ice bucket, iron and board, good bright lighting, bedside tables, and reading lights, a sitting area, TV, air-co, screened doors/windows that OPEN, super clean tiled bathroom, tub/shower, and little floral scented "Jergens" soap bars.

I have to give Minus points for the stinky Pesticide Application on the grassy area near the water (they must have some reason for this, given the area's concern for protecting the bay eco-system). Hope it did not affect the 5 baby swallows that hatched in a nest tucked under the porch. Amazing!

We appreciated the free wifi, lemon water and ice tea in the gathering room. Continental Breakfast in the Sea Bell Gallery next door is adorable - they serve breads, cereals, yogurt, whole fruits (not fruit salad). Nuthin' fancy, but serviceable. BYO Blueberries!

I would def. go back. thanks Sea Chambers!

Room Tip: 22 is upstairs, off the main corridor in the back, nice and quiet, but provides no place to sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we liked it here - not to say it was perfect --- any place in a shore town is going to get beaten up alot --- this didn't show it that badly and we noticed lots of folks working hard to keep it looking good --- but unfortunately the construction of the motel lends it self to its most pressing problem --(noise) -- on the lower level, the ceiling is the second floors walkway -- so most of the night you hear people walking around -- walls are also fairly thin so you'll hear neighbors .... it's probably not a problem since it abates by ten or eleven and most clients were not rowdy -- but if you have real little ones with an early bed time, it can be a cause for concern ... but in that case you'd probably want the top floor (so you're the one making the noise) -- easy beach access is nice , pool is not really child friendly, mold on shower should be cleaned, grounds were very pretty, friendly help, a free breakfast --- so a mixed bag altogether - the price is reasonable for ogunquit although in my opinion ogunquit is over-priced, but if this is where you're going anyhow, this is not a bad choice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Chambers for three nights in July, and we really enjoyed it! The location is amazing - close to town, the beach and Marginal Way. We had a room on the upper floor with a wonderful view of the ocean. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine or two and taking in the view. The room was a bit dated, but spacious enough, and very comfortable and clean. The owners take pride in making the guests comfortable. Breakfast at the Sea Bell was delightful - cereals, bagels, English muffins, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit, jams, etc. All in all a great stay at the Sea Chambers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the upper level standard deluxe, room 21. The room is very modern--it's one of many that were recently renovated. The main room is spacious, holding a sleeper sofa, 2 stuffed arm chairs, a large coffee table, double and a queen bed, one of 2 bureaus, and a 60 inch flat screen TV. Past the main room, you walk into an alcove housing a deal, a secondary sink, microwave, and 2 cubic ft fridge. The second dresser is in this area, and the newly remodeled bathroom is adjacent, with a shower-bath, and also includes a sink. The bath and the alcove each have a high opening window, if you want to turn off the AC. The main room has a large sunrise-facing picture window, sided with 2 opening windows. The door has a new, heavy duty storm-and-screen door. The solid interior door includes a bolt-lock and knob lock. Everything about the place was wonderful. Two of our party require canes, but the second floor stairs was worth the view, and relative privacy.
In spite of our restricted mobility, we walked to the end of our very quaint street (Shore Drive), past many shops, B and Bs, and restaurants, down to Main St--Rt 1, which is more of the same.
There also is a trolley that stops right by the Sea Chambers, which runs until 11:00 p.m., which is when the shops start closing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Chambers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Chambers Motel

Address: 67 Shore Road, PO Box 916, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Sea Chambers Hotel Ogunquit
Sea Chambers Ogunquit
Sea Chambers Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Chambers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.