We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in the heart of Ogunquit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotch Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scotch Hill Inn
287 Main Street, PO Box 87, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A true gem in the heart of Ogunquit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I just had the most wonderful experience at the Scotch Hill Inn. The inn is now owned by Anthony who was a fantastic host! He accommodated our every need and was very helpful with recommendations for local restaurants and where to find things. Anthony has lived in Ogunquit for many years and really knows the ins and outs of the town. And of course it doesn't hurt that he is a gourmet chef. The breakfasts were UNBELIEVABLE! The first morning was an amazing frittata with asparagus and potatoes and artisanal cheese along with a waffle with blueberry compote. The second was creamy polenta with grilled vegetables and eggs and a side of banana pancakes. Heaven! It was great getting to know Anthony and the inn itself was very comfy yet elegant without being over the top. Also, the inn is a short walk to downtown and the wonderful Front Porch. It was a great experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
109
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I needed a quiet night away from the demolition happening at home, some place close but not too close. Reviewed a lot of places but setteled on the Scotch Hill Inn because it promised a gourmet breakfast. The Inn was with in walking distance of downtown which was really nice. Met Mike and Michael they were super nice. We stayed in the red room with the HUGE king-sized bed...needed a step stool to get on it. So much fun. Breakfast was- as promised-truly gourmet and filling.
Michael suggested a little cafe, off the beaten path about six miles away (not a tourist restaurant), the portions were big and the price so reasonabe but best of all it was delish! Thanks Michael. Overall the stay was more than peaceful and just what we needed.
Thanks Mike and Mike- you guys are the best!

Kerry and Darren

Room Tip: The red room was AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A friend and I stayed in The Scotch Hill Inn during last week of Sept this year on a New England trip. Found Ogunquit while looking for places to stay near Portland. What a find!!! Michael and Mike couldn't have been more accomadating. Our room was comfortable. Breakfast was phenomenal. We had fruit/yogurt granola with boths breakfast. This was followed by a personal Frittata which was delicious and not small in size!!! The second morning our fruit course was followed by choice of blueberry pancakes or eggs over polenta. I tried both!!! They had coffee available all day as well as some brownies which I ate too many of. Location is perfect. Very quick walk to downtown area and beach. Ogunquit was a very quaint town with beautiful scenery, much more fun stay than in middle of Portland. Also very easy trip to Kennebunkport. I would highly reccommend Scotch Hill Inn and would stay again in a heartbeat. Thanks Michael and Mike!!!

Room Tip: oops...no swimming pool, accidently checked that!!! Beach is a stones throw away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I spent two pleasant nights of Scotch Hill (November 9 and 10) and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The Inn had a greta location for a weekend getaway. We arrived late from Nova Scotia (9:30pm) and Mike #1 helped us find a place for dinner. Our room was excellent ... clean, tasteful, comfortable bed and clean bathroom. All was well appointed.

Breakfast was excellent each morning ... wonderful food and lots of it. We would recommend this Inn to others, including friends (lol).

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I had our annual two night getaway, and had a pleasant stay at Scotch Hill. Mike (#1) was very accommodating, friendly and helped us to book dinner.
The room was clean and comfortable as was the bed.
Breakfast was fantastic! First morning: Eggs Benni and pumpkin pancakes. Second morning: a super-sized frittata and raspberry waffles. We came off season so had the place to ourselves on the second night.
I would definitely return, great job.

Room Tip: We stayed up top in #5, nice view of the tree tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed over the Nov 2nd weekend. No crowds, love this time of year on the Maine coast. Michael & Michael, the owners, are great and go above and beyond to make your stay very comfortable. The rooms are newly updated and very clean. The morning breakfast is excellent and every Sunday morning they have eggs benedict which was great. Within walking distance of town and the beach and ample parking. Nothing bad to say at all about this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Scotch Hill Inn was our first American B&B and set the scene for a great holiday. Michael was a very pleasant host and very informative on the local area and restaurants. Tea and Coffee was available all the time and fresh cookies in the afternoon. Bedroomand bathroom were clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scotch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch Hill Inn

Address: 287 Main Street, PO Box 87, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Ogunquit, Maine stands the Scotch Hill Inn Bed and Breakfast. One of the oldest in Ogunquit, the hotel was established in 1908 by the original owners, the Perkins family. The Scotch Hill Inn offers unparalleled accommodations and amenities and is just a five minute walk from Maine's pristine beaches. The Scotch Hill inn is also just minutes away from Ogunquit's world famous Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Shopping in Kittery, Maine and a variety of restaurants from fine dining to local cafes and pubs are nearby. We Serve a three course gourmet breakfast daily on our porch. Please come by and visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scotch Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotch Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scotch Hill Inn to your Saves list