We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER THAN MOST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Catch

Captains Catch
414 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207-646-8008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 81 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Wells, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BETTER THAN MOST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This seasonal restaurant is always good and always quite busy. It is worth the wait and you will not be disappointed . Can be a tad pricey but again as usual you get what you pay for so do not pass it by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice people, decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I ordered a clam belly roll and my husband got the lobster roll. Both were nothing special, but it made a good enough lunch. The rolls tasted cheap and I think that was the biggest problem. The service was friendly and quick and the seafood tasted very fresh. I would give this place another shot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found Captain’s Catch as we wound our way south from Portland to Boston, and what a find! The menu offers a nice blend of traditional and innovative dishes, and our family enjoyed haddock fish tacos, fish & chips, and the double hot dog special. The haddock fish tacos had a wonderful flavor, the fish & chips were perfectly prepared, and the hot dogs were crisp and flavorful. After spending so much in touristy restaurants along the coast, Captain’s Catch was a nice change of pace.

Dining is at picnic tables under umbrellas along the highway. Service was prompt, and the price was reasonable. We very much recommend Captain’s Catch for a true taste of the Maine coast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I feel we were I we hatred for this meal. The sign said the prices, but our bill was much higher. The food was good, but the rest of the experience was disappointing. Service was poor. My son ordered a cob Of corn with his meal, and didn't receive it. They wouldn't give us one. Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly faces and tasty lobster rolls at Captains Catch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a small place that is mainly takeout since it is really small inside, but they have picnic tables with umbrellas outside if you want to dine al fresco. The people who run it are very friendly and we actually stopped on our way back from Maine because I needed that last lobster roll, and I was not disappointed. It was packed with tender lobster and in a warm, toasted roll that also came with fries. The fries were crispy and nicely seasoned. Quality! We had actually stopped at 11:15 AM and he said that he was not open yet, but if I gave him 10 minutes to heat up the grill he would make my lobster roll. That was so nice! Would definitely stop again and pull up a table the next time we are in Ogunquit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Catch also viewed

 

Been to Captains Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Catch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.