We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice home cooking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bessie's

Bessie's
8 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207-646-0888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 81 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice home cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We've been eating a lot of seafood and too much fancy stuff on our Maine vacation. I just needed a nice normal meal. Bessie's was just the ticket. I had a delicious turkey club sandwich and it was perfect! Love their own baked turkey. The place was empty on a cold midweek night, and that doesn't seem right!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    82
    40
    38
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were looking for a lunch place and ended up at Bessie's. We had very delicious hamburgers with sauted veggies. My sister had salmon and loved it. The waitress was very helpful and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
1 review
“DISGUSTING! STAY AWAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

DISGUSTING! STAY AWAY! 3 out of 4 meals were burned beyond recognition, and the 4th was made incorrectly. The waitress served us the wrong drinks, and gave us attitude the entire time as if she really didn't want us there. Ogunquit is filled with great restaurants; this is clearly not one of them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like being in my own house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I LOVE this place. As a single business man who travels alot I found this place and fell in love with it. The food is outstanding (breakfast of champions) the service is equal to the food and the location and atmosphere are equally as great. They do not take short cuts with the food prep. There is no deep frying bacon or homefries like other places they do the work and it shows. Home made deserts WOW. the only thing missing is my grandmother. Ias long as they continue to do things the same way I will continue to make them one of my favorite places.

A must visit for any reason.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, ME
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A very nice breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had an excellent breakfast there. It's an old-style café, nice booths. The staff is very friendly. No rush, lots of coffee refills. I'd recommend it highly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bessie's also viewed

 

Been to Bessie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bessie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.