We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to See the Changes!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Front Porch Restaurant

Front Porch Restaurant
9 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3707
207-646-4005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 81 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sorry to See the Changes!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is still called the Front Porch but gone are the porch chairs, lattice work and even the mural which defined the place for the last 40 years is virtually gone...relegated to a lowly place in the stairwell only to be seen when one is exiting the premises. Apparently there are new owners. Now it looks like every other touristy establishment in Ogunquit. The hostess took our name and put it on a list at the door and sent us up to the bar to wait for a table. After about 45 minutes I checked up on the list with the hostess...and got a look at the list....and it was clear from the plethora of (subsequent) cross-outs that she had given away our table long ago ... and apparently wasn't in any hurry to call us from the bar. They are busy... which is understandable in a popular establishment...but she really should have called us. That kind of negated any off the positive aspects of the experience for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    147
    34
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit, Maine, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The perfect New Year's Eve 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This establishment lives up to it's reputation for excellent service, food/drink and atmosphere in any season. This New Year's with our family did not disappoint.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, ME
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great place for New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went with a group of 7, with no pre-planning. Called them about 5:30 pm, and while they were very full, they accommodated our group (as long as we came early). Drinks and food were all very good, staff was wonderful. Sat close to the piano bar and listened to some great music - and lots of people singing. Never any rush. We've eaten there before, and if anything, the food has improved (although it's always been quite good). The upstairs can be fairly loud, so be prepared for that. Downstairs isn't quite so loud. Always a very festive atmosphere. A fun place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Food was good, but a little pricey, but the Piano Bar was fun, ambitious and made the night very enjoyable. Go and have a great time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant..great atmosphere and the food is delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were in Ogunquit in late Oct. 2013 and went to the Front Porch Restaurant for dinner our first night in town. The restaurant was highly recommended by our innkeeper. We were surprised at how beautifully decorated the restaurant was. The entire place sparkled with white twinkle lights, they were everywhere. They had the most beautiful and unique indoor "tree of lights" I have ever seen that stretched across the ceiling and over tables, giving the feeling that you were eating outdoors on someone's front porch. Although the restaurant was crowded, we were promptly seated and service was great. It was getting late so we opted for lighter fare, salads and sandwiches, the presentation was great and both the salad and the sandwich were unique and truly delicious. The restaurant was offering an off-peak special, 5 entrees (full dinners) for only $9.99..WOW! What a deal! The entrees all sounded delicious, had it not been getting late, we most definitely would have ordered one of those. The Front porch also has a piano bar that everyone raves about, unfortunately we didn't make it back for that. When in town, this is a restaurant not to be missed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Porch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Front Porch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Porch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.