We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner With Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Billy's

Barnacle Billy's
50 Oar Weed Road, Perkins Cove, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207 646 5575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 80 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Newbury, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dinner With Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

As a large group we had a good time here, I enjoyed my steak as the other members of the group also enjoyed their food. Not a quick place to eat, don't come in rushed it is not super quick but that is not a complaint. A beautiful view as well and service was nice. Does not accept reservations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    206
    155
    72
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High prices for less than impressive New England Fare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have been in New England all my life. The idea of lobster and steamers has become more of the norm. However, when our group took a day off to enjoy the sunshine and take in the sights we chose to eat at Barnacle Billy's (full service) side because we were looking to relax for lunch and it had a .5 star over the others in the area. Do not be fooled-this .5 star is not warranted. I had full intention of paying a bit more for waterside seating and service. Our waitress was fine, not overly friendly-but this I can deal with. However, we all ordered drinks and they were served in plastic cups. Now I know- I might sound like a snob here. However, When I pay $15 for a Bloody Mary, I do have certain expectations and a glass and some garnish are part of this. We noticed a couple other people had glasses-so not quite sure why we all got the plastic cups. My daughter ordered the punch-no garnish and came in the same small plastic cup with 75% ice and it was not as delish as they advise. The single shrimp on my glass was not fresh-previously frozen and trust me, there is a big difference. It was tasteless. We looked at the menu once we got the drinks and were appalled at what they are charging.The menu online is not quite what we saw. $16 for a Tuna Salad or $32 for Lobster salad plate is outrageous! This was inline with the other items. People next to us were very disappointed in their meals $20 salmon plate and $30 single lobster dinner-so we opted to close the bill and move on. I do understand the cost of running a business and fine with paying for quality when I eat out. We expected to pay a little more-but this is just wrong. However, another restaurant right down the way (same water view) was about $11 for a salad with grilled salmon on it and serving drinks in glasses. We did not make it to the food at this restaurant, but it looked like typical fare and other patrons were disappointed. Maybe an off day? However, if you are going to charge a premium-this is what you should serve and what patrons should expect. Being from New England, I know what to expect for seafood and this this very overpriced without the service you should expect. The atmosphere is ok-but you can go to anther in the cove and get full service at a price that is a bit more acceptable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worst lobster roll in Maine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had a lobster roll, and went back to tell them that it did have only one piece of lobster in the roll and they did not care at all. I make sure I tell everybody I know about that lobster oll I will never go back there and don't recommend that place at all. there are many other great restaurant in Ogunquit. Please don't spend your money there, it is not worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Bily's has the best lobster - must be the water and how to cook it to perfection. Sit outside if you can.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific View and Food to Match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

On our final day in Qgunquit and we decided to have dinner at Barnacle Billy's. We were seated immediately and our waitress was very prompt and attentive. We were seated on the elevated section of the first floor overlooking the Cove which made the view for dinner beautiful. As a non-seafood eater my wife had a steak which was cooked to her specifications and was very tender. I ordered the swordfish which was tender and flavorful. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and never felt rushed. The cost reasonable for the area and the food and service level justified it. We will be back again next year.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle Billy's also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle Billy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Billy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.