We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Billy's

Barnacle Billy's
50 Oar Weed Road, Perkins Cove, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207 646 5575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 80 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Laval
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ordinary.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We usually go there once when we're in Ogunquit for the atmosphere. Nothing special anymore about the food but the view is great. First-timers are always impressed but you get used to it. Service was very friendly. Yes there are cheaper places just like about any other tourist area. If you're counting pennies and travelling with kids, this might not be the place for you but all things being equal, we like this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    206
    155
    72
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A New Definition for Lobster Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family made the long trek from upstate NY to Perkins Cove and was looking forward to our first taste of lobster roll and clam chowder. Arriving at Barnacle Billy's more casual, self-serve restaurant, we didn't hesitate to order three cups of clam chowder and three 4-ounce lobster rolls - served with potato chips and pickles. You can imagine our shock and disbelief to learn that the total was $79.95! There was nothing special about this meal - other than that we had fetched it ourselves and were struggling to make it last given the horrific expense of it. Let the buyer beware! We subsequently learned that 2013 has been a bumper year for lobster AND if you visit Hannaford's seafood department or any reasonable lobster & seafood market, you will find lobster available for approximately $5.99 per pound. SO, don't be taken in. Ask the price BEFORE ordering and keep looking until you find appropriate value for your money. We didn't find it here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food good - parking 'be careful'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

First time customer and found the food and servers were very good. Eating outside was very nice. Keep in mind this area can be super crowed. Parking is at a premium. You will park in lots from $10 to $15. So my wife and I parked right across the street from Barnacle Billy's. Had our meal and I mentioned about how expensive the parking was. Was told if you eat here its free! So I took my receipt to parking attendant to see if I could get my money back. Barnacle Billy's himself was there also. He heard me ask. He told me no. You have to use their valet parking to get it free. I will say there is a small sign saying that. I missed it due to the traffic. Ok I guess it was my fault, but after spending over $80 in his resturant, I thought me could have taken care of his customer.

So used their valet! It will save you $15! If you make a mistake, don't expect help from the owner. He could care less about you after you pay the bill! My first experience in the area on our vacation and got burned.

I'm only reporting it poor due to the actions of the owner. But the food was very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty view on the patio but lousy food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Too many good restaurants in the area to waste your time (slow!) and money (expensive) on mediocre food (at best). The chowder is watery and the lobster roll is flavorless and the celery is jarring and distracting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Rum Punch is the Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Reviews on Trip advisor are accurate re cost and portion size-- BUT the location and views are the best! My suggestion is to go for a cup of chowder and enjoy the Rum Punch! You won't be disappointed. Great drink overlooking the cove! Enjoy

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle Billy's also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle Billy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Billy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.