We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood dishes, casual informal atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Billy's

Barnacle Billy's
50 Oar Weed Road, Perkins Cove, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207 646 5575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 80 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
ct
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good seafood dishes, casual informal atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Front entry way where you order your food is congested and gets very crowded. Menu is good exception for the lack of french fries. Plenty of seating in dining room. Had to wait to use restroom as there is only one - suprising for a restaurant of this size. Nice views overlooking the water in Perkins Cove. Staff is friendly, helpful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    206
    155
    72
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't eat at the annex”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Perhaps things are better in the main dining area. We had "lunch" next door to the main restaurant. The person who took our order was rude. We were half finished with our crab/lobster rolls before someone came to take our drink order (and they weren't busy at all, mid-afternoon, off-season). The small rolls came with a handful of potato chips and a pickle that looked inedible (bottom of the barrel?). Forty bucks for nothing. Yikes. I'd say the crab and lobster fillings were at least 50% mayo too. Don't go there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great view expensive menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This restaurant is built out over the creek and is very picturesque. The tables and chairs are a little battered but that's not unusual in New England.

The food was very expensive and disappointing. Effectively, we walked away. Ice creams were tasty and good value.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Barnacle Billy’s Ogunquit Maine (Perkins Cove). The restaurant was very clean. We were seated quickly; there were a lot of customers, at 5:45 in the evening. We were there for dinner and cocktails. I had their Clam Chowder for an appetizer and a lobster dinner. My wife had the same as I had. The waitress was very congenial, and attentive. She checked with us several, not annoying, to see if our food and drinks were ok. We were not at all rushed. We were happy and satisfied when we left the restaurant. The pricing was on the high side but worth every bit of it. We would not hesitate going there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate at Barnacle Billy's Etc on a Saturday evening (10/13/12). We waited about a half hour for a table which is about average. The service once we were seated was fine, the food was fine, and the waitress knowledgeable about the menu and specific items. I would not consider the ETC pricey, given the other restaurants in the area's pricing

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle Billy's also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle Billy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Billy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.