We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place for dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five-O Shore Road

Five-O Shore Road
50 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907
(207) 646-5001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Five-O Shore Road is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School Street
Transit: Along Trolley Line – Shore Road
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very good place for Classic Maine dinner with lobster. Service is attentive and fast. Food quality is very good. Chef is a mater and French is pored cuisine is noticeable. I would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for joining us for dinner at Five-O and for submitting an excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lobster entrée, a unique twist on the traditional lobster choices often found along the seacoast. Our lobster in all our dishes is always fresh, never frozen, and cooked and picked in house. We appreciate your vote of confidence by recommending us to others and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    118
    37
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

When going out and spending $150 for two-I expect good food and good service…and you will find both at Five-O-really delicious food and our server could not have been more gracious…BUT I also expect that in this day and age with food allergies on the ride and people eliminating certain foods from their diet…one should be able to substitute simple veggies (veggies that are on the menu as a side dish) for the rice/pasta/couscous and heave sauce that comes on a dish…not so at Five-O…our very apologetic and somewhat embarrassed server told us the chef will absolutely not do any substitutions. I could order a side of veggies and then they could just throw away the food I did not want to eat…could this be more idiotic??? It is a bummer too because the food that I actually did eat was quite good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blueberry Crostata!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I went here with my girlfriend and had a great experience. We are both locals and had never tried Five-O. We started with the lobster en croute which was delicious and I got the beef tenderloin and my girlfriend got the gnocchi both of which were equally as good. The desert was by far the best part, blueberry Crostata. Best gelato we have had since we were in Italy. They get the gelato from their sister restaurant next door called Cafe Prego and it is delicious. I'd go here again for the desert alone!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for great review on Trip Advisor prompted by your wonderful experience at Five-O. We are always thrilled to hear that someone that has never been to Five-O is pleasantly surprised as to how much they enjoyed the experience. However, because you are a local, we have one question: What took you so long? We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the blueberry crostada, which has been on the menu for a long time- so you have ample opportunity to try it again soon, we hope! Thank you for your visit and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food and alternative to the clam shacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Have been coming to the area for years and when we get the chance away from the kids, we try to find some place good. Wife and I sat at the bar since we couldn't get reservations at the time we wanted. Service was good considering it was packed for a Thursday night. Wife had the lobster pasta and I had the steak portions are somewhat small, but food is good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of your experience here at Five-O. We’re very glad that we were able to add a little variety to your night out. It’s so good to hear that our bartenders were able to take good care of you and we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal. To address your note on portions; our linguini pasta dish, with fresh-picked Maine lobster, is generally seen as a very healthy portion of both lobster and pasta while our beef tenderloin is a six oz. portion. So sorry to hear that you saw them to be on the lighter side, but again, we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed them all the same. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Another great visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Spent a few days back in June in Ogunquit and stopped by the Five 0 one more time. As I did last year, went for the bar and the small plates. I am very happy to say that once again, I was not disappointed. Quite the contrary. Excellent food. Excellent service. I would love to come here in the off season as the specials offered look incredible. See you in 2015 Five 0!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, General Manager at Five-O Shore Road, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your experience in our lounge. We’re very happy to hear that we can continue to live up to the expectations set for us. Our bartenders are always happy to provide exceptional service and ensure that you have a great experience. Our variety of small plates is always sure to please. We look forward to seeing you again next year or hopefully sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five-O Shore Road also viewed

 

Been to Five-O Shore Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five-O Shore Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.