We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blown away !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five-O Shore Road

Five-O Shore Road
50 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907
(207) 646-5001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Five-O Shore Road is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School Street
Transit: Along Trolley Line – Shore Road
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“blown away !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My friend and I visited Ogunquit last weekend and were lucky to experience this great restaurant. We ate on the 'fine dining' side, though the bar looked fun as well. To start, we shared wonderful beef tartare and a salad of pea tendrils and spinach with shaved white asparagus and pickled red onion. Our mains were grilled gnocchi with parsley and pine nuts, and crispy roast chicken with mushroom risotto and fresh asparagus. All beautifully prepared and flavourful (a lot of OMG and wows) - accompanied by a lovely Oregon Pinot Gris whose name escapes me - super service from Dina (hope I got her name correctly...)
Don't miss the chance to eat here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    118
    37
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Consistent ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

One of our favorite restaurants, in Ogunquit, actually one of our favorites in general.
We try to go every time we are in town.
Stopped in early on a Sunday night, decided to sit at the bar, a good chance to talk with locals, great bartenders.
It was the night of the Tony awards, and most were in party mode and very dressed up. So fun.
We had chicken lollipops, to start. They are the best.
Since we had such a big lunch we decided to go with burgers, the first time we have tried them, and we were not disappointed, they were delicious. Fries, excellent.
Been here been time and always great food and great service.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“tasty and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we did not eat in the main dining room as we were looking for something lite, so we ate in the bar area and were delighted. the food was really good, had hamburgers and cod fish sandwiches. very large portions and very tasty. the drinks were wonderful, had the five-O cosmopolitan which was interesting and refreshing. the wait staff was friendly and fun. would certainly recommend for a lite meal at moderate prices

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb Service and Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was one of our favorite restaurant experiences during our trip to New England. Located in the heart of beautiful Ogunquit, we had a table just alongside the windows overlooking the all those who pass by...a great people watching spot so do reserve this seating if you can.

The shared small plates were nicely proportioned, pleasantly presented, and quite tasty.

The fried oysters were the best...truly outstanding! These were small, fresh oysters fried perfectly in a light batter. I quietly wished that I had enough for an entire meal!

The smoked salmon mousseline was also a flavorful starter alongside the finely shaved prosciutto. We nearly over ate on starters, especially with the richness in the artichoke arancini.

Our fresh local Maine fish, served from the specials list, was lightly breaded and perfectly pan seared. Memorable in that it felt like a healthy dinner during a vacation otherwise filled with too many creamed sauces and buttery dishes. Highly recommended for those who are even remotely thinking about their diet plans while traveling.

Overall, the service was utterly outstanding. Our waitress was absolutely warm, helpful and enthusiastic about chef's offerings. The owner came buy to check on our experiences there...and yes, we noticed that the locals were eating there. This alone says a lot about a restaurant! Thanks to everyone who made our evening meal so lovely!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
479 reviews 479 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
“Outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I finally got to go here. I usually visit the area in high summer season, and this place is usually packed. The weekend after Memorial Day was pleasantly busy, and we could get a table.

The food was excellent all around - fresh ingredients, well-prepared. We started with one of the best deals in the area: a mix-little-plates-to-share" option of 3 items for $12 or 5 for $18. Each plate itself had about 3 servings -- generous portions for what is billed as small plates.

We had the mussels -- also very good. Frankly, if we had know that the small plates were so generous, we might have skipped this dish, but it was so good that we'd probably do it again.

For mains, we each had one of the very good pastas, and there was enough to take home by this time. There are also some good looking main courses like seafood, steak, lamp chop, vegetarian options, etc.

Full bar, but they are known for inventive martinis. Still, I stuck with wine - list is a good range and includes by-the-glass (all under $10 for a generous pour), half bottles, and full bottles, all reasonably priced for the quality.

Friendly, professional, helpful service.

So, I'd love to go back again, but I'm sure it will be as packed and popular as ever if I go during the summer. Try it anyway, especially the friendly bar area where you can also get dinner.

Only a minor gripe: the dining room can get a little too loud.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five-O Shore Road also viewed

 

Been to Five-O Shore Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five-O Shore Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.