We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan's Restaurant

Jonathan's Restaurant
92 Bournes Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907
(207) 646-4777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jonathan's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 82 restaurants in Ogunquit
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: Jonathan's is on the Ogunquit Trolley Route!
Shaftsbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful Easter Brunch at Jonathan's. The husband even said he would drive the fours hour to eat it again next year, and that's a high recommendation.

They were a slow getting everything lined up and going this morning, so I would recommend not getting there much before 9 or 9:30. I've had brunches with more choices, but everything was fresh and tasty. The service was very good. All the wait staff was friendly and helpful. I truly loved that never once did we feel rushed, and there was lot of room between the tables so you didn't feel crowded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    197
    90
    34
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Food, not so Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal marred only by a relatively inexperienced waitress and a poorly executed wait system.

The iceberg lettuce wedge was the best we've ever had, a slab of real bleu cheese, onions and bacon with a very flavorful sauce. Steaks in home made Worcester incredible, overall the meal was exceptional. After bringing the order, no one asked for refills or asked about meal. They use a team approach, but don't check in each other so you get a service gap in the middle.

We'll try again, but ask for Ryan who gets rave reviews here and looked on top of his game when we were there.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatwellOgunquitMaine, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for posting this review. Not only were the positive comments on our food appreciated, but if the service is not up to par, we need to know it to take steps to correct the problem. We were aware of some problems in that station that evening and we all sincerely apologize for the effect it had on your dining experience with us. Ryan would be happy to serve you should you like to give us another try. I might add that the two servers that you had, normally do a very good job and they are also very sorry about your experience. We hope to serve you in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Jonathan's on Friday, March 22nd. Everything about the meal was delicious! The service we received from Ryan J and Kim was top notch. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Ogunquit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pairing for a great weekend!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Part of a package with Meadowmere next door. Excellent value for service, quality and taste! We have been going to Meadomere for 9 yrs now and always choose Jonathan's for our Dinner place. Never a miss! The breakfasts are above par. The "home made" feel to our breakfast's are always a great way to start our day. Service is warm and inviting, from Larry at the door to our favorite "Nell"! Always a pleasure! Makes you feel like you never left.....always inviting and looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

There were four in our party .We all had something different.We all found our meals to be exceptional.After the waiter brought some warm rolls he brought each of us a crab cake compliments of the chef.They were excellent.The service of Ryan and Ryan was exemplary.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.