We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from beginning to end!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan's Restaurant

Jonathan's Restaurant
92 Bournes Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907
(207) 646-4777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jonathan's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 80 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: Jonathan's is on the Ogunquit Trolley Route!
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent from beginning to end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012


Service, food, drinks, and atmosphere were excellent. You must try the chocolate mousse!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    110
    41
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York Beach, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ALWAYS DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Jonathan's is so consistent in terms of delicious food and outstanding service. The last time we visited there was Mother's Day and one member of our party was running late by about an hour. The server was so accommodating, not pressuring us at all. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers while we waited. The fried calamari appetizer was outstanding and could definitely serve as an appetizer for four people. Entrees and desserts were great as well. I would recommend Jonathan's if you are looking for a casually elegant restaurant with top notch food and service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience and excellent food-Our Anniversary Dinner 6/21/12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I went to Jonathan's to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary, We did not have reservations but were seated within 2 minutes. The host and wait staff were excellent.
I got the martini with elderberry,Ryan my waiter, recommended as I was trying to decide between two it was very good, thanks, Ryan. We were suprised when we were served carrot ginger soup with our bread. The soup was delicious and had wonderful taste and the bread was great and warm.My husband and I both enjoy lobster, but I did not feel like cracking the shells as it can get messy. We both decided on the poached lobster dinner. It was excellent, cooked to perfection, melt in your mouth lobster. The sides were also excellent the mashed potatoes were great and the vegetables were fresh and cooked to perfection a great combination.We don't usually get dessert, but it was our anniversary and we were celebrating.
I ordered tarimasu and my husband ordered apple crisp, they were both delicious and a perfect ending to a wonderful meal. I even had the waitress take our photo. Thanks, Jill.
I became curious about Jonathan from things I read on the menu and asked if he was there. My waitress, Jill said she saw him in the front earlier. As I worked my way toward the entrance I asked the host if Jonathan was in and he stated, yes right in this room. Jonathan came out of his office he was very friendly and hospitable. We spoke for a few minutes about his elderberrys and his homestead, I told him how we totally enjoyed our experience at his restaurant and how excellent the food was and that we were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary.
Jonathan, I want you to know and everyone that reads this that I will definately recommend your restaurant to everyone I know that visits Maine.
Excellent and unforgetable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calera, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice place to dine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I only had the house salad because I wasn't feeling well. My wife had the salmon and she loved it. It's casual wear but it is a fancy place..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We arrived just before Jonathan's closed from the Meadowmere Resort after a long10 hours in the car- they remained open for us and served a fine seafood chowder & fresh whole lobster. We had the restaurant to ourselves & never felt pressured to "hurry it up". Friendly & courteous- class act.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.