We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop at the end of the walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chowders Cafe & Gourmet Deli

Chowders Cafe & Gourmet Deli
Perkins Cove, Ogunquit, Ogunquit, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 81 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice stop at the end of the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped in here after our sunset stroll on the Marginal Way. Chowder's is great for a casual and comfortable setting. I'm sorry I didn't get the name of the proprietor, but her welcoming manner and comfortable friendliness were perfectly suited to the beach atmosphere. We sat on the back patio right on the beach. It was empty at first, but a very large party came in ... even then, it was still relaxed and comfortable. I was disappointed that they were out of Chardonnay, but really, sitting beach side at sunset, what more do you need to relax? We kept it simple with a garden salad and chowder, which were very good. Great place to chill and enjoy the sea view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flanders, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Really enjoyed this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Really liked the lobster roll. The iced tea was very good. The deli had a really nice location on the ocean

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good lunch, amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went here this week for lunch. I would recommend the freshly-made grilled sandwiches. They are very tasty and at $8.50, priced similarly to other places in the area. I'd also suggest the tortellini cheese deli salad as a side item. Make sure you eat on the back deck -- that is the amazing view and that is what makes this place worth going to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornton, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden and almost overlooked - well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A well kept, almost hidden, gem. Not a place to get the full service seafood dinner. More of a lunch and get-a-way. Chowder and sandwiches ranks amongst the best in the area and the staff
Is great ! Most people eat in or out front, never realizing they can eat out back on the deck which is right on the beach. The view alone is worth the visit, especially at high tide. Beer and wine are available and can be taken to the back deck to make the visit even more relaxing.
We stay across the way at the Riverside and have made Chowders a steady part of our visits.
After eating out night after night it's refreshing to escape to a quiet little hide-away for merely some chowder and a sandwich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Nothing special besides the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We came here because, on our afternoon in Perkins Cove, we wanted to eat somewhere where we could sit on the beach and enjoy the view! Chowders offered that (and without the wait of the "sit-down" places). Prices weren't bad for a beach location. Food was just ok though. My chowder actually was pretty good, and the chicken salad I had with it was ok but nothing special. My wife really didn't enjoy her salad and tuna sandwich. But, to eat lunch in an Adirondack chair on Ogunquit Beach... that does make everything else easy to overlook!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowders Cafe & Gourmet Deli also viewed

 

Been to Chowders Cafe & Gourmet Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowders Cafe & Gourmet Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.