We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap rooms expensive food but 'on the beach'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant

Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant
Save
You added Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant to your Saves list
111 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03097   |  
Hotel amenities
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“cheap rooms expensive food but 'on the beach'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

stayed in Blue river room for $95 in august, was only room we could find in Oqunquit that day!.
Its dated probably from the 80's. shared bathroom needs better shower.Not sure what time continental breakfast was available but we were up at 7.30 and no one was around.
The bed is a small double and overly soft.

Room Tip: try for a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed in Room #8, with shower and toilet (separately) across hall. Other family members in #7 and #9 ( ensuite baths). Rooms are small, but have one closet , small chest of drawers, and hooks on the wall, plus room for one large suitcase- also good twin reading lamps over double bed. Our view of the river/estuary was great and room with higher ceiling felt snug and comfortable. It is extraordinary location for the price and feels European in ambiance. The continental breakfast was nicely laid out in the bar - with fresh fruit, juice, good coffees, fresh local bread, cheese, and an assortment of cereals. We had dinner at the restaurant, which had $20 entrees, perfectly cooked fresh green beans, and excellent potatoes - also a decent wine list and local beer. Roger, the owner, has been there since 1971 and has the warmth and good humor of a born innkeeper. Our family reunion there could not have been nicer. Be sure to walk the Marginal Way along the ocean - great views!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I haven't stayed at this hotel, but I have eaten at their restaurant several times. Since we discovered this place we eat here at least twice each trip. The food is excellent, fresh, beautifully prepared. Favorite dishes are the seafood medley and the lobster stuffed haddock. View is spectacular and a beautiful place to be as the sun sets. Desserts are made fresh....don't miss the homemade blueberry pie. Winelist is good and prices are reasonable.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I had a Cajun Chicken Sandwich and my wife had the Crab Cakes. Not good at all. The Crab Cakes were 90% stuffing and the quality of the Chicken was poor, very poor. This is the second time in a row we've had bad meals there. We will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We like this place so much we came back again. The rooms are still tiny, yes, but the beach is a stone's throw away and I don't go to the beach to spend time in my room. There is good A/C, but we rarely had to use it as the ceiling fan did just fine most of the time. No telly, but there's so much to see and do in Ogunquit I can't imagine bothering with it. The place is older but immaculate. We had a spectacular view of the Ogunquit River estuary. There is an estuary beach right across the road which is perfect for families. A family with teens could rent several rooms with shared bath for an affordable vacation.

Roger and his staff continue to be laid back and flexible. Roger's a good manager--his staff stays for years, the food is good and served quickly and things run smoothly. The restaurant is the centerpiece of the operation--if you arrive at mealtime someone will toss you a key, show you to your room and catch up with you in the morning for check in. Meanwhile, you can enjoy a meal or immediately hit the beach. We had a wonderful spinach-based salad with fruit, some feta cheese and other delights and split a terrific pasta Bolognese for lunch one day. There was plenty for each of us and it was such luxury to roll off our beach blankets, walk a few feet and be served a delicious meal.

Should it rain and that room get a wee bit close, the town center is about a block away. Lots of interesting shops, cafes, no honky tonk, a small in-town amateur theatre (the Booth Theatre) to entertain you or you can pay more for Ogunquit Playhouse's professional offerings. On a nice day it's a mere mile and a half walk along the breathtaking Marginal Way to Perkins Cove.

Blue Water Inn has become our Maine home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We spent the morning on the beach and then decided to try a late lunch at the Blue Water. I'm so glad that we did! They served arguably the BEST clam chowder and lobster bisque we found all week. Huge whole clams in the chowder and large chunks of lobster in the bisque. What a surprise from a little place. The lobster roll was also very good and the service was friendly.

At first, I was a little concerned to stop here, since we were still in beach attire, but so were a few others and it didn't seem to matter one bit. We sat on the deck overlooking the Ogunquit river/bridge. The decor is nothing to get excited (plastic chairs) about but it was a beautiful view and overall a perfect lunch. Try it if you're by the beach. Much better than standing in line at the takeout window!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Very reasonably priced for incredible location. The place hasn't had a renovation in quite a while, but the rooms are very functional and clean. Best part is incredible location a hundred yards from the beach and overlooking the tidal river. It is also a quick walk to town cneter fo a sandwhich, coffee/tea or groceries. Roger the owner is very friendly and accomodating as is the rest of the staff. The restaurant is first class and has the best seafood in town, a definite place to try. Ask for room #9 which has its own deck that overlooks the tidal river, beautiful place to read, have breakfast and relax.

  • Liked — Location practically on the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant

Address: 111 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03097
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant is an ocean-side establishment that has been in the same location since 1974. The Blue Water combines world-class dining with an intimate, European-style Inn and two fabulous bars. Eat and drink to your heart's content on our waterfront deck, enjoy the beach and all Ogunquit has to offer, then retire to your cozy room and let the ocean lull you to sleep. Friendly owners and accommodating staff will ensure that your stay is all you could ask for, whether you are with us for a weekend or a week! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Inn Beach House And Restaurant Hotel Ogunquit
Blue Water Inn Beach House And Restaurant Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Inn Beach House and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.